We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”
Review of Coconut Garden

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kamala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coconut Garden
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed in the 2 bedroom house/bungalow for 5 days. The rooms are very clean and the AC worked as did everything else in the accommodation. Great location and a stones throw from the beach. What makes the difference here is the team - from Khent the Owner to an absolute gem of a bartender in Meliwan - all were fantastic. No pool but did not seem to be an issue and the restaurant has good food. Will recommend to anyone who is looking for relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FnB_Marriott_Marquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Coconut Garden enjoys a superb location right on the beachfront of the beautiful Kamala Beach. Accommodation includes a 3 bedroom house with kitchen, a 2 bedroom house (kitchenette) and half a dozen stand alone bungalows (studio/hotel style rooms). Tiled floors, on-demand hot water air con and fans made it comfortable. Airconditioning was efficient and was quickly attended to when one unit malfunctioned. The bungalows have a lovely terrace area with seating and a couple of sunloungers on the 3 bedroom terrace. Owner operated by Kenth with his lovely staff including cocktail mixer extraordinaire Maliwan, we were very much at home here for 2 weeks over the New Year. The onsite convenience shop was very cheap - Cornetto ice creams only 15bht and cold beers only 30bht. There is a daily happy hour (or two) at the cocktail bar which overlooks the path along the beachfront, many restaurants serving the usual range of Thai dishes and plenty of shops, bars, massage and beauty services, fish spas etc in the immediate vicinity. Beach chairs along the beachfront of Coconut Garden are operated by someone not associated to Coconut Garden and unfortunatey he does not clean up that area each day so I would recommend moving along 50 metres either directions if you want a day on a beach chair.
Only one complaint - the 3 bedroom bungalow sits at the back of the property where the street passes directly alongside. This can be a bit noisy with late night traffic and people walking by although it is not 'busy' it can disturb your sleep.
Would I stay again? YES.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JindySuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed in the 3 bedroom house for 2 weeks. It worked out really well as a 2 family group, economical, clean - a fantastic beachfront location with a great bar,shop and restaurant on site.
Yes you could stay in a hotel with a pool but when you have a stunning beach.with warm seas why bother. The team who run Coconut Garden are lovely. Kenth and Malewan....thanks so much.
Nic

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Bungalows situated around a sandy yard. Our bungalow was well equipped and just meters from the ocean. The yard was kind of boring but we spent all our time on the beach.

The hotel restaurant was great and the staff at the place are very friendly and helpful. Along the beach you find several more restaurants and it's just a short walk to some stores.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Junee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

A greeting hug from the part owner Kenth set the tone for this stay,we felt very welcome straight away which was a bonus seeing it was my partner and her daughters first time in a Asian country,the bungalows were basic but never made out to be more than they are,A/c worked great,safe in rooms,right on the beach staff are very helpful. Daughter burnt her leg first day and one of the staff dressed it everyday for her,massage, hair salon,laundry all part of the hotel at great prices,and a bar that is well managed by staff Malliwon who is the biggest asset to Coconut Garden she was awesome, arranged trips and driver for us all with a smile on her face and all on her mobile phone.totally recommend this hotel value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duren, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2008

The Resort included 6 Bungalow´s with double beds, refrigarator, TV, AC and a bath with hot water. It lays directly at the beach and every bungalow has sea view and a terrasse with two chairs and a table to sit outside in the evening to watch the sundown. All bungalows are new and absolut clean. The swedisch owner is a very nice and friendly guy and the small restaurant is one of the best at this part of kamala. at the bar you can sit around and the music is always NOT LOUD, so you can choose all bungalows without frightness to hear any noise. The bungalows are suituated at the BEST part of Kamala Beach. I will ever come back.

To the center of Kamala it is a walk around 8 Minutes, but we stay all 14 days at the beach with their nice and beautyfull small bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamoanro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.1 mi away
Baan Chaba Bungalows
Baan Chaba Bungalows
#36 of 36 in Kamala
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baan Natacha Beachfront Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Kamala Beach Estate
Kamala Beach Estate
#21 of 36 in Kamala
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Garden

Property: Coconut Garden
Address: 95/8 M.3 Kamala Beach | Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here you have six bungalow directly on the beach with a shower & WC, a double bed, a sofa bed(190cm x 110cm), TV, DVD, refrigerator, electric kettle, safe deposit box, fan, a/c and a terrace with furniture.The biggest house have three bedrooms with double bed, fan and a/c. In the middle of the house there is a kitchen with gas- and electric-stowe, refrigerator, microwave owen and electric kettle and also a living room with TV and DVD. Safe deposit box is avaliable in the house. A spacious shower & WC and a massive terrass with furniture at the front of the house.The house with two bedrooms, one with double bed and one with two seperate beds, with a/c. In the middle of the house there is a living room with refrigerator, micro wave, TV, DVD and a/c etc. Two shower & WC and a terrass at the front of the house.You can partially view the ocean from all the bungalows and houses.Only the beach separates the ocean from your living! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Garden Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing