We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food at reasonable prices in nice pub.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kingfisher

The Kingfisher
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Colyton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Real Ale, great Food,
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food at reasonable prices in nice pub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Been visiting here for the last 30 years and have recently been for lunch following change of ownership. We can testify to good service, well kept beer, good value and tasty food. This is a really cosy village pub with good atmosphere and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    52
    18
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“food and drinks.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

we have always had good food and drinks here at reasonable prices lunchtimes and evenings. very nice staff and pleasant surroundings in a very nice friendly village.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly pub, great food and brilliant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We are delighted to have The Kingfisher as our local and we have enjoyed evening meals and Sunday lunches. Since it changed ownership It has improved and customers are given a warm welcome. The ambience is lovely and there's a pretty garden. The food is excellent pub food with a good and varied menu. All good quality, fresh, local ingredients, beautifully cooked and served with a friendly smile at reasonable prices. What more could you ask for ! Don't miss this little gem! Well done to Lucy and Mark and we wish you all the best for the future. Elaine and Colin.

Helpful?
Thank Colyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very friendly pub close to Combe house. Foofg was very good, you may need to book on a saturday as they were very busy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We met early evening at this traditional village pub and as we had a long journey we ordered dinner well before restaurant serving time. One starter of carrot and coriander soup arrived reasonable quickly but we had to go back and ask for the other two. This second batch of soup was so heavily peppered that it was inedible but did not attract comment when we reported this. The (6) main courses were a long time coming and again we had to query the delay. Eventually they arrived, the regular Steak & Kidney pie was great. The Specials Steak & Stilton pie was very disappointing both in size and taste and not good value The three Lyme Bay Plaice served untrimmed and without garnish looked revolting and turned my stomach and I was eating the Steak & Stilton pie and hardened fish eater. I had to discreetly trim the fish before my wife would even look at it.
The dishes from the standard menu were OK but the specials were nothing special and poor value. The service was slow and indifferent.
Even worse is that we selected this venue from tripadvisor and have to add that it is not up to the reviews on our visit. We will probably never be in this part of Devon again but felt so disappointed that I had to write this poor review.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnatjasperlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy D, Owner at The Kingfisher, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I am very sorry you did not enjoy your meal at The Kingfisher.

We are very disappointed that you did not raise your issues with your whole meal at the time, as we would have tried to rectify it. Three of your meals were advertised as a Lyme Bay Plaice, not filleted. Had we known you wanted the head trimmed, as well as the fins and tails etc, it would have been done before serving. Most of our customers enjoy the whole fresh soles and flat fish that we serve.

As for the Steak & Stilton pie. I make this myself and have always had positive comments. As for value for money it is cheaper than the Steak & Kidney pie which is always on the menu and is the same size.

We endeavour to please all our customers that come to The Kingfisher, but need feedback at the time to help us maintain our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kingfisher also viewed

 

Been to The Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing