We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
3
3
1
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
1
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The location was convenient for us to get around. We got a good room but the noise outside kept me awake most of the time. There was only one spot in the room for effective wifi reception. The staff seemed unstable. We kept getting subs who seemed a bit loss with the management. Overall the stay was pleasant.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DantiChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Finding the place can be a challenge because there is no sign and walking around the area with al the same streetnames but different numbers. To get there take bus number 2 wich leaves opposite the trainstaion. You can pay with youre easycard or with small money but dont know how much. It takes about half an hour to get to old Anping. Get a map at the i-site at the trainstation. The place has two lanterns hanging outside, one red and one green one. When you think is this the place...yes it is. Slide the doors open and you will see a sign that says Darwins hostel. You will be welcomed by two (sweet) dogs who are in the other room when you enter.
It took me ten minutes for someone to respond and when a lady entered the first question was if i was the one staying for two nights. Then we went up the stairs (first floor is livingroom/kitchen and outside sitting area), second floor the dorm. I got the key and thats it. The room with aircon is big enough for six and has a little balcony.It looked a bit worn down though. But the matrass was good. The kitchen is small and looked dirty. There is a bathroom on first floor and second and both were clean. There were some nice people when i stayed there wich made it more pleasant, otherwise you are on youre own, because i didnt get any info when i arrived and found out the second day that the owners lived downstairs. I know for 300 TWD you can not expect too much but a better intro would have made a difference. The location is good for exploring old Anping.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a great value-for-money experience! The hostel only costs 300 NT a night and it is well worth it. We got a private room and access to the huge shared bathroom & kitchen. Everything's super clean and if you're coming off a long backpacking stretch, the staff will do your laundry for only 100 NT a load. The price can't be beat! We were also super close to historic Anping and saw some great sites. There are also bikes to borrow which makes getting to surrounding areas a breeze. Definitely recommend!!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This has to be one of the highest-value hostel experiences I've ever had. For only 300NT ($10 USD) you get a comfortable bed in an air conditioned room, access to a relaxing common area and a massive library of books, CLEAN wash room and kitchen facilities, not to mention access to the friendly hosts' amazing knowledge of the area.

We arrived on a quiet week night, so Charlie our host took us on an un-forgettable bike ride through Tainan, for dinner and beer at a local traveller's pub, Tin Pan Alley (a free beer is included with your stay at Darwin's). He showed us an amazing time in Tainan!!

The next day we were within a 10 minute's walking distance of the historical sites of Anping District, including the fort Zeelandia, where we learned a lot about Taiwan's history (we're Canadian!) That evening we had a scenic walk in a nearby park where an old man sold me a kite. Then we walked home and unwound reading in Darwin's library after a hot day recovering from the night before.

If you're more interested in being close to Tainan's centre, I hear Darwin's has another location down town.

All-in-all I highly recommend Darwin's! The place is inexpensive and comfortable...you really can't beat it in Tainan!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015
Google Translation

Room tip: 上下舖房間很悶熱,夏天難以入睡
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews