We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2C stop excellent for coeliacs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkhead Station House
Ranked #4 of 7 Stanhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very friendly and accommodating. Nice log fire to relax after a hard ride. Very well informed about careful gluten avoidance with a choice of gluten free food. Once you are here there is a nice gentle downhill cycleway all the way to Newcastle. Would definitely stay again. Great value evening meal. Make sure you do book as trip into town would be too much with steep climb out of Stanhope. Fayyaz and friends.

Room Tip: A triple and 3 doubles which can be used as singles.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fayyaz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Parkhead Station House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

A little basic but ideal for C2C route (from here it is virtually all downhill to Roker!). It is a couple of miles east of Stanhope so you have a trip to make if you don't pre-book the evening meal at Parkhead. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. The bike was stored overnight in a locked storeroom.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed here on a C2C trip. The owners are welcoming and can't do enough for you. My partner is a coeliac so has to have a gluten free diet. This was no problem, and they'd even made a special sticky toffee pudding for him, which tasted great. The evening meal was really tasty, the
breakfast was ample and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. What a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed one night while doing the C2C by bike. Fantastic location and great views from the bedroom window. Food excellent (fellow diners agreed). Very warm welcome from the owners. Good breakfast.

Well worth the extra climb up from Stanhope at the end of a days cycling, and you won't have any hills left to do if going onto Newcastle / Sunderland next day !

Brian and Brenda

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here for one night while doing the C2C. By far the best accommodation we stayed in over the whole weekend. The hosts, Lorraine and Terry were really welcoming, the rooms were very comfortable and had lots of nice touches. The breakfast included not only the usual cooked options but fruit and yoghurt - the first B&B that had offered us any! The evening meal is well worth booking - you won't be disappointed. Chris & Sarah Shrimpton

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed as two families with 4 kids while doing the c2c over 5days. All the kids said it was the best place that we stayed on the c2c-a tough audience!. We arrived on a cold wet day and were immediately greeted with tea and hot chocolate. The food was fantastic and we were made to feel very welcome. Thank you Lorraine and Terry, we were very sad to leave.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Bentom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here on the C2C route and arrived wet, cold and exhausted.
Lorraine and Terry gave us a warm welcome and immediately set about drying us out and filling us with hot drinks and welcomed us to a wonderfully warm and cosy guesthouse.
The rooms were comfortable, with good food and a great breakfast .
I would have no reservation about recommending the Parkhead Station as a place to stay during your coast to coast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincsCycleCoaching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanhope
6.5 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
86 reviews
2.5 mi away
Stanhope Old Hall Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Stanhope Number One
Stanhope Number One
#3 of 7 in Stanhope
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Miners Arms
The Miners Arms
#4 of 14 in Alston
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
Red Lodge B&B
Red Lodge B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanhope
71 reviews
17.8 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#2 of 14 in Alston
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhead Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhead Station House

Address: Stanhope Moor, Stanhope DL13 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Stanhope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanhope
Price Range: £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkhead Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Parkhead Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhead Station House Stanhope, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing