We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Smallicombe Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Smallicombe Farm
Ranked #3 of 5 Colyton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My mum and I recently stayed in the garden suite at Smallicombe Farm - we can't speak highly enough of it! We had a great experience from start to finish. The large room we had was spotless and felt really homely. Beautiful location and the pigs are a real bonus!

There were also some lovely touches like some bottled water and milk in the fridge along with biscuits to go with tea! The breakfast the next morning was fantastic and all the food was local.

We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just spent two nights here and absolutely loved it. Very relaxing, beautifully decorated, fantastic breakfast and some wonderful pigs for company! The family were all very helpful and kind and the area was absolutely beautiful. We definitely recommend staying here as it was perfect! Thank you so much.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaclepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

ceWe stayed for 8 days at the self catering cottage Cider Barrel. We travelled with our two daughters aged 4 and 2. The cottage had all the facilities we needed. On the practical side the kitchen was complete with all appliances, the sitting room was comfortable had has a large flat scree with DVD reader, the beds where very comfortable. Cloths washing faculty were also available. All was very clean and well organised. We really enjoyed the great views over the private garden and valley and the quietness interrupted only by sound of birds or the the farm animals. Our kids loved playing in the play areas, watching the pigs, cows, sheep and chickens. Truly a lovely place with a great relaxed atmosphere at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Cider Barrel is great for 4 adults and two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for one night on 21st May. The host family are very welcoming and helpful and our room was amazing - large, spotlessly clean and fitted out to the highest standard. The breakfast was excellent and Karen cooked us a delicious evening meal (by prior arrangement). The farm is set in a beautiful wooded valley. We could have happily stayed on for several days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

After a visit in January we decided to take the inlaws for a weekend, lovely warm welcome and fantastic facilities at a great price with the rest of Devon on the doorstep, we even got to see some piglets, our little lad loves it, we will be back I'm sure

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a long weekend at smallicombe farm in the bed & breakfast, we had a lovely stay, with lots to do in the local area & a very friendly family running the farm, we even got to see lambing, would definitely stay again, the bacon is awesome & we brought some to take home.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A wonderful place to stay. As with most people we stayed as we were heading to River Cottage HQ (cab ride is £40 return) for dinner but decided to stay 2 nights and are so pleased we did. Our room was more like staying in a boutique hotel and the ensuite bathroom was fantastic. The owners are really friendly and helpful with any question. Touches such as the mini fridge with fresh milk for tea (amazing) and a biscuit jar were very welcome! We stayed in July on potentially the hottest weekend of the year so our room got very hot but this would not deter us coming back for a break during cooler times! The only downside is that breakfast is served quite early and our room was above the breakfast room so don't bank on a lie in! Having said that it got us up to explore the beautiful local area!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaWelinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colyton
4.2 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
4.8 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Honiton
Premier Inn Honiton
#3 of 5 in Honiton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Bakehousei
The Old Bakehousei
#1 of 5 in Colyton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.4 mi away
Colyton Holiday Cottages - White Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smallicombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smallicombe Farm

Property: Smallicombe Farm
Address: Northleigh, Colyton EX24 6BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Colyton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Colyton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Smallicombe Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an idyllic rural setting of East Devon yet only a short drive to the famous Jurassic Coast. Smallicombe Farm is a traditional working rare breed farm with 4* Gold Award winning B&B and 4* Self-catering cottages. Come and meet the Rare breed pigs, sheep and cattle. You will have the chance to roam through our woodlands and spot wildlife in their native habitat. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Smallicombe Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smallicombe Farm Colyton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing