We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience”

The Cobblers Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 8 Restaurants in Colyton
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: "This is a tiny restarant, in a terraced cottage in a tiny village near Axmouth/Sidmouth Devon. It only seats about 18 people".
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our stay at the Cobblers was a wonderful experience. The food is out of this world. Whilst Caroline and Russel cater for all tastes including vegetarian, their speciality fish dishes served in their restaurant are exquisite. On one occasion two dishes looked particularly nice and the choice was hard to make, one dish was offered as a starter and the other as a main course. Breakfast again was excellent with good quality products being used and a large selection of options to choose from. It is lovely to dine in the restaurant then stay in one of the Cobbler’s rooms. The room was immaculately clean, large and airy, essential as the weather was so hot. Our stay was a thoroughly enjoyable experience at a reasonable price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    13
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elegant and satisfying”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Cobblers served a wonderful meal with attentive, friendly service. Lamb chops were perfect! We would certainly return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocklington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly service, good value meal”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Enjoyed a meal here with family members.Very friendly atmosphere between diners and the lady owner, who all seemed to know each other but not in a cliquey way. The menu was sufficiently varied for all of us to find something we wanted. The wine and beer was good quality. The decor was pleasant, and the ambiance was tranquil and relaxing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RideYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely food, very good service”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Lovely little restaurant. Very personal feel and friendly service. The duck was very nicely presented and tasty, and the pudding selection was fantastic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vickyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Place”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A group of us ate here recently for my birthday, it was booked by friends and I was not dissapointed, it was lovely, good amount of choices and very reasonably priced. I had Crab Cocktail and Sea Bass and I desperately wanted the gorgeous looking Treacle Tart but had no room left. Lovely friendly owners - thank you very much.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cobblers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Cobblers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing