We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colesview Guest House
Ranked #8 of 28 Colesberg B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The room with a view”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

After a long journey from Cape Town, we were pleasantly surprised to find such a wonderful accommodation at such a reasonable price. The B&B was located just off the N1 itself which was easily found as we did not arrive until after dark. A very friendly welcome; and the rooms themselves are the most remarkable view! Attention to detail in the rooms was amazing, with modern facilities and lovely touches, making the stop over as good as it gets.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a quiet location and equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VineyardTaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    10
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Be careful if you are a person of colour (they might be shocked) or have a 12 year old child who is on the tall side (they might think you're lying to take advantage of their child rates). We had booked and prepaid as instructed, so they didn't refuse service but they certainly did not make us feel at all welcome. We will never stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The amazing attention to detail was incredible. For a place that probably only has overnight guests the amenities in each room is wonderful. I cannot of think of one thing that I could add to make this a better room. The small decanter of Sherry was the cherry on the top.
TV and DSTV, Coffee, Tea, Fridge, good beds, wonderful linen, warm blankets, personal safes, dressing table, comfortable chairs. The list is endless. They should be charging R800 per night not the R350 I paid.
I usually stay in Beaufort West but from now on I will definitely plan my overnight stop in Colesberg - just to be able to stay in this amazing place. Oh and I nearly forgot - the breakfast was delicious

Room Tip: Dont stay anywhere else in Colesberg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noellinecvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schilde, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Very nice owners, nothing was too much. Very clean accomodation. I felt really welcome and I think it's the ideal stopover it you come from Cape region and if you're crossing the Karoo. Peter, Sofie, Eleni and Felice, Antwerp, Belgium

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We called ahead to book on the same day we arrived, and were looked after like gold by our hosts, Rene and Alex. We were given a large room for our single night's stop-over; it was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. It included air conditioning, multi-channel tv, extra beds and a large well-appointed bathroom, as well as safe parking for our car, and a lovely little pool outside for a dip. Our hosts were very welcoming and gave us good advice on places to eat dinner nearby. We found it all excellent value-for-money and would have stayed there again, had we not chosen a different route home.

Room Tip: They close at 9pm at night; it's important to clarify what time of day you plan to arrive, so ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margob99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stopped over in Colesview simply because it was at the halfway point between Johannesburg and Cape Town. What a surprise to get top notch service for a bargain price here in the middle of farm/ranch country. The owners Alex & Rene stayed up late to ensure we found our way and even drove out to the Main Street to guide us in. Cars were locked up at night, rooms (our party had 3 families so we took up half their space) were clean, comfortable and cozy. Breakfast was made to order and delicious, plus a great conversation with Alex & Rene before we moved on. Couldn't recommend higher.

Room Tip: For large families, they even have a room that sleeps six! Our room in the corner was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stopped overnight at Colesview Guest House enroute from Durban to Cape Town. We were made to feel very welcome and I liked having a lock-up for the car. The room was large, well appointed and clean. The electric blanket was a treat. Would stop there again with a doubt. And it was very reasonably priced. We left before breakfast so cant comment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKvisitor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colesberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Die Kleipot Guest House
Die Kleipot Guest House
#2 of 28 in Colesberg
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
De Vuur Guesthouse
De Vuur Guesthouse
#21 of 28 in Colesberg
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
The Lighthouse Guesthouse
#4 of 28 in Colesberg
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nanna Rous' Town House
Nanna Rous' Town House
#11 of 28 in Colesberg
33 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Barracks
The Barracks
#1 of 28 in Colesberg
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Honeylocust
Honeylocust
#5 of 28 in Colesberg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colesview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colesview Guest House

Property: Colesview Guest House
Address: 37 Torenberg Street, Colesberg 9795, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Northern Cape > Colesberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Colesberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colesview Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Colesview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing