We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karoo hospitality at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 27 Colesberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had a great night at The Lighthouse. Room was spotless, spacious and extremely comfortable after a long day in the car. Breakfast wholesome Karoo home cooking at its best. Thanks to Mike and Lettie for having us. Felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaveBPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, Owner at The Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dave, thank you for taking the time to review The Lighthouse. We are delighted that you discovered true Karoo hospitality in Colesberg! We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

What a surprise. Looks iffy from outside but dont let that put you off. Once inside you'll be very pleasantly surprised. Secure off road parking and a great pub/pizza restaurant (JC's) right opposite. Will definitely stop over in Colesberg in the future instead of rushing down to Plettenburg or Cape Town as done in the past

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, Owner at The Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Mike, thank you for you review, and for not 'judging this book by it's cover'!
Glad you have found a place to unwind on your way to the coast. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The rooms are warm, comfortable, good mattresses with electric under blankets for the winter. Nice, hot water in the bathroom. Ideally situated and value for money! Safe, spacious parking for your car!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, Owner at The Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Christelle. Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Lighthouse.
With the cold weather around, it is great to know that you were warm and comfortable with plenty of hot water! AND that you found value in our service to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were a bit dubious of the view from outside with Iron gates etc, but the rooms were beautifully decorated and had everything you could need. It's an old building, but has been renovated. The bathroom was massive with all amenities you could need. Lovely large towels.
The room had a small fridge and team making equipment (they even provided some yummy rusks to enjoy with your coffee).
Room was very large, with a queen sized bed (even had an electric blanket on it).
Breakfast next morning was very good. Fresh fruit & yoghurt or oats porridge and then eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, jams, tea & coffee & fruit juice (all for only R 60-00).
They do not serve dinner, but there a 3 restaurants in the street.
Will defenitely stay here again.
Loved the message to shower in the evening as due to the icy weather, there might not be hot water in the morning, due to burst pipes!!! Thanks for the warning

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, Owner at The Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Sandy, thank you for your extensive review on The Lighthouse Guesthouse. So glad you did not "judge this book by it's cover" and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What a pleasure to experience "old school" service and hospitality.
Despite arriving quite late, the staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms were spotless and cosy on a cold winters night.
The Lighthouse will see me again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, Owner at The Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Kevan, thank you for taking the time to let other travellers know about your experience at The Lighthouse.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Lighthouse kept you cosy in this cold! We look forward to seeing you again.
kind regards Brian and Bianca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Convenient, comfortable, clean, great rooms, friendly (but not overbearing) owners. I've stayed in Colesburg a few times - this place is by far the best. I will definitely be back there again! Perfect for the family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bianca K, Owner at The Lighthouse Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Andrew - glad we could tick all your boxes and that you rate us as the best in town. After 25 years in the business, we are happy when our guests feel like they have found a home along the N1. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This a beautiful decorated guesthouse with all the luxuries that you would expect to find from five star accomodation. One would almost want to drive from Johannesburg to cape Town just to sleep over. The parking is off street and convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Charma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colesberg hotels
0.3 mi away
The Barracks
The Barracks
#1 of 27 in Colesberg
215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Die Kleipot Guest House
Die Kleipot Guest House
#2 of 27 in Colesberg
142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Honeylocust
Honeylocust
#5 of 27 in Colesberg
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Vuur Guesthouse
De Vuur Guesthouse
#7 of 27 in Colesberg
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Herb Garden Guest House
Herb Garden Guest House
#6 of 27 in Colesberg
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hazeldene
Hazeldene
#16 of 27 in Colesberg
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Guesthouse

Address: 40A Church Street | Upper Karoo, Colesberg 9795, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Colesberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colesberg
Price Range: £40 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lighthouse Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brian, Bianca, Cindy and Blackie welcome you to The Lighthouse Guest House B&B in Colesberg: The most established guesthouse in town, welcoming guests back for over 28 years now! With luxury, reasonably priced overnight accommodation, you can expect a warm welcome, friendly personal service and distinctive style. There are 13 en-suite units to choose from, FREE WIFI, ample secure parking, and a cosy breakfast room which can seat up to 30 people. There are 5 recommended fully licensed family restaurants within comfortable walking distance to enjoy the very best Karoo style cooking - one is across the road from us! "All roads lead to Colesberg" We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Lighthouse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing