We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay if it's the last room in the village!”
Review of The Bonny Moorhen

The Bonny Moorhen
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stanhope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bonny Moorhen
Ranked #6 of 7 Stanhope B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here whilst taking part in the UK Coast 2 Coast challenge over the May Bank Holiday.

We arrived to Rock Night so our room was bouncing but that was okay because it finished early enough! It is a very busy pub though and everyone seemed leathered!

One of the lads tried to shut his bedroom window and pushed the pane out by accident, the bar staff gave him a McCoys box and some tape to fix it!

Beds were comfy though and breakfast was massive!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for The Bonny Moorhen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stopped here for a beer or 2 while we were in Stanhope. We wanted food but they had stopped serving. The landlord generously said to buy our food in the chip shop and we could eat it in the pub!
We recommend the 'market Plaice' for delicious food and generous portions.
When I returned to the pub they had the plates and cutlery ready for us......and an assortment of sauces etc!
Fantastic hospitality with good beer and friendly staff and customers. Lovely evening!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Linniessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I would thoroughly without reservation recommend this friendly accommodating pub to all. We were welcomed last Thursday night by a smiling attentive barmaid and made to feel special. The beer and ambience were second to none. Give it a try when next in the area. Smiling, happy bar staff are a rare treat these days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Had to wait a while to store our bikes because the woman was too busy serving punters behind the bar. When we finally got into our room it wasn't exactly recently refurbished as we had been led to believe. Having said that it was clean and comfortable enough.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dangreen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stopped here on my last leg of my C2C , the pub was tidy and the rooms were recently redecorated , shower was a little weak in power.Eveneing meal which needed ordering on arrival was lovely, breakfast was massive and lovely . Ideal location Friendly and well priced

Room Tip: Remember to book your eveneing meal when you arrive
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

we stopped here last july on a saturday night while doing the C2C. The rooms are clean enough and beds are okay we enjoyed the beer in the bar on the night as it was packed, we had a nice full english breakfast in the morning to start us off on the last leg of our journey.
This place is clean enough with a comfy bed at the end of a long ride, and i cant fault the welcome or the food and beer ,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Like some other reviwers, I and a couple of friends stopped off here for an evening whilst doing the coast to coast in June 2013.

Overall I was very impressed. The staff here were very friendly and the rooms were really nice for the price. The showers could have had a bit more "oomph" but did the job.

The pub downstairs is pretty decent (seemed lively enough on the friday night we visited) and although they weren't serving food the evening we stayed, they were happy for us to have our fish & chips from the chippy across the road in their lounge and even supplied us with plates & cutlery.

Breakfast was more than enough to fortify us for the long climb out of stanhope the next morning. Secure bike storage is available.

Overall a very solid bet for a decent overnight stay whilst riding (or walking) the C2C.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanhope
5.2 mi away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
87 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stanhope Old Hall Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Stanhope Number One
Stanhope Number One
#3 of 7 in Stanhope
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Belle Vue Country
Belle Vue Country
#7 of 7 in Stanhope
19 reviews
4.1 mi away
Parkhead Station House
Parkhead Station House
#4 of 7 in Stanhope
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonny Moorhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonny Moorhen

Address: 25 Front Street, Stanhope DL13 2TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Stanhope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Stanhope
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Bonny Moorhen Stanhope, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing