We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Holiday Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Phang Nga, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Holiday Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Ayara Kamala is the place that I would love to stay there forever! We arrived with very warm welcome from the Manager and all staffs are very friendly and polite. The place is totally fit with anybody who expects to have the real holiday and be away from crowded places in Phuket. We stay first night in Grand Deluxe Ocean View with large rooms, beautiful decoration and quiet. The room is super clean. The second nights we moved to stay in Grand Pool Villa Ocean View. Wow! It is only words we could say in the first 5 minutes as it is such a great view and huge bed room, living room, and terrace with private pool front of Sunset view. The view is much more open than the first room we stayed. We feel that this Place and View is made only for us. It would be perfect for honeymoon couple! If you want to visit this place, the best is this room type: Grand Pool Villa Ocean View.

Breakfast have many good selections, good view of the ocean when you sit in the restaurant. There are shuttle car for bringing you to the beach after your breakfast and lunch as well. The small town around is very lovely and calm. Good to go out sightseeing around in the night time too.


We will definitely go back for our next vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanokwanan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa. What a delight to hear that you enjoyed staying with us so much! We do our best to make sure you have your private sanctuary, but at the same time provide you with heart-warming services.
Thank you sincerely for your kind comments on our Breakfast selections. We'd also like you to know that we have decided to change things up to make you stay more homely and memorable by adding house-made specials daily. Additionally, we also have special holiday packages that include free flexi-scheduled bus transfers that bring you to Kamala beach and shopping area.
We really hope to welcome you back again to this homely resort.

Warmest regards,

Masha Siriwangsanti
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    78
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
50
177
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
157 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The place was as nice as it is shown in the pictures. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Yes it is a little bit far away but the tours will know the hotel and pick you up with no problem. If you don't mind having distance into account it would be very nice experience. Rooms and facilities were clean and nice put.

Food can improve - they didn't had natural juice, bread was a little funky as well as the typical desserts. Also when we ordered some "occidental" stuff - it wasn't as nice as it could -

Being a location like this generates lots of expectations. So the hotel should cope with them.

But I will return, always.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with ocean view. They will cost you a little more but they are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa. We are glad to hear that you had an overall good experience with us, and greatly appreciate your generous review.
We apologise for your negative food experience, and I would like you to know that our team has been working closely together to improve on this issue to bring high quality food for you. In addition to that, we have undergone some changes and fabricated a new and fresh menu. We hope to welcome you back with us so that we could adhere and strive to exceed your expectations, and are very glad to hear that you will. See you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Masha Siriwangsanti
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

villas r big n spacious n beautiful but food is bad. there were flies all over our breakfast buffet. no good restaurant in d resort while couple of minutes drive away is 'silk' which has very beautiful ambience n good food

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa. Firstly, we apologise for the delayed response due to some management changes, that has very much shifted to heightening your experiences with us. Thank you very much for your kind compliment on our spacious villas. However, we are saddened to hear of your bad experience with our breakfast buffet. On the other hand, we would like you to know that we have been undergoing changes to our restaurant, to provide fresh and homemade items as well as a pleasant and warm ambiance.

Moreover, we have also created a new menu having just implemented them recently to show that we care about your opinions and are passionate about meeting your expectations. If you do decide to stay with us again, we assure you that it will be a different and more positive stay.

Warmest regards,

Masha Siriwangsanti
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had booked into Ayara Kamala (while already in Thailand) for 3 nights but checked out after the first night and asked to be refunded for the remaining two nights so we could stay somewhere else. (It was the last two nights of our holiday so really wanted to enjoy them).

We booked through Agoda, which I think was the first problem – they don’t show all reviews so opinion is somewhat skewed. I’d suggest going to Trip Advisor to see good and bad reviews of the resort.

I can see how this resort was once nice when it was new – but now it is very tired and old and definitely not a 5 star resort as advertised. The rooms are very large and spacious, but ours (room 303) was very dark, didn’t have a see view (as stated) and without a pool or sea view, doesn’t warrant the price or trek up to the hilly/remote location.

The communal pool area and restaurant were also really tired and old and not very well maintained (looks like it could have done with a good scrub and paint in some places!) They also have lots of faux green grass around which looks cheap and tacky.

A few other problems that have also already been pointed out on other reviews – hot water was on and off, the beds are really hard (I honestly didn’t think this would be a massive problem but it was!), room was really dark, no sea view, furniture/bathroom/walls were very tired and old, there was construction going on around the resort and across the road, there is no beach although they say they have one – you can’t swim from it – it’s more like a recess in the rocky hillside and the resort is quite far from any thing else).

Although we didn’t like the hotel, the staff were helpful when we told them we wanted to check out. They agreed we could pay for just the one night we stayed, plus a late checkout fee and then called Agoda, which refunded the two remaining nights.

Overall, I would suggest paying a little bit more and getting a better experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suse_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa. We apologise for the delayed response due to the undergoing of management changes that have a much stronger cementing on your experiences.
Thank you very much for your informative response. We have taken your comment into consideration and action and have gone through the addition of more rooms to look more contemporary, fresh and new. We have also considered the dark rooms issue, and have taken the action to re-decorate, renovate and maintain them for a more open look. All our stated rooms are overlooking the ocean, as the views and visibility heighten in the Grand Pool Villas, also with its own private pool. As for the access to the rooms, we also have buggy transportation available at your request and convenience for more comfort. As for the main pool and restaurant, we have taken initiatives of changing the menu for a more vibrant and attractive look, and higher quality ingredients and taste.
We are very sorry to hear you have experienced negative situations with us concerning the water, which we have now fixed and also maintained and improved. We also apologise for the inconvenience caused with the more authentic Thai beds and are aware that our beach is more of a rustic beach, of which we try to communicate the services and offers we have to be as realistic as possible. The beach may sometimes be closed according to undesired weather conditions.
As for the location, we try to position ourselves for more privacy, serenity, that is far away from busy areas, but is close enough to access them, with our free scheduled shuttle bus services to Kamala beach and shopping area.
We also thank you greatly for your kind compliments of our service to you and are striving to implement this in our surroundings.

Warmest regards,

Masha Siriwangsanti
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I honestly think people are being a little to ridiculous in things they are complaining about with this hotel.
The beds. A lot of asian countries do in fact have hard beds. I have stayed in 5 star accommodation in bali that had hard beds. Saying this, ayara has hard beds but they are definitely more comfortable than 'sleeping on concrete'. I did not wake up once with a sore back.
The breakfast was never stale. The pastries themselves may have been stale for some people as it is warm and pastry can go hard quickly. So I recommend to avoid any stale mishaps get a pastry from the bottom.
Although we never used the shuttle, it WAS free and was not at the most obscure times. The times to go to Kamala beach were at 10:30 (right after breakfast) and 3.30pm. I cannot remember the exact return times but they were reasonable. Honestly paying 150 baht to get back up is not a huge sacrifice.
The walk down to the private beach is definitely a struggle as it is very steep. But the first 5 steps are wood and are not rotting. The rest is stone. So I don't understand why this would be a problem?
We stayed in a Grand Deluxe Ocean View room and it was HUGE. The bathroom in itself is bigger than hotel rooms I have stayed in. I really liked the room.
The staff are friendly although there is a noticeable language barrier in comparison to other hotels that I have stayed in in Patong.
We had to check out at 5.45am (much before breakfast started) so they ended up making us a little breakfast box which I thought was a very nice touch.
Overall I did like this hotel. It is quiet and very much for couples or families.

Room Tip: Try and get a room closer to the main facilities. Walk up the hill to other rooms gets hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nattyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa. We are sorry for the delayed response due to management changes that have transformed into being more aware and interactive with our customers in online platforms. Thank you very much for your support and generous comments of our resort! We really appreciate it. We have implemented some changes to our breakfast buffet to add more fresh pastries. The shuttle bus services can be even more flexible as we are currently working more on meeting your transportation desires, and thank you once again for your support. As for the language barriers, we are also undergoing some training programmes for our staff to communicate better.

We hope you come back to stay with us again!

Warmest regards,

Masha Siriwangsanti
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I love Araya Kamala resort.This hotel resort have no beach for swimming but I enchant with the sunset at the swimming pool of my pool villa.
The breakfast is à la carte and also have boiled rice.

Althrough this hotel is far from uptown but there is the hotel bus service.
I think this hotel is suit for honeymoon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa. We apologise for the delay in response due to the change of management. We really appreciate your positive opinion about us and are very glad to hear about your stay!

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Masha Siriwangsanti
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miss_moss79
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed at Ayara Kamala for a week in December. It has some beautiful views, very well kept grounds, stunning rooms and very friendly staff. However, before booking here there are a few things you should be aware of.

Firstly, the location. It is not near Kamala beach to walk (which we kind of knew anyway) and the private beach is not really a beach. As others have written, it's a steep old walk down and up. If you are looking for something on the beach then don't stay here. The main town of Kamala is about 10 minutes drive away.

Unless you are heavily in to having an Asian breakfast then you may be disappointed. The toast and bakery were all stale (think someone else has written about this too) and the western hot breakfast was small.

We also had a rather interesting experience at the spa - apparently using natural ingredients for a facial means using foodstuffs. I had natural yoghurt, honey, lemon and sugar topped off with Johnson's Baby Cream for moisturiser. Maybe my expectations were a bit high but blimey, if I'd wanted to smother my face in leftovers, I could have bought the ingredients for a fraction of the price and used the rest to make a decent breakfast... It was also expensive.

The hotel is over priced for what it is, the rooms are lovely but it's just not a resort. The fake grass really brings the whole tone of the place down in the common areas and that's a real shame as it seems to have potential.

If you are looking for a luxury getaway to get pampered and looked after then don't stay here. If you're happy with a massive room and little else then you'll be fine but I suspect you may get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank miss_moss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa. We apologise for the delayed response due to our management changes. We have been striving to focus and cement our goals into enriching customer experiences. We greatly appreciate your informative comment, and comprehend the importance of delivering what we promise. Therefore, we try now to be as realistic as possible.
Our location is as you know, a 10-minute drive to Kamala beach and shopping area. Guests can access this area with our free scheduled shuttle buses twice a day at convenient times. Moreover, we do admit our beach is more of a rustic beach of which we are working on providing more suitable activities for our guests, and access to the beach has a buggy transport right from your room to the stairs and a sky lift to it.
As for the breakfast, we have considered your feedback about preferred choices and would like you to know that we are always available and open to your requests. We have also been improving the quality of food, and adding more choices according to guests' needs.
We are sorry to hear of your disliking of our spa facial treatments and put this forward to be authentic, professional and provide customer value to you.
All in all, thank you very much for your comment.

Warmest regards,

Masha Siriwangsanti
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
2.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Andara Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa

Property: Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Address: 22 Moo 6, Layi-Nakalay Rd, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#3 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#9 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, eat, indulge, explore and rejuvenate at our homely resort in our naturally private setting, along millionaire’s mile located south west of the treasured island of Phuket. Through using the traditional and authentic craftsmanship of Khun V, this wonderful promontory paradise has been converted into a magnificent hotel consisting of 42 rooms and villas sprawling the hillside down to the private rustic beach. His Swiss educated daughter, Masha, blends her Thai service foundations with some of the Swiss touches she picked up studying abroad to deliver a unique and harmonious style service culture. All the rooms and villas are designed with the concept of ‘Ayara’, corresponding with the nature of ‘elephants’ that are gentle and kind and of course, need their space to rest. They are decorated contemporarily and traditionally, from stylish black tiles to luxuriously marbled bathroom floors, to wooden and earthly tones. Our restaurant maintains quality local ingredients with delightful homemade recipes as well as including a few of the normal favorites from around Thailand and the rest of the world. We’ve got the gym, the spa and a private rustic beach, everything you need to feel comfortable. So, whether young and fresh or mature and experienced, Ayara Kamala provides you with our local founded atmosphere whilst our international touches amaze and surprise combining on a personal level a unique harmony, nowhere else found.Our noble ‘Kamalians’ strive to make sure you obtain that unique warmth in this promontory paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayara Kamala Hotel Kamala
Ayara Kamala Resort And Spa
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing