We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Paradise”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our intentions in Phuket were to relax, reenergise, discover, privacy and tranquillity. All of which was fullied along with 5 star service & facailties at Ayara Karmara Resort and Spa. We stayed in the pool access suit which had its own infinitely pool along with a perfect view almost as the sunset was just for us. We hardly had to leave the room, not to mention the large room space, also there was a small front garden area used for a lounge area with private sunbeds. Chef Recommend Restaurant served up some delicious Thai and western dishes, most popular being the Massaman curry. A Big thanks to Krit & Corey for all their excellent service, they really went the extra step, which made life so easy. The natural surrounds which have been kept and maintain really made us fill as though we were in our own magical world nested amongst tress and wildlife….We even had a natural waterfall running along side the room. Have to mention the Swimming pool design and technology this was a totally new experience. After Speaking with the Hotel manager, she explained the water used for all pools is a combination of Ionizing titanium and copper, which makes it unbelievably fresh & refined. No more irritation, No more dry skin….Fantastic :) Overall our stay was superb, defiantly will be returning on our travels back to Phuket. Thank you to all the staff at Ayara!!

Room Tip: Book your room directly with the hotel, better rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masha S, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Gaz1988,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

We highly and greatly appreciate such beautiful comments on your experience with us! It is very rewarding to know that you have enjoyed the time here, from the sunsets to our restaurant and the service of our staff. Corey and Krit are very thankful for your special mention and are glad to know that you had a great time. We wish you all the best back hope and definitely look forward to welcoming you back here again!

Warmest regards from all of us here,

Masha & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    83
    28
    11
    5
See reviews for
53
192
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed 5 nights on last leg of SE Asia Tour. Hotel located at the end of 'millionaires mile' as locally known due the amount of luxury condos and 5 star resorts all located.

The hotel is perched on a cliff overlooking the sea directly and is absolutely beautiful. The views are possibly the best I have ever experienced.

Various room types and we opted for the Private Pool villa and is was stunning. Separate lounge villa fully equipped with full size freezer, dining table, sofa, chairs, flat screen tv etc. Separate villa with bedroom and bathroom all luxuriously appointed and immaculately kept.

Resort consists of villa buildings owned by the resort and some privately owned. Some are soley to yourself as we booked and some of the villas are shared type accommodations. If you want full sun decks you have to book the Pool Villas as the other rooms with pools are located directly below and shaded so sun bathing may be limited.

I emailed Ops manager/GM Sebastian in advance to ask for maximum privacy. This was afforded by our original villa allocated. Unfortunately one of the privately owned villas next door was under going some renovations so there was noise. One call to Sebastian and he was on it quicker than a flash to the owners about the time works were taking place but also to manage me and my expectations. We moved to villa 101 which was amazing and away from the noise as fortunately there were a couple of other villas available. Top marks Sebastian. The public areas are immaculately kept and all staff are as you'd expect - polite, courteous and very helpful.

The pools in The Pool Villas are amazing as are the views..words can't describe how stunning the sunsets from your pool are.

All breakfast items as you'd expect and restaurant for dinner was very pleasant with good food - not fine dining quality or silver service but informal and quality.

Hotels is privately Thai owned by the same designer and owners of nearby Ayara Hilltops in Surin beach where we have stayed before tho I wasn't aware of this. They are similar which explains it and confirms my taste in hotels. Hotel is a good 4+ star boutique hotel so not to expect Chain standards or often sterile impersonal service one gets from a Sheraton or the like.

Highly recommend for those that want a romantic getaway near enough to places like Patong, Surin beach etc but far enough away. Gentile clientele not full of loud inbound package tours from China/Korea or Russia thankfully.

Room for improvement: Hotel has a man made beach area but is dishevelled. Beautiful spot with great potential for sundowners, bbq's, private functions, beach bar etc....apparently work in progress.....I'd recommend finishing this works off as could be stunning place to watch the sunset with a cocktail in hand.

Evening turndown - didn't seem to have and after a day spent in your villa as you don't want to leave it, this would be a good touch.

Overall, loved the place and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Splurge and book the Pool Villas...an experience and view you won't forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masha S, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Steve G,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

What an amazingly rewarding review! Sebastian and all our staff members are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your Grand Pool Villa here, and that you were greatly satisfied with our service. It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed the sunsets, along with the food and the tranquility of our resort. We thank you very much for your feedback on our beach, we will definitely take it on board to finish our project off. We definitely do turn down service at our resort, but there may have been a miscommunication on our part in regards to the "Do Not Disturb" signs, so we will for sure follow it up and make sure all our guests receive this service.

We thank you again for such a wonderful review, and wish you the best back home. Hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Warmest regards from all of us here,

Masha & Sebastian
Operations Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely, unfortunately short stay in Ayara! We stayed in a deluxe ocean view room, which was specious with a huge bathroom that had an amazing bath tub! The room had a nice big terrace with sun beds and a breathtaking view! the hotel is located on a hill that gives ocean views from all the hotel areas, starting with the reception, at breakfast all tables face the view as well. The infinity pool is the perfect place to soak the sun in from morning till late afternoon. This side of the island is where the sun sets and had an amazing view from our room.

We also had the pleasure to take a 3 hour treatment in the spa, they have a forest room which has windows all around looking straight out in to the jungle/forest. We took the wonder package and it was probably the best massage I have been to in Thailand! I also suggest to try the milk bath :)

I would like to thank all the staff for taking such good care of us! I also suggest to book directly, we got a great deal and a few discounts :).

Definitely coming back as soon (hopefully)!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zitacsurgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masha S, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Zitacsurgo,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

A big warm thank you from all of us here at Ayara! It is very rewarding to receive such a wonderful review of this nature.

Our staff in the Ratana Spa have expressed great appreciation for your compliments to them and their service. We are also pleased to know that you have enjoyed the views and especially the bathtubs in the room!

Hope all is well back in your respected environment and looking forward to welcoming you and your friend back here in the future.

Warmest regards,

Sebastian & Masha
Operations Managers
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The description of this resort and spa is accurate. It is small (42 rooms), the staff is gracious and well trained, the rooms are very spacious with ample amenities, and it is terraced on a hill so there are abundant incredible views.

The spa is lovely and the massages are very good quality. I had a massage yesterday and the room had floor to ceiling windows on two sides looking out on the jungle.

Meals outdoors next to the pool over looking the ocean are a treat. As well as the service.

I was looking for a more traditionally Thai place than the other huge western branded resorts here and I found it. The architecture is all based on Thai design and craftsmanship. It seems idyllic to me.

One note to be aware of is that the their private beach is at the bottom of a long hill with many steps. They had put in a lift to take you part of the way. Also the beach is pretty rocky. I loved lying in the shade of the coconut trees listening to the sea lap against the rocks, but it isn't really a swimming beach. However, they do provide frequent shuttles to the nearby Kamala Beach which is very convenient.

If you are looking for a quiet place to get away from it all with good service good food and great views, then this is the place. And pamper yourself with daily massages!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and have incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masha S, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Greg C,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

What a privilege to receive such an outstanding review from you. Thank you for taking the time to provide such a genuine and detailed description of our family operation. All of your comments have been really appreciated and it was such a pleasure to share them with our team.

We are glad to have been a part of making your holiday in Phuket a memorable one and look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future!

Hope all is well back in your respected environment and wish you good luck with your future business prospects. Susu! (Thai for Jia You! - Chinese for 'add oil' or 'give it all'!)

Warmest regards,

Sebastian & Masha
Operations Managers
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I had the great pleasure of spending a beautiful afternoon at the Ayara Kamala 'Ratana Spa' and to my delight, I was not disappointed in the least.

Being fortune enough to have experienced and travelled through many fine hotels and their spas throughout Asia, It was very refreshing to find a simple yet professional service offered by their team. It was an experience that came without the pretentiousness of the luxury chain hotels found worldwide and I felt truly relaxed.

The services offered include a multitude spa packages at very reasonable prices and they are very capable of offering up something more tailored to individual needs as I requested myself. In my case, it was a 2 hour massage & facial and 1 hour combined milk and foot bath.

Thanks to the great hospitality offered by the Ayara Kamala team I have finally mustered up enough courage write my first review on here and definitely wont be the least, especially like those so deserving!

I highly recommend this resort for those truly trying to escape the daily grinds. I'm looking forward to my next trip to Phuket where this will be resort of choice exclusively.

Dan

Room Tip: The pool access rooms seemed to offer the most value for money, although there is wide variety of ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masha S, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Dan,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for slipping into our Ratana Spa during your holiday here in Phuket!

We are absolutely grateful to receive this review and your comments have been forwarded on with the utmost delight to our spa team. We try our best to be individually user-friendly and really appreciate that you felt well looked after with personalized service.

Thank you also for the recommendations and hopefully we can welcome you back here again, perhaps for a longer stay!

Warmest regards from all of us here,

Sebastian & Masha
Operations Managers
Ayara kamala Resort & spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Wow! Just book this place! What a hotel. I am occasionally a self confessed hotel snob having travelled on company credit for a few years. This hotel and team take service and make it a true priority, and it's genuine too. This is not a hotel to be compared to the likes of The Four Seasons, Mandarin oriental, Hilton's and other 5 star hotels. I actually think it's better. It's personal and genuine.
Sebastian is the Operations Manager takes pride in his resort. He is there just when you need him, never too much and never too little. This is a skill! A clear passion, this is plain to see in his through answers about local knowledge etc. His team are wonderful, helpful, attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Being a fan of a cocktails we ordered a cocktail before going out on the free shuttle service, they took a while to make so the team popped them into a take away glass so we could do both. We didn't ask, this additional thought comes naturally to this resort. After breaking an iPad the team were great in helping finding a place to get it repaired and showed genuine concern.

Rooms - we stayed in a standard room. Spacious, gloriously decorated on arrival, great air con, huge shower, bath, washing area nicely separated from the bedroom. Nice balcony, big leather sofa and plenty of room to hide cases away and hand clothes. The other rooms / villas etc look devine.

Pool - initially I thought the pool was on the small side BUT! I have been here for the past 5 days and I have been the only one in with a maybe one or two other couples around. A true peaceful hideaway. A lot of rooms have own / shared pools so the main infinity pool over looking the beach is like my own private one ;)

Breakfast - everything from toast, pastries, cereals, fruits, salads, ham, cheese,bacon, Thai savoury, Chinese savoury, fresh juices, teas, coffee and eggs to order. What more do you need?!

Cocktails - amazing. I have tried a large selection! (Like Facebook for some great offers when you get here! Did I mention you should book this hotel yet?!)

Location - it is on a hill yes, but what views you get. Beautiful! Plus the buggies around the resort will help you get around. Local town is 5 mins away and the hotel has set times you can go or they will take you anytime for a small fee. Please tip the drivers as they are very friendly too.

Cooking class - give it a go. You choose 4 meals from a choice. The chef comes out and cooks personally with you. You can even arrange to go to the markets too.

Spa - peaceful and great massages with lovely people.

Overall, I can not rate this hotel any better. Don't come here expecting huge marble lobbies and ice sculptures in the reception rooms but do expect true service, beautiful rooms, wonderful food, amazing cocktails and lots of smiles from the team.

If in doubt, book here, I know I will on returning to Phuket!

Thank you all at the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UkTrueLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masha S, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear UkTrueLove,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa!

We may have to start this reply in the same way....Wow!

What a wonderful and rewarding review! This has really been a huge and fantastic start to our year, thank you greatly from all of us here! It is very inspiring to know that your stay with us has compelled you to take the time to share the experience with the online community in such a overwhelmingly positive way.

Your comments about our tangible and intangible aspects truly add value to our organization and have really boosted our confidence yet also kept us motivated to continue in our goals to provide a unique and authentic Phuket hotel.

It really was a pleasure to accommodate you both and we are glad you loved the cocktails and the cooking class!

We definitely welcome you back to our ever improving little piece of Kamala Paradise anytime!

We hope you had a good New Years (albeit on the plane...free cocktails?) and things have started well for 2014! We wish you all the best and again, a big THANK YOU!

Warmest regards from all of us here,

Your Kamalians,

Sebastian & Masha
Operations Managers
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I have been staying at many wonderful hotels across the cities in America, Canada, Australia and Singapore but nothing comes close to the service my friends and I received at the Ayara Kamala Resort. From the very moment we arrived, we were greeted with the legendary smiles of Ms. Suttharpat and the Thai team. We were taken to a tour to choose one of the rooms which have breath-taking ocean views (It is unthinkable in any hotels or resorts I have stayed at to have this privilege). Throughout our stay, we were well taken care of with the impeccable Australian manager and his team which are mostly trained to be up to the Swiss standards. We had a chance of a lifetime to visit the $5-million-dollar, 6-bedroom residence the Resort is putting on the market. Our 700 sqft room has an unrivaled ocean view and a comfortable bed that guarantee the best dream possible, a jet massage bath tub and a million dollar ocean view where the sky turns blue to pink and purple at every 6.45 PM. We were kept busy at this beautiful paradise with the private beach, an infinity pool (think Marina Bay Sands Singapore infinity pool with less than 5 people in it) and a 3.5 hour milk bath massage that costs less than USD$100. For ladies who are going to visit, make sure you bring your best resorts collection because the Prince of the Kingdom has his 10 bedroom penthouse residence at the top of the hill. You want to dress for the occasion in case he pops by... What a heavenly resort! Ayara Kamala knows LUXURY! (If you want want to verify my review of need some tips for best restaurants and where to take that picture perfect sunset in Phuket, you can email me at tienle1113@hotmail.com. Thanks).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLMT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masha S, Manager at Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear JLMT2013,

Greetings from Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa and thank you for your very rewarding and detailed review.

It is very satisfying and motivating to receive a review like this and your comments have been passed on to the rest of the team with pleasure. Ms. Suphattra is especially delighted to have received a special mention.

We are also very happy to know that you really enjoyed our physical aspects and that combining our facilities, views, services and amenities, we have created a lasting memory and a valuable experience.

Again thank you from all of us here for taking the time out to write a review that has been extremely well received and added value to our operation and the industry.

We hope that all is well back in your respected environment and that you have had good celebration and positive starts to the year 2014. We welcome you and your friends back anytime as it truly was a pleasure to accommodate you all.

Best regards,

Sebastian & Masha
Operations Managers
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa

P.S. Thank you for the pictures too! Great Snaps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.8 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
584 reviews
14.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
8.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
6.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa

Property: Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Address: 22 Moo 6, Layi-Nakalay Rd, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#9 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep, eat, indulge, explore and rejuvenate at our homely resort in our naturally private setting, along millionaire’s mile located south west of the treasured island of Phuket. Through using the traditional and authentic craftsmanship of Khun V, this wonderful promontory paradise has been converted into a magnificent hotel consisting of 42 rooms and villas sprawling the hillside down to the private rustic beach. His Swiss educated daughter, Masha, blends her Thai service foundations with some of the Swiss touches she picked up studying abroad to deliver a unique and harmonious style service culture. All the rooms and villas are designed with the concept of ‘Ayara’, corresponding with the nature of ‘elephants’ that are gentle and kind and of course, need their space to rest. They are decorated contemporarily and traditionally, from stylish black tiles to luxuriously marbled bathroom floors, to wooden and earthly tones. Our restaurant maintains quality local ingredients with delightful homemade recipes as well as including a few of the normal favorites from around Thailand and the rest of the world. We’ve got the gym, the spa and a private rustic beach, everything you need to feel comfortable. So, whether young and fresh or mature and experienced, Ayara Kamala provides you with our local founded atmosphere whilst our international touches amaze and surprise combining on a personal level a unique harmony, nowhere else found.Our noble ‘Kamalians’ strive to make sure you obtain that unique warmth in this promontory paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayara Kamala Hotel Kamala
Ayara Kamala Resort And Spa
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing