We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ben Scrien Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Kitchen Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The Kitchen
Living Room
En Suite Bedroom Downstairs
En Suite Bathroom
Upstairs double bedroom
Twin Room Upstairs
Main Bathroom
The Prince's Flower
Haun Sunset
Prince Charlie's Bay - Traigh Leis
Rubain & Eriskay Causeway
Eriskay Ponies (foals)
Prince Charlie's Bay (Traigh Leis)
View towards Eriskay from causeway
Ben Scrien Cottage & main village
Sunset over Ben Scrien Cottage
View of Eriskay from South Uist
Sunset over Prince Charlie's Bay
View out to west
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Eriskay, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
G M
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday ”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My wife and I were fortunate to book this cottage at short notice. The owner Sandra, who lives opposite, very kindly met us late on the Saturday evening after our ferry crossing. The cottage is very well equipped, spotless and comfortable. It is perfectly situated, just a few minutes walk from the local shop and the Politician pub. We were also the recipients of a 'welcome' basket from the owners which included some of their own free range eggs, which had beautifully coloured yolks and were the best I've ever tasted. The cottage has a number of reference books with walks and information and the cottage is a great base to explore the neighbouring island of Barra and the Uist's to the north. We had a fantastic holiday here are we were sad to leave, which is always a sign of a good holiday. We hope we can return here at some time in the future and would thoroughly recommend Ben Scrien Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. It was nice to meet you and it's always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed staying in the cottage and had a great time on Eriskay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
Fife, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Immaculate cottage in great location”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at Ben Scrien Cottage on a dark and driech Saturday night, after a rock and rolly sort of crossing from Mallaig to Lochboisdale. Sandra's directions had been helpful so at least the last driving leg of the journey was uneventful, but we were tired, queasy and a little apprehensive at what the week ahead might hold!

Therefore it was so lovely to open the door and be greeted by a warm, spotlessly clean house. Traditional Gaelic folk music was playing on the sound system. A welcome basket with wine, madeira cake, tablet and shortbread was laid out on the kitchen counter. It was like arriving to a big hug. That feeling stayed with us for the whole week.

At Sandra's suggestion, we had ordered provisions from the local shop which she had delivered to the cottage ready for our arrival. The cottage also boasts a seriously generous collection of books and leaflets about local flora and fauna, including OS maps and suggested walking routes on Eriskay, the Uists, and Barra. These were invaluable to us. There is also decent wifi.

Happily the weather picked up, and we enjoyed days of glorious sunshine. We walked up Ben Scrien, met the charming Eriskay ponies, and were rewarded with a 360 view of the entire island surrounded by blue and turquoise seas. We kayaked from the nearest beach (which we mostly had to ourselves) and swam in the sea. We ate at the local pub, the Am Politician, on two evenings and meandered back home the longer way, along the beaches and through the machair flowers. The sun sets over the sea in front of the cottage, and even if it's cloudy the evening light is spectacular.

We also went down to the village hall to play bingo with other holiday makers and locals - a great laugh, highly recommended.

One day, Sandra brought over eggs from her hens, and later on in the week sent over some delicious cooked crab claws, along with a hammer to break into them, which was much more fun than I had expected! She and her family were great hosts.

Eriskay is a really small island with just a smattering of houses but has a close-knit community feel to it, so although it's quiet it doesn't feel lonely. It's well placed for exploring Barra (there's a good ferry service between the two islands) and the Uists, thanks to the causeway. All our party loved both the island and the house and we were sad to leave at the end of our week, but all promised each other we'd be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Hi Emma, thank you for taking the time to write this great review. It was lovely to meet you and your family and It's great you had a fantastic holiday on Eriskay and that you felt at home staying in the cottage, best wishes, Sandra & DJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dylan3spo...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage - superb location”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely dog friendly cottage with great views. The proprietors are really friendly & helpful. The garden is totally enclosed - even our Jack Russell couldn't get out!
Loads of guides & maps available, and the local community shop is only 2 minutes walk away, And it sells everything you need.
The ferry to Barra is a 15 minute walk via the road; or 20 minutes along the beach.
A super week - thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, I'm really glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinGeo...
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding cottage on a beautiful island”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay in Ben Scrien Cottage. The cottage is in a great position on this small and beautiful island. The shop and pub are within walking distance and has direct access to island walks. The accommodation is great and very well equipped with anything you could possibly need. Sandra, DJ and Mickey went out of their way to make sure that we had everything that we needed. Mickey even took me fishing and we caught breakfast for the next day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Thanks for the great review, it was lovely meeting you and I'm glad you had a lovely holiday, best wishes, Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindzTay
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Cozy, comfortable and clean in an idyllic setting.”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The heating was on and a beautiful gift basket was there upon our arrival. The location could not have been better. Ben Scrien rose up directly behind the cottage easily accessible for pre breakfast climbing. The local store and the AM Politician were within minutes walking distance and the ferry to Barra was just down the road. Beautiful Beaches, interesting walks and easy hills were all at our doorstep. Sandra even brought us a mobile phone to use should ours not work on the island. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calum M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic stay in a beautiful cottage on a wonderful island👍👍”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My husband and I and our two sons and their partners had the pleasure of staying here while on the island, as the family home was too full. I have passed this cottage many times and did not realise how beautiful it would be inside. The accomodation was absolutely spotlessly clean and very cosy. Sandra has clearly thought of everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. We were able to cook a super two course meal as the kitchen was amazingly well equipped, including a dishwasher to dispel any arguing over who would be washing the dishes. The beds were very comfortable, even the pillows, which can sometimes be an issue while away from home. I can honestly say it was the best nights sleep I had while not in my own bed. Thank you Sandra for making a sad reason for visiting into a bearable one.xx

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thank you very much for the lovely review, I'm glad you felt comfortable under such sad circumstances.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent 10 wonderful days at Ben Scrien along with our two labradors. The cottage has a very secure fence around it which is a bonus if you're taking your dog on holiday as well. Sandra made us feel very welcome, and even dropped over some locally-caught seafood at one point. The sea views from the cottage are fine, although take just a short walk up the hill behind and they are stupendous! The cottage itself is in a wonderful location with lots of walking within a stones throw - both beaches and hills. The local shop stocks just about anything you might need, and is a 5 min walk away. The local pub (Am Politician) was not a high point of the holiday, however, in fairness it doesn't really set out to cater for tourists. As an alternative, the Polochar pub about 15 mins drive away on South Uist has a great menu.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed pace of life in the Hebrides
Liked least: The local pub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing