We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Cosy Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Outside the back of the property
The field right at the back if the property
The outdoor heated pool in stanhope
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stanhope, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CarlaAmbl...
2 reviews
“Gorgeous Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My family and I stayed here for 5 days during the Summer holidays. The cottage is a beautiful, cosy, homely cottage and has everything you would need for a break away. The cottage is presented very nice and is very clean. We felt very much at home here. I have a 1 year old baby and had the usual concerns of him perhaps not sleeping great on our first few nights however he slept amazing I couldnt believe it, it was such a quiet and peaceful location and the fresh air must of done him good. The welcome basket was a very nice special touch when we got there. The cottage is in a perfect location being a short distance away from the open air pool and from the main street in Stanhope and is perfect for walking and taking littlest ones on adventures. We had a lovely time my 5 year old didn't want to come home. Thank you Vicky and Adam for being fantastic hosts and making our holiday a very memorable one we will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izabella3...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic, comfortable cottage set in a beautiful scenery.”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have stayed 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend and had a great time exploring the area and enjoying evenings by the fireplace.
The cottage is comfortable, well equipped, clean and very quiet at night and we loved the views from our bedrooms.The host is friendly and welcoming- thank you for welcome hamper.
We would definitely stay again !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review we would love to have you both back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fabulous cottage the hosts vicky and adam are great very polite and helpful.. The cottage itself is beautiful very cosy with the added bonus of the log burner.. and the welcome hamper is a great touch
Very high cleanliness we couldn't fault it and what more could you want then waking up to the beautiful countryside surroundings
We will definitely be visiting again
Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazzie230...
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Damp Cottage and Smells Terrible”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here this weekend and came home after first night, This cottage smells terrible of damp. The kitchen cupboards smell the worst all the pots have to be washed in very hot water to remove the terrible smell. All the food we took had to be thrown away when we got home as it smelt of damp. The cottage has so many plug in air fresheners to mask the smell the owner clearly knows there is a problem

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Having read and considered your review we feel it is very harsh and unjust in its content. However we feel it's important to state that there has never been any damning comments such as yours and we are confident that we maintain a good standard of cleanliness in the cottage. We continually have repeat bookings which in itself tells us that our clientele are more than happy with the property. We did notice that you managed to enjoy our generous welcome basket that we always leave for every guest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripper98...
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing location”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed in this lovely cottage for 5 nights and really enjoyed the cottage and the location. Although the owner wasn't on site she made sure the cottage was open and ready for arrival, contact and booking was easy and owner was very responsive. It proved to be a perfect location to explore the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magpieste...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Crawleyside Cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fantastic homely cottage set in beautiful scenery. Great walks nearby and lovely town of Stanhope a short walk away. The cottage is tastefully furnished and Vicky was there to welcome us to the cottage and couldn't have done more for us and also provided a wonderful welcome basket. I would recommend the cottage to anybody looking for a quiet relaxing break and also enjoys walking and looking at amazing views of the countryside. Will definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toille
Redcar
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely quaint little cottage in a gorgeous part of the country - couldn't have asked for a nicer break, lovely place to walk the very old and very naughty (still) dog

Beautiful wood burning fire and all round would recommend highly

Thanks very much Vicky and Adam

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
Thank you so much and we would love to have you back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing