We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful relaxing holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ben Scrien Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Kitchen Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Kitchen
Living Room
En Suite Bedroom Downstairs
En Suite Bathroom
Upstairs double bedroom
Twin Room Upstairs
Main Bathroom
The Prince's Flower
Haun Sunset
Prince Charlie's Bay - Traigh Leis
Rubain & Eriskay Causeway
Eriskay Ponies (foals)
Prince Charlie's Bay (Traigh Leis)
View towards Eriskay from causeway
Ben Scrien Cottage & main village
Sunset over Ben Scrien Cottage
View of Eriskay from South Uist
Sunset over Prince Charlie's Bay
View out to west
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Eriskay, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris M
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent 10 wonderful days at Ben Scrien along with our two labradors. The cottage has a very secure fence around it which is a bonus if you're taking your dog on holiday as well. Sandra made us feel very welcome, and even dropped over some locally-caught seafood at one point. The sea views from the cottage are fine, although take just a short walk up the hill behind and they are stupendous! The cottage itself is in a wonderful location with lots of walking within a stones throw - both beaches and hills. The local shop stocks just about anything you might need, and is a 5 min walk away. The local pub (Am Politician) was not a high point of the holiday, however, in fairness it doesn't really set out to cater for tourists. As an alternative, the Polochar pub about 15 mins drive away on South Uist has a great menu.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed pace of life in the Hebrides
Liked least: The local pub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocboy20...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Exceptional Eriskay, Beautiful Barra, Magical Machair”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

First trip to the Beautiful Outer Hebrides.

Arrived at picturesque 'Ben Scrien' cottage after a long trip from West Yorkshire. Cottage immaculately prepared with gentle music and welcome hamper greeting us on our arrival. Susan, the owner, popped her head around the door and gave us a lovely warm welcome to Eriskay. The cottage was ideally situated for the Uists and Barra, nestling at the bottom of Eriskay's principle land mark, Beinn Scriathan (186m) - an ideal post breakfast wander to say hello to the famous Eriskay ponies.

The Uists and Eriskay in particular are known for the Machair - fertile low-lying grassy plains on the west of the islands literally covered in wild flowers such as orchids, ragged robin, clovers, vetches etc. A beautiful sight.

The islands abound with wildlife including both golden and sea eagles, red deer, otters, seals, dolphins, whales and too many bird species to mention.

You could walk directly from Ben Scrien to the most spectacular beaches on Eriskkay or hop in the car and go and explore. One memorable trip is to jump on the local roll on roll off ferry to Barra from Eriskay and visit the 'coolest' airport/cafe in the world and see the planes land on the beach before exploring more beautiful beaches on Barra and its neighbour Vartersay.

Ben Scrien proved an ideal launch pad for a great week, with family and friends, exploring the islands and blowing the cobwebs away. Maybe it was a little tight for 6 adults but would be perfect for a young family who do not want the usual two weeks in 'Costa del Grot' and wish to get away from the rat run. Pet friendly too, so 'Scout' the Springer could come and enjoy the Hebrides as well!

The islands have lots to offer. Try a 'Lady Jane' boat trip with Skipper Nick - maybe you too will get a chance to see a Sea Eagle 'feed' close quarters.

Magical place. We'll be back.

Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, Cleanliness, Pet Friendly
Liked least: Kitchen Utensils/Crockery - lack of
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vdubhippy...
Invergarry
1 review
“A perfect place to relax and enjoy the Hebrides.”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Ben Scrien Cottage is positively delightful. From the soft Scottish music playing in the background as we walked in, the Welcome hamper on the kitchen table to the stunning views from the french windows.... Sandra and DJ have renovated this wee cottage to an exquisitely high standard. Each room is a joy to be in...yes even the shower rooms! Their attention to detail cannot be faulted and we were charmed from the instant we arrived. We had a perfect family holiday....(5 adults) we enjoyed a memorable time in a jewel of a setting. The phrase for the week was "Everything is Awesome" Thanks a million.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hebdenwal...
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great cottage, great island”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was very well equipped and comfortable. It had lots of visitor information. Sandra and her family, the cottage owners were superb. They left a welcome basket that also included their fresh eggs from the hens. They gave us fresh crab claws to cook. We couldn't fault them, they made us feel so welcome.
Eriskay was stunning. Ben Scrien, the hill behind the cottage gave you views of the whole island if you had the energy to walk up it. The village coop shop stocks everything you might need. We cycled and walked every day and swam (with wet suits) in the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage facilities,the fact that the dog was welcome, the beauty of the island
Liked least: the midges when the wind dropped
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely modern cottage, close to beach and all amenities”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was modern and most importantly it was spotless. My family & I had a great time as it was only a stone throw away from all the white sandy beaches which we visited daily. Sandra & DJ were very friendly & helpfull - nothing was a problem. They live across from the cottage and advised us on places to visit, eat & drink. Will definately stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and privacy of cottage.
Liked least: Couldn't fault it
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing