We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 28 Colesberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

On a long road trip with my 18 year old daughter recently; Colesberg looked like the perfect stopover destination... and after TripAdvisor reviews (what else?) I booked into this property for a brief overnight B&B stay. On arrival (late Sunday afternoon) the town seemed closed, but the property hosts were on call and a speedy check in to a somewhat dated decor and furniture-wise room, but clean and comfortable with ALL the requirements, was completed quickly and efficiently. SuperSport 3 on DStv meant I didn't miss my favourite football team live and thereafter we took 'mine host's' recommendation for a meal in the restaurant directly across the road - called JC's (I think). A great meal - really good; with Karoo delicacies served by recommendation off the menu and more great service...

Sleepwise, a comfortable clean bed with electric blanket against the winter cold was very welcome. My daughter and I shared a two bedroomed unit (No 9) with a central bathroom, which contained both a good bath and shower with solar heated water. Following a good hearty breakfast and lashings of coffee the next morning we checked out... with the B&B's card tucked away. If I did another long CT or PE - JHB roadtrip; I'm booking here again. Great rate too of R750 for the stay and 2 breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChangeGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    91
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
101
73
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

What a splendid place with wonderful hosts and beautiful rooms. We had such a wonderful time here, complete with beautiful gardens and one of the best breakfasts we've had in a while! So friendly and helpful. We just booked to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Clean Room, plenty of blankets plus electric blanket for the cold winter night, good breakfast, hospitable hosts. Would have (personally) preferred a shower instead of bath but Good Choice, nevertheless!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B2Bad, Owner at The Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Ken, many thanks for rating our establishment. It is always great to hear that our services exceed our guests' expectations. When you next book, please ask for one of our units with a bath and shower. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Bianca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Thank you for a great stay and for being so understanding and helpful with all the changes. The antiques made the stay memorable, even if the bed was a little short for a very tall man. We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B2Bad, Manager at The Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Alexander, glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you soon again. When you book, please remind us to offer you one of our rooms with queen beds and no foot board.
Take care, kind regards
Mike and Hettie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The only problem was the wiring on the heater in the main room was faulty.The location is in easy walking distance of the shops and restuarants. We had dinner at JC,s which was excellent even though we had to wait a bit for our food




  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank andreasen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B2Bad, Manager at The Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Andrea, thank you for your feed-back and review. We have had the heater seen to and all is sorted. I have also passed on your feed-back to JC's. We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

kind regards
Mike and Hettie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We had a lovely decorated family room that could accommodate 4. The unit was clean and inviting with a patio, so that you can sit outside. The gardens are stunning and very interesting, The hosts were very friendly and the breakfast outstanding! You can't miss this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToyMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Perfect colesberg stopover. great location to walk to resturants. large comfortable clean rooms. secure off street parking. good value. flat screen tv with dstv limited channels. Lovely breakfast and helpful hosts. Just what you need in a stopover town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colesberg hotels
0.1 mi away
The Barracks
The Barracks
#1 of 28 in Colesberg
176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Die Kleipot Guest House
Die Kleipot Guest House
#2 of 28 in Colesberg
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Vuur Guesthouse
De Vuur Guesthouse
#21 of 28 in Colesberg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Herb Garden Guest House
Herb Garden Guest House
#6 of 28 in Colesberg
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Honeylocust
Honeylocust
#5 of 28 in Colesberg
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nanna Rous' Town House
Nanna Rous' Town House
#11 of 28 in Colesberg
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Guesthouse

Property: The Lighthouse Guesthouse
Address: 40A Church Street | Upper Karoo, Colesberg 9795, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Colesberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Colesberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lighthouse Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brian, Bianca, Mike and Hettie welcome you to The Lighthouse Guest House B&B in Colesberg, one of the finest and most established accommodation facilities in the heart of the Great Karoo. For over 24 years, friends, family, travelers, tourists and business clients have chosen The Karoo Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast as their choice in luxury, reasonably priced overnight accommodation. Expect a warm welcome, friendly personal service and distinctive style. "Regional Finalist in the 2012 and 2013 AA Quality Assured Accommodation Awards" With 13 beautiful en-suite units to choose from, ample secure parking, and a cosy breakfast room which can seat up to 30 people. Their 4 recommendable fully licensed family restaurants within comfortable walking distance. Dine at Die Platterlander, Bordeaux Restaurant , JC's Pizzeria & Pub across the road from us or the Horse and Mill Pub to enjoy the very best Karoo style cooking in the Northern Cape South Africa. Whether on your way to a family holiday at the sea (Hermanus, Plettenberg Bay, Knysna, George, Herold's Bay, Hartenbos, Port Elizabeth, Durban, Cape Town, Langebaan and St Francis Bay are our customer's favorite destinations), a hunting week-end with friends to the Eastern Cape or Northern Cape, traveling to the Kruger National Park, or just on a business trip, we can accommodate your needs with a comfortable stop-over before your final destination. If you are visiting South Africa for the first time, we wish to be your home away from home on the long distance drive between all the major attractions in South Africa. The Lighthouse Guest House Bed &Breakfast is situated in the main street of Colesberg, the perfect halfway stop town just off the N1 Highway between all major centers: Cape Town, Port Elizabeth, Durban and Johannesburg. The Lighthouse Guesthouse B&B is one of the best overnight rest-stops on your long journey through the Northern Cape and welcomes all weary travelers in search for a place to Sleep, business professionals looking for last minute accommodation or tourists visiting the historic town of Colesberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Lighthouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing