We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spendid experience away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The staff are very courteous,polite and go out of the way to make you happy.When my wife and me came back from patong beach with things afterb shopping the front desk luggage guys came to help us carry the things we bought to our rooms.They did not even ask for tips.But we recognised the help and gave a token on our last day stay at this beautifull hotel resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
1  Thank Arul1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest, It is truly a great pleasure reading your warm comments and we are more than happy to share this motivating feedback with our team members, but especially with our Bellboy team at the Front Desk for going the extra mile. Please rest assured that we will be keep on working hard to even further improve our Services and product and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket hopefully soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Excellent apartments with services to match. Especially great for families with the kids club. Beautiful resort and breakfast. Have stayed twice and never disappointed. Only thing that stop me from going is the recent escalation of price.

Room Tip: For elderly people, get downstairs rooms as no lift and steep stairs. Get downstairs room close eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jgsa123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave such a warm comment about your two stays at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. Regarding the price escalation that you mentioned, we would like to explain that due to the start of High Season in November with increased demand our rates have of course been adjusted accordingly. Nonetheless we believe that we are still offering a very attractive price value when comparing to other similar properties in Phuket. On the other hand our rates will then be lower again after high season, where you can get very good deals. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back again at Swissotel Resort Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I believe one of their managers on duty was trying very hard to please. But the resort is a very plain one (perhpas good for family with small kids as suggested by the rating from other travelers), cul-de-sac in a small alley which is on the other side of the main road that separates it from the Kamala beach itself. You can get to the beach by walking (underneath through a small bridge) in about 3 mins. So it can still be considered as 'beside' the beach.

Rooms are plain with clear signs of over-use and run-down (e.g. torn window curtains). Loud air-con and humming noise from outside in early morning clearly heard in suites such as 1x18. Breakfast is mediocre enough as well.

To be fair, this Swissotel probably is for those who seek tranquility and Phuket repeaters who are decidedly trying to get as far as possible from the madding crowd in Patong or Kata areas. Otherwise, you probably will end up having very limited choice for dining and night life around the resort vicinity.

There is a taxi dispatch stand (under a tree...) serving this resort wth prices to different locations clearly marked. Drivers are basically friendly and honest. One-way taxi ride to Patong charges 400 Bhat, 800 Bhat to airport as well as to Phuket town. This shall give you a sense of its location and distance from the main hustle-bustles.

Swimming pool and gym are nice. There is a kid center too - so, little children might like it.

Room Tip: Maybe for Phuket for veterans and those focusing on more private beach experience. Perhaps for kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredosophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for having taken the time to write a review about your stay at the Swissotel Resort Phuket. Although we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, we appreciate your comments. We indeed could be considered more like a resort for families and those guests looking for more quiet places as per your observation. Nonetheless we strongly feel that our location still is in a very reasonable distance to the major attractions in Phuket and for example Fantasea is just next door. Regarding our breakfast, we conveyed your comments to the kitchen department and can insure you that we try our best to provide the best possible quality and variety, which is definitely more than competitive in this area. We still retain the hope of welcoming you back again at the Swissotel Resort Phuket and remain with best regards..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

From an avid traveller to many country's hotels, this one performed very poorly.
The smell in our room was never rectified during our 8 night stay. The price for breakfast is ridiculous to what is offered. Drink prices are suitable for a 5 star resort. Apart from 1 or 2 employees the rest had no interest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Mr. Chris R., thank you for your feedback and we are truly sorry that we have not been able to meet your expectations. It is always very sad for us when we receive comments like yours and please accept our apologies for your disappointing experience, which does not reflect our standards at all. Although we normally receive very positive feedback about our team members as well as about our breakfast, we are sorry about your dissatisfaction, as we always try to meet all our guests' expectations. We remain with best regards from Phuket and hope that you still had some positive memories to take back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I am Swissotel member at Zenit level.
Overall - I was expecting more from the hotel which has 2013 hotel award.
People say it close to beach? Yes, probably 7-10 minutes walk is close enough but if you consider that you have to walk there via the road with no side walks... then you should take underpass under the main road (which is great becasue it would be a challange to cross the road with kids) but which has not quite attractive condition..
Rooms in hotel are good and look quite new. BUT that smell, it was a challange to enter the restroom in the morning.. When asked to change the room stuff said that every room has this problem. You can get rid of smell only during the day turning both aircons on.

There are quite a lot of entertaiment in the hotel, should be, at least the board in some corner lists a lot of them, but no advertisement! So the fact is that no enterteiment at all, at least you can't feel it.
We are not young familly which wants to dance, drink, dance, etc. We were there with a child. But it was realy Boring.

Service in the hotel is very friendly but:
- very poore english
- messing the orders in restaurant each and every day (are we the only lucky persons?)
- wont do anything unless you ask

BTW, special note is an ventilation sound. It's really loud in the night! the feeling is like something continuously leaking, cracking, and like drops of water knokich over steel roof.
Giving it 4 only because they heve all facilities to make it better and make the stay there more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
1  Thank Serghei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Mr. Sergei S., thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to learn that there have been quite a few areas where we could not meet your expectations. In regards to the bad smell in your bathroom we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused, as it seems that there has been an issue during your stay with the septic tank and our Engineering team is working on it to avoid this happening again. We do also feel sorry that you felt bored in regards to our entertainment and activities offered. Unfortunately we don't know what you would have expected, but we feel that we do already offer a wide range of activities for adults and children that change on a daily basis and we will make sure to improve the announcement of these activities. Please rest assured that we will keep on working to train our team members in order to enhance our guests service experience and we are also continuously maintaining our A/C system to reduce its noise level. Once again thank you for all your constructive comments and we hope to welcome you back here soon again. Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I feel kind of bad leaving a bad review but the reality is this: No matter how nice the staff is, you cannot ignore the negatives, which I list here:

1.if there is a room above you, you will hear every foot step, every time they drop something on the floor, you will hear every time the move the furniture etc...

2. The grounds keeper starts sweeping the grounds around 7:00 to 7:30 a.m. and they use this stiff bamboo type of sweeper where you can hear it quite loud outside the room window

3. The cleaning staff is constantly screaming to each other outside the room door so if you're trying to sleep in........you won't.

4. We paid around $140 dollars a night and they didn't provide body lotion.....I mean, hello, we go there and sit out in the sun, please give your guests some body lotion. I think this is the only hotel I've stayed out on Phuket that doesn't give you a little body lotion.

5. I requested for my room to get cleaned, it wasn't, so when I returned from a night out at 2:00 a.m., I had to request for new towels and amenities.....and they still didn't clean the room. But we can just mark that off as a honest mistake. :)

The reason I'll never return is simply this: When you stay at a hotel, you're biggest need is to get a peaceful night of sleep but I don't believe I will ever get that at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Khun Robert B, Thank you very much for your time to review your stay at the Swissotel Resort Phuket on Tripadvisor and for sharing such a detailed feedback. It is with regret that we learn that we have not been able to meet your expectations. First of all we are really sorry for your inconvenience with the noise from the room above. Normally we don't really have issues with this as our rooms feature a normal isolation and we also installed additional noise suppressors under the furniture. Unfortunately you did not complain about this during your stay, as our team would have been pleased to arrange a different room for you that is more quite and suits your needs. Secondly we are surprised that you were also disturbed by the sound of the floor sweeping. Although we feel that this "noise" is very low, we have discussed with our ground keepers to adjust their schedule in order to avoid such issues in the future.
Thirdly we do apologize for your disturbance by the communication amongst our Housekeeping maids and although we feel that they are not "constantly screaming" we have brought this to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper and the team. Furthermore we do understand your complaint in regards to the body lotion and would like to highlight that Body lotion is always available upon request. Finally, we feel very sorry for the lack of communication in regards to your room cleaning and we have shared this particular case with the team to avoid such situations. Last but not least we feel truly sorry for not providing you with the product and environment for a peaceful night of sleep and please rest assured that this does not reflect our standards at all. Please accept our apologies for failing to provide you with the service for which we are usually renowned for. With best regards from Thailand, your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We get used with Swissotel le Concord in Bangkok and when I reserved Swissotel Phuket I expected to have the same facility but the room is old, some get very bad smelly. Anyway, great staff, very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Julien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Khun Julien M, Thank you very much for your review about your stay at the Swissotel Resort Phuket on Tripadvisor. We feel truly sorry that you were disappointed by our facility compared to the Swissotel Le Concorde and although we aim to provide the same standard, we would like to highlight that Le Concorde is a 5 Star property and our Resort in Phuket “only” has 4 Stars. Nonetheless the management team and our entire team always strives to provide the best possible Service Quality and to not only meet our guests' expectations, but to exceed them. Regarding the smell in your room we have addressed the issue with our respective colleagues for improvements. We really hope to welcome you back again at the Swissotel Resort Phuket after our upcoming refurbishment so you can enjoy a better experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
3 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#61 of 391 in Kathu
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
2 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: £43 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Travelbag, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing