We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fish and chip picnic”

Stephenson's Fish & Chips
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Stanhope
Restaurant details
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fish and chip picnic”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean shop friendly staff and a man who knows how to cook fish and chips lovely white fish no skin or bones dry chips no greasy fat here then a 10 min drive on the moors for a picnic my grand children my wife and I like nothing better

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 70old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birtley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Couln't be batter”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Excellent tasting fish and chips, friendly staff who are genuinely interested in pleasing their customers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kikelmool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips - and batter bits too!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were staying with friends in a cottage just outside Frosterley and called in here to collect fish and chip suppers on the way up. The batter was crispy, the fish white and tasty. The chips were lovely, plus mushy peas! We were really excited to be offered batter bits too - you don't often get those these days.

An excellent, traditional chippy - don't change a thing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Soozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely food!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Great tasty fish and chips. Best fishcake I've ever had too. Worth a visit when in Weardale. 5 out of 5.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teddog2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S, Owner at Stephenson's Fish & Chips, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thankyou for your lovely review,and very happy to hear you like our homemade fish cakes .We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best fish n chips around here by miles”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Ok not strictly a reastaurant but definitely worthy of a mention.
Quite simply fantastic fish and chips.
We stayed at a friends caravan and after a long walk and unable to get in at the local pub we decided on the chippy and were so glad we did. We returned two months later and wasn't disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkybarkid107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula S, Owner at Stephenson's Fish & Chips, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review,hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stephenson's Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Stephenson's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing