We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kingfisher

The Kingfisher
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Colyton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Real Ale, great Food,
East Molesey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We met early evening at this traditional village pub and as we had a long journey we ordered dinner well before restaurant serving time. One starter of carrot and coriander soup arrived reasonable quickly but we had to go back and ask for the other two. This second batch of soup was so heavily peppered that it was inedible but did not attract comment when we reported this. The (6) main courses were a long time coming and again we had to query the delay. Eventually they arrived, the regular Steak & Kidney pie was great. The Specials Steak & Stilton pie was very disappointing both in size and taste and not good value The three Lyme Bay Plaice served untrimmed and without garnish looked revolting and turned my stomach and I was eating the Steak & Stilton pie and hardened fish eater. I had to discreetly trim the fish before my wife would even look at it.
The dishes from the standard menu were OK but the specials were nothing special and poor value. The service was slow and indifferent.
Even worse is that we selected this venue from tripadvisor and have to add that it is not up to the reviews on our visit. We will probably never be in this part of Devon again but felt so disappointed that I had to write this poor review.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnatjasperlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy D, Owner at The Kingfisher, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your meal at The Kingfisher.

We are very disappointed that you did not raise your issues with your whole meal at the time, as we would have tried to rectify it. Three of your meals were advertised as a Lyme Bay Plaice, not filleted. Had we known you wanted the head trimmed, as well as the fins and tails etc, it would have been done before serving. Most of our customers enjoy the whole fresh soles and flat fish that we serve.

As for the Steak & Stilton pie. I make this myself and have always had positive comments. As for value for money it is cheaper than the Steak & Kidney pie which is always on the menu and is the same size.

We endeavour to please all our customers that come to The Kingfisher, but need feedback at the time to help us maintain our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    52
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The ambiance, service and value for money were outstanding. The only drawback is that you really need to book at the weekend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First visit to The Kingfisher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We went for the first time last night and enjoyed one of the best meals we have had in the area for a long time.
The menu was very varied and we had white bait and stuffed mushrooms for starters followed by baked Salmon and I had Sirloin Steak.
The food was nicely presented and delicious, and cooked as requested.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaeljheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We were part of a large group. We sat in the beer garden and had roast beef. Pudding was raspberry and apple pie, all the food was great. Beers were varied from a range of local brewers.

Helpful?
Thank WagglerTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

It's been a long time since we enjoyed a simple, well cooked and presented pub meal and this pub does the job. We had scampi, chips, peas & salad & ham, egg, chips & peas and our meals were thoroughly enjoyable, the food was well presented - no attempts at trying to be a gastro pub or anything fancy, just good wholesome pub grub. We cleared our plates & just wish this pub was our local! Fantastic value for money and friendly staff. We called in for lunch before going on the tram and our meals set us up for the day. The next time we visit the area we'll definitely be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jussi&Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kingfisher also viewed

 

Been to The Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing