We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful resort with good standard and seaviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
215 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Tasteful resort with good standard and seaviews”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Ayara and appreciated
- nice sea view
- tastefull architecture
- well equipped room with balcony
- nice swimming pool
- friendly staff
- place with quiet and relaxing atmosphere

Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masha S, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for you kind review of our hotel.

It is always rewarding to learn that our customers enjoyed their stay with us and we are happy to pass on your positive comments to our team. We will continue to strive towards achieving memorable experiences through combining our comfortable, authentic and welcoming physical environment with our discreet yet personalized and professional service techniques.

We hope to one day accommodate you again and wish you all the best for your plans ahead.

Best regards from all of your Kamalians,

Sebastian Orders & Masha Siriwangsanti
Operations Managers
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    80
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
52
181
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My fiancée and I just stayed at this hotel earlier this month for 4 nights. The management staff of Masha and Sebastien were very welcoming upon our arrival and throughout our stay. They were very accommodating and allowed us to have an early check-in and a late check-out due to our late flight arrival and departures. The facilities, the resort grounds, and rooms were impeccable and were the tidiest and roomiest we have ever seen. The attention to detail in terms of room service and how they treat guests are top-notch and how a hotel should be run. All the staff including the shuttle drivers were warm and friendly, and was always done with sincerity and heart. The menu was reasonably priced and had some good budget options.

Our room was the Grand Deluxe Ocean View (without any private or shared pool access) and we were totally fine with that. The views of ocean and evening sunsets were total amazing. Our rooms had tons of space and the bathroom itself was a marvel to be in I must say.

The only down-side is that there is a lack of a real and expansive beach but that could because at this time of year, the waters are choppier. It requires a little bit of a walk and a lift down to the beach area. That was a small matter, as we enjoyed taking the free shuttle service that runs 4x daily to Kamala Beach. The hotel is a little remote for those who like to wander around and requires taxi service to get to areas like Patong Beach.

All-in-all a great and wonderful stay at this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to go back again. The Kamala Beach area seems to be on a surge to be on the higher end of the hotel scale and will only become a higher end destination to stay in - so come before there amazing rates start to climb :) .

Room Tip: Request for rooms higher on the cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masha S, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Wow! What an amazing and generous review! We have actually printed this out and rewarded to our staff who are very grateful! Thank you very much. We are very glad to hear you had a great stay with us, and it was such a pleasure to finally get to meet you for your Birthday! It was very delighting to also have you here with us, and we enjoy personalising our services to you as well.
As for our rates, you can be sure that we strive to provide our guests with added value for money and a great experience, so please stay in touch to maximise your benefits ;).
We wish you the best of luck, and really look forward to see you again!

Warmest regards,

Sebastian, Masha and the Kamalians
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our family of five wanted to finish off our 2 weeks in Phuket in a quite relaxing location but still close enough to get our shopping fix at Patong.

Kamala itself is a great spot, (think Patong 25 years ago), lots of great little spots to eat and drink right on the sand of a beautiful beach and everything you need in the town.

Ayara Kamala is a perfect little piece of paradise which would be ideal for honeymooners and couples seeking privacy in an amazing setting. Sebastian and his staff gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived and were very gracious during our whole stay ensuring that we were happy with everything.

We chose a two bedroom suite with shared pool access which was beautiful, however there was no real common living area which we needed with three kids (particularly in the wet season) so we upgraded. Sebastian was very helpful and also accommodated our very late checkout due to a late night flight time upon departure.

Ayara is on a very steep site, which I guess is to be expected given the amazing views of the Andaman Sea from an elevated position. However if you really hate hills and stairs you may want to consider this.

The other issue with location is that nothing external is within walking distance (beach, 7/11, bars etc) but for 150bt the staff will drive you into town anytime and there is a free service twice daily.

This is definitely not a criticism of the hotel though. Its wonderful if your looking for views, peace and quiet and beautifully appointed rooms and bathrooms.

Room Tip: If you are a family and want some living area apart from just bedrooms ensure you choose the right a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide our team with some overall very positive feedback! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed staying with us at our little piece of homely paradise.

We would also like to express our consideration for the mix up with the room type selection and are currently working to ensure that all booking channels showcase the rooms clearly and correctly to avoid further misunderstandings from our customers. In regards to this we would also highlight the fact that booking through the hotel itself will always guarantee a smoother process, equally low rates as well as maximize beneficial offers.

As per our location, we do offer 4! free transfers per day, which take 5 minutes to and from the hotel, along the now coined 'millionaires mile' down into the heart of Kamala, where restaurants, shops, 7/11's and an authentic and peaceful atmosphere can be found. Kamala beach is still the first and only beach in Phuket to employ 2 full time beach cleaners, thanks to the Kamala Green Club, whom we proudly support, and is a very long and comfortable beach with good swimming conditions (and very clean!).

At the hotel we do operate a buggy service which, at any time can help you to avoid those gradients. Other facilities on offer in house include a bar, restaurant, cooking classes, spa, free access to our gym, games room, library, kids room and tennis court as well as your very own private rustic beach accessed by elevator (better in high season due to weather conditions).

Again, we would like to sincerely thank you for you kind comments as we take them very seriously to reward our staff and consider them for future changes in our services and facilities.

We hope you had a safe onward journey and to one day welcome you back here to an always improving Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa.

Yours sincerely,

Masha Siriwangsanti & Sebastian Orders
Operations Managers
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we only had one night at this fantastic hotel. Sebastian, Masha and the staff were very friendly and accommodating and really made us feel welcome. The rooms are a really good size, very clean and the hotel facilities are great. The food was also top notch - best breakfast we had in Thailand (buffet). It is away from the main beach (still very accessible - 5 mins drive via shuttle/taxi) so a fantastic place to unwind. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa.

It is very rewarding to know that we have provided you with a memorable experience despite your short stay, and it was of great pleasure to have accommodated you. We do take pride in our capacious rooms and strive to continually improve our offerings to you, and it is refreshing to know that you have enjoyed them. Thank you very much. We do look forward to see you again , perhaps for a longer stay.

Warmest regards,

Sebastian, Masha and the Kamalians
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I initially selected the Ayara Kamala Hotel because we wanted a top quality hotel in a fantastic setting, that was in a relatively quiet location but within easy reach of Phuket's beaches and attractions. I am happy to say that the Ayara Kamala surpassed our expectations.
Our rooms were huge and well appointed, and superbly placed right on the cliff edge. The views, especially at sunset were just beautiful. Oher hotels in the area tended to be set back on the other side of the coastal road. So the Ayara Kamala certainly is better positioned.
The staff were always helpful with particular recognition to the management team of Masha and Sebastian. They were always friendly and welcoming without being overly solicitous. One evening they were even kind enough to come and pick my family and I up after we had dinner a few beaches away.
We enjoyed a number of very pleasant meals at the hotel where the menu presented a varied selection of Thai, Asian and international items. The food was easy to eat every day, as it wasn't too rich or over-elaborate.
We really enjoyed ourselves and hope to return to the Ayara Kamala before too long.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for this positive review. We are very glad your first time in Phuket was a great one, and that you were well accommodated. It really is our pleasure to strive to provide you with personalised service. We have also forwarded this feedback to our team, which gives us even more drive to create a positively memorable experience for our guests.

We wish you all the best of luck back home, and hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Sebastian, Masha and the Kamalians
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Prior to our stay, we stayed 2 nights in a resort in Patong area. We moved to Ayara Kamala because we wanted somewhere quiet to spend our last 2 nights in Phuket.
Ayara Kamala is serenity at its best. While waiting for our room (Grand deluxe ocean view) to be ready, we were blown away by the gorgeous view of the Andaman Sea and the staggering uphill locations of other villas of the resort. All we heard was the sound of wind and waves.
Blessed with good weather in Kamala, the infinity pool outside our room was so inviting that we wanted to swim and chill out by the pool all the time. The bed is comfortable and the only thing I get uncomfortable about is the lightings in the washroom/toilets, I find them too dim for my liking but that's just my opinion.
When night falls, we book the mini-van from the hotel to Kamala beach for dinner, the resort is offering (150bht one way) which is cheaper than the local taxis which asked for 300 baht to get us back to hotel. Because we missed the free shuttle van timings, we booked the mini-van to get us to a certain restaurant we wanted to try in Kamala and called the resort to pick up us when we wanted to get back.
We had a late check out on our last day and prior our flight, we booked a spa package (current promotion of one for one). The spa experience was awesome!
We had a quick lunch after the spa and we tried pasta and phad thai (local & western food) and both dishes didn't disappoint.
All in all, I would really love to come back to Ayara Kamala again! In a heartbeat! 2 nights are certainly not enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panjerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa.

What a rewarding review! Thank you for this great comment. We have made sure to communicate this to our staff who are very grateful. We are also glad you have enjoyed your stay here at this little piece of paradise. It was an honour to have accommodated you. We are looking forward to see you again in the near future, and wish you all the best!

Warmest regards,

Your Kamalians
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This resort is perfect for Families and Couples who want to spend quality time together away from their busy lives.

This Resort ticks all the right boxes; Friendly Staff who understands English, Great Location, Room has Amazing View, One of the Best rooms I have ever stayed during my travels so far (we stayed in Grand Deluxe Ocean View room), Good Food, Good room service, good amenities (great Pool and a Game room having children area and two Pool tables).

Resort is only 2KM (20 min walk, 5 min Drive) from Kamala Beach and Kamala market. The Resort has a free shuttle service to and from Kamala Beach, the service runs every three hours from 10:30Am till 6PM.

There are 2 Halal Restaurants (2 min walk from the drop off point) - one is Royal India Restaurant (serves Halal Pakistani, Thai & Indian Food) and the other is Cafe Layalinna. There are other Halal Muslim restaurants near to the main market (10-15 min walk from Drop off point). There are many Muslim staff members and they accommodate your request for halal food.

Special mention to the resort manager Mr. Sebastian. He is very helpful and was always keen to help us out!

I am sure to stay here again whenever I visit Phuket again :) Highly recommended from my side :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayara_Team, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Our Valued Guest,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

A big thank you from all of us here for your very motivating and informative review!

We really appreciate your comments and we have had great pleasure forwarding them on to our team.

We hope you have a good onward journey and very much look forward to having you and your family back here one day!

All the best regards,

Sebastian Orders & Masha Siriwangsanti
Operations Managers
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
2.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Andara Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa

Property: Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Address: 22 Moo 6, Layi-Nakalay Rd, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#3 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#9 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, eat, indulge, explore and rejuvenate at our homely resort in our naturally private setting, along millionaire’s mile located south west of the treasured island of Phuket. Through using the traditional and authentic craftsmanship of Khun V, this wonderful promontory paradise has been converted into a magnificent hotel consisting of 42 rooms and villas sprawling the hillside down to the private rustic beach. His Swiss educated daughter, Masha, blends her Thai service foundations with some of the Swiss touches she picked up studying abroad to deliver a unique and harmonious style service culture. All the rooms and villas are designed with the concept of ‘Ayara’, corresponding with the nature of ‘elephants’ that are gentle and kind and of course, need their space to rest. They are decorated contemporarily and traditionally, from stylish black tiles to luxuriously marbled bathroom floors, to wooden and earthly tones. Our restaurant maintains quality local ingredients with delightful homemade recipes as well as including a few of the normal favorites from around Thailand and the rest of the world. We’ve got the gym, the spa and a private rustic beach, everything you need to feel comfortable. So, whether young and fresh or mature and experienced, Ayara Kamala provides you with our local founded atmosphere whilst our international touches amaze and surprise combining on a personal level a unique harmony, nowhere else found.Our noble ‘Kamalians’ strive to make sure you obtain that unique warmth in this promontory paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayara Kamala Hotel Kamala
Ayara Kamala Resort And Spa
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing