We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find”
Review of Smallicombe Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smallicombe Farm
Ranked #3 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for two nights B & B in one of the family suites. The main room was huge (compared to what I am used to at home!) and well equipped with tea, coffee, biscuits and a fridge. Whilst my son is past this stage, this would have been immensely useful for someone staying with a smaller child who is still having lots of milk. There was also a microwave for warming it in. There was a separate good sized room with bunk beds in for the kids. This was part of what drew me to Smallicombe as many other family rooms simply offered a single bed squashed into a double room that is really too small for it. It also enabled us to close the door and relax in our own space once little one was asleep. Good sized, very clean bathroom with a roll top bath which was a nice treat for me. On arrival, we received a very warm welcome and a special greeting from the dog. Owners were fantastic at keeping the dogs away when they could see me son was nervous around them. Lovely dining room for breakfast and lots of choice. Would definitely recommend the sausages but lighter choices availble for those that want it. My son had a special place setting with kids crockery, cutlery and mat which was a nice touch and made it a bit more special for him. The tea and toast ran freely and nothing was too much trouble, even disposing of a very annoying wasp! Each morning everyone in the dining room was asked what they were doing that day and offered advice and even discount tickets on where they were going. We were also given very good directions when we asked for them. Although Smallicombe can seem a bit out of the way, it was a really easy and surprisingly quick drive to the main road so everything was easily accessible whilst still having the pleasure of being completely away from it all in a really beautiful part of Devon. We didn't have time on this trip to enjoy the farm as much as we would have liked but my son has told us that 'next time when we come to stay' he might like to help with the animals. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PumpkinBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in the Hayloft - a very comfortable and modern apartment with great views. It provided an excellent base for exploring the surrounding region, which is stunning with some great little coves and beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATaylor30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed for two nights in the B & B. The room was delightful: beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. There was a very comfortable sitting and eating area downstairs. An extensive choice was offered for breakfast. Between us we had three of the choices and all were very good. The owners are warm, welcoming and most helpful.

The setting is beautiful with a wonderful 'away from it all' feeling. I could thoroughly recommend this place to anyone in a stressful job. Equally it would be an enchanting holiday venue for children.

My only complaint is that we were not able to stay longer!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank hikingthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Smallicombe Farm and truly enjoyed the hospitality and relaxing atmosphere of this beautiful place. This place is great for families with plenty of animals to watch going about their day.
The guest house is exceptionally clean and comfortable whilst the breakfast could not be any more locally sourced as they serve their own sausage and bacon. The owners are also invaluable source of local knowledge of where to eat. By their advise we dined in some great gastro pubs the Holt and the Railway in Honiton.
Thanks to Karen, Matt & their family for a great time and look forward to our return. Matt and Wioletta

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at Smallicombe farm for the weekend and it was brilliant. The rooms was really nice and the breakfast would be hard to beat. The owners provided excellent advice on local attractions which ensured that we made the most of our weekend. I would highly recommend Smallicombe Farm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 620Laura_C620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Smallicombe Farm is located in an idyllic valley and offers a wonderfully peaceful and secluded base to explore East Devon from. We received a very warm welcome from Karen and her family and particularly enjoyed the breakfasts they served - the bacon has to be tried! We found the farm via River Cottage's local accommodation guide and if you are planning to go on one of the events there, this B&B is an excellent choice. We stayed in the Shippon building, which is a recently converted period barn that has been tastefully finished to a very high standard. The top floor room is spacious and is more akin to a boutique hotel than a B&B. The room was immaculately clean, offered free Wi-Fi and had a good array of complimentary teas, biscuits and shower products. We stayed as a couple but there were also a number of families staying who seemed to be enjoying the location as much as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed one night at Smallicombe.
It was wonderful, the atmosphere was really friendly, we arrived a bit early and it wasn't a problem to drop our luggages which was really appreciated.
They advised us on places to go for lunch. We followed their recommendations and spent a lovely afternoon in Beer.
Breakfast was really good and filling.
Overall, great experience.
Nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colyton hotels
3.4 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
3.4 mi away
The Old Bakehouse
The Old Bakehouse
#1 of 5 in Colyton
192 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Cobblers
The Cobblers
#5 of 5 in Colyton
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smallicombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallicombe Farm

Address: Northleigh, Colyton EX24 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range: £93 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smallicombe Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic rural setting of East Devon yet only a short drive to the famous Jurassic Coast. Smallicombe Farm is a traditional working rare breed farm with 4* Gold Award winning B&B and 4* Self-catering cottages. Come and meet the Rare breed pigs, sheep and cattle. You will have the chance to roam through our woodlands and spot wildlife in their native habitat. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Smallicombe Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smallicombe Farm Colyton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing