We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special experience”
Review of Moulin des Farges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moulin des Farges
Ranked #1 of 2 Meymac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Wonderful setting, wonderful hosts. Georgina & Andy couldn't have been more gracious and helpful.
Magical, tranquil setting. Delicious dinner. The chocolate carmel tart was beyond good.
Would stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

Visted for the 4th time... it just gets better and better. Andy and Georgina are the most fantastic hosts and the location is perfect for a relaxing stay... plus the food is great and you won't go hungry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnieMouseWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The property perches on several levels on a hillside leading down to a babbling brook. Around the corner a gazebo offers a rest beside a peaceful lake, presided over by the towering arches of a viaduct. The Moulin is surrounded by forest and feels a million miles from anywhere, which is just what you want in these perfect surroundings. It is in fact just down the road from a reasonably sized and pretty town, but is absolutely tranquil.
The hosts, Andy and Georgina, a couple from England, are very friendly and accommodating, and their cooking holds its own in this country of high quality cuisine. Their refurbishment of the old buildings is very tasteful and stylish. The only downside is that sometimes style takes precedence over practicality: claw-footed bath tubs are never that convenient for a shower and in some rooms you need to duck to avoid concussion from the oversized light fittings, but these are trifles and if anything add to the overall charm. I cannot recommend Moulin des Farges highly enough. A real find.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the largest bed. All are a good size but one has a super king size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools_B_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed at Moulin des Farges for 3 nights in August 2012. During our stay we were blessed with hot and sunny weather. Our party consisted of me, my husband and our 11 year old daughter. We stayed in 'La Gardenia' which was perfect for our needs - very spacious with a lovely bathroom. Our daughter's bed was in its own little space which she loved. (Point to note - access to our floor was up a steep spiral staircase which was fine for us but may not suit some) We chose this location to break our long journey to the South coast but we could have actually stayed a lot longer. Our daughter absolutely loved it and made friends with the other children staying there. Andy and Georgina do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We had dinner on our first night which was expertly cooked and a lovely start to our holiday - eating outside on the veranda was a bonus. We had breakfast outside every morning which was so nice. We had intended to explore the area while we were there but found it so hard to tear ourselves away from this beautiful place. It was definitely one of the highlights of our holiday and we plan to return someday.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the house were lovely with views over the pool and grounds. The self catering gite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CupcakeBazaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonjourMeymac, Owner at Moulin des Farges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Many thanks for your kind words we are always very happy when we can make our customers stay enjoyable,
andy and georgina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Two years since we stayed in the Mill. The setting is stunning and Andy & Georgina made sure our stay was perfect from the moment we arrived. I tried some fly fishing on the lake which I found wonderfully relaxing and the surroundings were so tranquill. The mill was well furnished and was a "home from home". We had a delightful meal which was prepared by Andy on our wedding anniversary. We do hope to go back some day!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theetheringtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Having spent an enjoyable seven hours meandering across France on the more minor railway lines, we arrived on time at Meymac station, where we were met by Georgina and Andy (the owners of Moulin des Farges).

The guesthouse is a beautifully restored and converted building, standing in its own valley. We were delighted with our room, and with the enormous bathroom, and also with the gardens which include two small lakes connected by a rushing stream. It was wonderful to chill out by the swimming pool, watching the nearby black redstarts feeding their young.

The French-style breakfast al fresco was a pleasure, but the highlight for us was the sumptuous dinner (notably the duck breasts in a sauce subtly blending chilli with a hint of chocolate) which we enjoyed on the veranda while the sun gradually sank behind the hills 'up-valley'.

Standing in the grounds is a cottage - which I assume is self-catering. This place has its own tranquillity, and would be a perfect base for walkers, artists or those who simply wish to chill out.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the second floor, with windows facing south and west
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bexhillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This stunning place is hidden away in a private valley and a real find. Pictures just don’t do it justice! We were made very welcome by Andy and Georgina, and had a very pleasant and peaceful night’s stay. The rooms were well equipped and beautifully decorated. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Moulin des Farges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin des Farges

Address: 19250, Meymac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Meymac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Meymac
Price Range: £57 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moulin des Farges set in the very pretty department of La Correze. Next to the Dordogne department La Correze has many rivers and lakes, beaux villages and chateaux. Moulin des Farges has its own lake, river waterfall and swimming pool within the grounds with 4 lovely rooms to choose from, all appointed with private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moulin des Farges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moulin Des Farges Meymac, France - Limousin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing