We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2C stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkhead Station House
Ranked #4 of 7 Stanhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“C2C stop over”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Very friendly welcome, delicious reasonably priced food, very high standard accommodation, can thoroughly recommend a stop over here. Steve & Mary. We stayed one night on the last leg of our first completion of the C2C. The only genuine bicycle accommodation we came across.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steveallen_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    19
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
31
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

food was great and filling ,facilities excellent,location outstanding our hosts were warm and inviting couldn't ask for more many thanks to terry and lorrainne our host will be back soon when legs recover.

Room Tip: leave plenty of room for your dessert
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASPERJOHN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at Parkhead Station on route, cycling from Whitehaven to Tynemouth. The place was absolutely brimming with character - a real cosy stopover out on the moor. We were the only guests on the Monday night in October and Lorraine and Terry were the perfect hosts. We had a prime table laid out close to the fire for a hearty dinner, which was cooked to perfection by Terry. We spent the evening chatting with Lorraine about how the B&B had come to be - a very interesting story. After a sound nights sleep in a comfy bed we had a great breakfast (plenty of options available) before setting off on our final day.

We couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome on the wind swept moor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 137Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night during our C2C bike ride with 2 children. We had a family room which is small but comfortable and clean and the children loved the bunk beds. We were made to feel very welcome and had a delicious home cooked meal. A really great place to stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed here when doing C2C. Very small and basic rooms, with small shower room and system which they use in swimming pools - push and push and push again to keep water flowing. Crazy flys in our room at 1.30 a.m. and again at 6 a.m., not sure what that was about but it made some fun chasing them around.
Fantastic welcome and customer service from owners and staff made the stay really good. Did feel a bit like school with all the signs saying "do not" and "no ..." all ove the place but it does cater for cyclists in a big way. They know what we need and give it in bundles - drying room, cycle store, water bottle filling, big breakfasts and a friendly chat.
Word of warning though it is at the TOP of a very long hill and at the end of the day it really takes some umph to get up the hill. The alternative is to stay at a place down the bottom of the hill and cycle up the hill the next morning on a full stomach!
I would book again if I were to do the C2C.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms so really need to book and book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CycleFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely B&B in a great location. It is perfectly situated at the peak of the final hill climb along the C2C route (just after Crawleyside Bank), which is also at the 100 mile mark! The owners where really nice and the food was fantastic. I would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is in a good but remote location on the C2C route with a very welcome small tea room attached.
Very friendly hosts Lorraine and Terry met us as we arrived, Lorraine showed us to our small room and very small ensuite. The room is for 4 adults but the bunk beds although long enough for an adult is very narrow, even our granddaughters were struggling during the night hitting the sides!! It even had the smallest TV I have ever seen and no matter how we tried could not get any sound. Curtains a bit thin when the day breaks. Breakfast at 8.30 and check out 9.30!!!
Breakfast was ordered the night before on forms it was OK but the sausages were the worst we have ever tasted.
Evening meal pre-ordered 48hrs in advance was lovely they also have wine and beer for sale which was nice due to the location.
The thing that really got us were the signs!! There were signs everywhere for everything. We have never seen so many and we have stopped in a lot of B & B's all over this country and further afield.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and lots of clean towels. Bed quilt too thick and heavy for the summer weather perhaps just a sheet offered as it was exceptionally hot.
Would recommend if doing the C2C due to its location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M8T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanhope
2.5 mi away
Stanhope Old Hall Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Red Lodge B&B
Red Lodge B&B
#2 of 7 in Stanhope
66 reviews
8.0 mi away
Old Coach House At The Golden Lion
Old Coach House At The Golden Li...
#1 of 2 in St. John's Chapel
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Westgate Manor
Westgate Manor
#1 of 7 in Bishop Auckland
111 reviews
17.8 mi away
Alston House
Alston House
#2 of 14 in Alston
274 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lord Crewe Arms, Blanchland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhead Station House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhead Station House

Property: Parkhead Station House
Address: Stanhope Moor, Stanhope DL13 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Stanhope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkhead Station House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Parkhead Station House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhead Station House Stanhope, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing