We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Prior to our stay, we stayed 2 nights in a resort in Patong area. We moved to Ayara Kamala because we wanted somewhere quiet to spend our last 2 nights in Phuket.
Ayara Kamala is serenity at its best. While waiting for our room (Grand deluxe ocean view) to be ready, we were blown away by the gorgeous view of the Andaman Sea and the staggering uphill locations of other villas of the resort. All we heard was the sound of wind and waves.
Blessed with good weather in Kamala, the infinity pool outside our room was so inviting that we wanted to swim and chill out by the pool all the time. The bed is comfortable and the only thing I get uncomfortable about is the lightings in the washroom/toilets, I find them too dim for my liking but that's just my opinion.
When night falls, we book the mini-van from the hotel to Kamala beach for dinner, the resort is offering (150bht one way) which is cheaper than the local taxis which asked for 300 baht to get us back to hotel. Because we missed the free shuttle van timings, we booked the mini-van to get us to a certain restaurant we wanted to try in Kamala and called the resort to pick up us when we wanted to get back.
We had a late check out on our last day and prior our flight, we booked a spa package (current promotion of one for one). The spa experience was awesome!
We had a quick lunch after the spa and we tried pasta and phad thai (local & western food) and both dishes didn't disappoint.
All in all, I would really love to come back to Ayara Kamala again! In a heartbeat! 2 nights are certainly not enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panjerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa.

What a rewarding review! Thank you for this great comment. We have made sure to communicate this to our staff who are very grateful. We are also glad you have enjoyed your stay here at this little piece of paradise. It was an honour to have accommodated you. We are looking forward to see you again in the near future, and wish you all the best!

Warmest regards,

Your Kamalians
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    80
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
51
180
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This resort is perfect for Families and Couples who want to spend quality time together away from their busy lives.

This Resort ticks all the right boxes; Friendly Staff who understands English, Great Location, Room has Amazing View, One of the Best rooms I have ever stayed during my travels so far (we stayed in Grand Deluxe Ocean View room), Good Food, Good room service, good amenities (great Pool and a Game room having children area and two Pool tables).

Resort is only 2KM (20 min walk, 5 min Drive) from Kamala Beach and Kamala market. The Resort has a free shuttle service to and from Kamala Beach, the service runs every three hours from 10:30Am till 6PM.

There are 2 Halal Restaurants (2 min walk from the drop off point) - one is Royal India Restaurant (serves Halal Pakistani, Thai & Indian Food) and the other is Cafe Layalinna. There are other Halal Muslim restaurants near to the main market (10-15 min walk from Drop off point). There are many Muslim staff members and they accommodate your request for halal food.

Special mention to the resort manager Mr. Sebastian. He is very helpful and was always keen to help us out!

I am sure to stay here again whenever I visit Phuket again :) Highly recommended from my side :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

A big thank you from all of us here for your very motivating and informative review!

We really appreciate your comments and we have had great pleasure forwarding them on to our team.

We hope you have a good onward journey and very much look forward to having you and your family back here one day!

All the best regards,

Sebastian Orders & Masha Siriwangsanti
Operations Managers
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Was worried that food was an issue since we are at the hillside, and there was only one restaurant which belongs to the hotel. Good food is really important. Fortunately, it was very good. Compared to outside restaurants in the same area.

The Hotel Manager was very helpful, and efficient.

The Room view is spectacular overseeing the sea. Even though it was raining season, we still managed to swim at the private lap pool shared between five rooms. It's private.
Bathtub in the room also overseeing the seaview and the pool. I would say Ladies who likes water, swimmimg, bathing would appreciate more. As I find these factors quite important since am spending most time in the resort, I really need to entertain myself with something I can do and relax.

There's a balcony outside, you can sunbath and read. Great for retreat.

Downside: depending how you see it, it could be a positive factor if you like tracking or walking. It's quite a distance to walk to Kamala beach. Like, half an hour with perspiring sweat.

To be fair, they have two tuk tuk timing, one I think one is at 1pm or 11am and the other is 3pm. I maybe wrong but the driver is nice enough to offer a pick up back to your hotel is you tell him and it's free.

Laundry: do your laundry at Kamala beach mini mart instead. It cost just 100baht per kilo. I noticed that all hotels charged the same "expensive per item charge " so if you find it absurd to pay 1000baht for six pieces of clothing, go to mini mart laundry services instead. This is the same with all resorts and hotels in Thailand.

Recommended ways to travel from phuket airport to Ayala kamala beach resort. Take a "meter-taxi". When you get out of Philly exit, turn to your right and walk straight to the end, you will see a meter taxi booth and the taxi drivers will have name tags in their uniform. They speak English better. I am not fond of the constant harassing from other 'private taxi companies ' so I avoid at all costs after the first time being ripped off 700baht for a ten mins drive to my previous Laguna resort. (Sorry, not all foreigners are made of gold!)

I paid around 500+ baht for a 45mins drive to Ayala beach resort for a "meter driving."

Taking a tuk tuk back from Kamala beach resort to Ayala Kampala beach resort cost around 200 Baht.Some will ask for 300baht, and it depends on you. It's not that far, but because it's up at the hill so it's reasonable.

Overall, this resort has good service, good cleanliness, good view, but the ironic part is both of us (husband and myself ) didn't sleep too well for two nights and we don't know why.

Their customer service is good. Thiis resort puts in effort providing good service I can see that they made an effort to make sure we have a good stay.

Overall,
Food is really good!
Room is really good!
Bathroom is really good!
cleanliness is good,and great service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrietanml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your much appreciated positive review.

Many of the points you have mentioned have been considered and used to reward our staff as well as include in our overall planning and operation!

Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa is pleased to announce that our new shuttle times, to and from the up and coming area of Kamala beach and shops, now take place 4 times a day at:
10:30, 12:00, 15:00 and 18:00!

Our hotel aims to support the surrounding area to help it grow into Phuket's No.1 district!

Once again thank you very much for your comments and we hope to see you back here again soon!

We will be here striving to understand, learn and develop our services and facilities to welcome you all to an individually user-friendly authentic Thai family run operation!

Best regards,

Sebastian Orders & Masha Siriwangsanti
Operations Managers
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Ayara Kamala Resort proved to be everything we had hoped for and much more. We stayed in the Grand Deluxe Ocean View villa which features a private infinity pool with stunning uninterruped views over the ocean. The villa features a jacuzzi (filled with flowers when we arrived), comfortable deck chairs and a day bed. The bedroom and bathroom is massive and luxurious. There is a separate smaller villa attached with a kitchen, fridge and TV room. Absolute privacy! The infinity pool is huge. Kamala Beach and shops are only 5 minutes away and there are two free courtesy return trips to Kamala a day. Kamala Beach is lovely and there are life guards if you have kids. Patong is only 20 minutes away. I strongly recommend using the hotel limousine. For 4-5 hours it cost 2,500Baht (which sounds expensive) but is only about around $20 AUS an hour. For this you have a dedicated driver who waits while you visit shops, temples or Patong. The cars are new, airconditioned and spotless with leather seats. 2 crazy trips with pushy local taxis convinced me it just wasn't worth using their cheaper services (even for short trips). If you are after night life, a resort which is basically a room and a tropical type pool or right on the beach this is not for you. If you want a relaxing holiday lying by the pool with some tourist trips this resort is for you. There are also villa options for families and cheaper rooms with some ocean or pool views. The hotel itself has a huge guest infinity pool overlooking the ocean. Bit of a steep climb to our room but we used the hotel tuk tuks (these are also free) to get around the resport. Special thanks to Miss Masha (who speaks perfect english) and Sebastian (an Australian) for exceptional service. Nothing was too hard. Beware though - book only through the hotel site. If you use Booking.Com you might miss out of free extras. The hotel offered two free massages and a lunch. The hotel currently is offering 40% off and there were only two rainy days but they only lasted around an hour, then it was back to sunshine. Only suggestion for improvement is a coffee plunger or machine in the room instead of instant coffee. But the cappuccinos and the breakfast was excellent at the restaurant (again with ocean views). Thank you everyone at Ayara for an unforgettable holiday

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear Our Valued Guests,

Sawasdee Ka from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa.

What a kind and rewarding review! We greatly thank you for your generous and much appreciated comments - we have communicated this to our staff, which they greatly appreciate. We enjoyed accommodating you and are glad to hear that you had a brilliant experience with us, feeling like you were well pampered and received personalised service. It is excellent to hear that you also received good value for booking directly with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again here, and we will be sure to provide you with another unforgettable holiday!

Warmest regards,

Your Ayara Kamala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We spend 5 days in euphoria on this place. We had the ocean view villa with its own pool, and because it was high up from the ocean, the view in the morning as well in the evening was fabulous. The staff shall have a great compliment. They were just great. Thanks a lot. J & K

Room Tip: Chose the upper ocean view vilas with own pool. The view is worth all money spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenTzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

We greatly appreciate your generous review of our resort. We will make sure to forward this encouraging comment to our team. We are also glad you found the views amazing.

We do look forward to seeing you again, and we will make sure to provide you even more value for your next stay.

Warm regards,
Masha
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I decided to take a crazy 24 hrs getaway for our wedding anniversary arriving at Ayara at 6 am in the morning of the 4th July. Weather was awful but the warmth of the greetings right from the airport pickup to the lobby reception was absolutely fantastic. Breakfast selection was average and could be improved but no complaints about the lunch menu or about the Ocean View Room we had...spacious and relaxing! The highlight was actually the Spa and 1.5 hrs massage treatment we had at Ratana Spa in the Resort that was absolutely heavenly. Complements to Sebastian, Miss Marsha and team for the personalized service. Will definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your very rewarding feedback! Once again, congratulations on your anniversary, and we are very grateful to have accommodated you on this special occasion.

We passed on your comments about our service to our team, which they were very delighted to hear about.

As for the breakfast selection, your comments have been considered and we continue to improve our choices to meet our diverse guests' needs. As we aspire to be a homely hotel with personalised service, we are always flexible to prepare your desired dishes for breakfast, the most important meal of the day.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the spa, and your stay here.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Masha and Sebastian
Assistant Operations Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Had booked the family suite with pool access. The suite was spacious with beautiful ocean view beyond the infinity pool. As it was low season, we had the inifinity pool and panoramic view all to ourselves:) Food at the restaurant is great and prices are reasonable. The staff should also be commended for their hospitality, from checking in to the stay itself and checking out, making every guest feel most welcome in Ayara Kamala.

Some feedback that I have which would make the stay an even better one:
-Bed is a little uncomfortable as it is too soft, therefore sleep quality was not as great.
-When there are more than one person is bathing in the two bathrooms(esp in the family room), the water pressure and hot water supply dwindles.

On the whole, a great hotel to spend the holiday:)

Room Tip: The family suite with pool access FA1 as room opens up to ocean view and infinity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debrachong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your kind and informative review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your one night stay with us from start to finish. It was very delightful to have accommodated you. As for your comment of our beds, we get many mixed reviews due to a very diverse client base, and they are all taken into consideration for the future.

Warm regards,

Masha Siriwangsanti
Assistant Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
2.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Andara Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa

Property: Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Address: 22 Moo 6, Layi-Nakalay Rd, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#3 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#9 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, eat, indulge, explore and rejuvenate at our homely resort in our naturally private setting, along millionaire’s mile located south west of the treasured island of Phuket. Through using the traditional and authentic craftsmanship of Khun V, this wonderful promontory paradise has been converted into a magnificent hotel consisting of 42 rooms and villas sprawling the hillside down to the private rustic beach. His Swiss educated daughter, Masha, blends her Thai service foundations with some of the Swiss touches she picked up studying abroad to deliver a unique and harmonious style service culture. All the rooms and villas are designed with the concept of ‘Ayara’, corresponding with the nature of ‘elephants’ that are gentle and kind and of course, need their space to rest. They are decorated contemporarily and traditionally, from stylish black tiles to luxuriously marbled bathroom floors, to wooden and earthly tones. Our restaurant maintains quality local ingredients with delightful homemade recipes as well as including a few of the normal favorites from around Thailand and the rest of the world. We’ve got the gym, the spa and a private rustic beach, everything you need to feel comfortable. So, whether young and fresh or mature and experienced, Ayara Kamala provides you with our local founded atmosphere whilst our international touches amaze and surprise combining on a personal level a unique harmony, nowhere else found.Our noble ‘Kamalians’ strive to make sure you obtain that unique warmth in this promontory paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayara Kamala Hotel Kamala
Ayara Kamala Resort And Spa
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing