We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my friends for my 21st birthday, we stayed 9 nights and it was fantastic, the hotel picked us up from the airport and we were welcomed with a drink and a cool towel as we checked in. The room was big and very clean, staff very friendly, one of my friends became unwell and the resort organized a doctor to come to our room, with no extra charge.
The pool area and slide were so much fun, beautiful gardens and pretty flowers to look at as you walk around the resort.
Happy hour at the pool bar is a must have, yummy cocktails and a good cheap price.

I would stay here again in a heart beat loved every minute of it, thanks a lot swissotel resort for some wonderful memories.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Stephanie B., We are absolutely thrilled to read your very warm comments and your positive feedback. It is always a real pleasure to read that our guests had a truly fantastic time with us and are grateful for you to choose our wonderful Resort for your stay. We did communicate your positive comments to all our colleagues and they feel very happy having been able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one. On behalf of the entire team I hope that we can welcome you back again over for your 22nd Birthday and wish you a wonderful year ahead. We look forward to greeting you again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket hopefully very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    411
    152
    45
    21
See reviews for
670
199
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

The Room is very big and spacious. Living Room is very dark in my opinion though. The toilet is miserably small making it kinda uncomfortable, they could have use more space from living room to enlarge the toilet.
The Kids Adventure Room is quite fun tough. There are quite alot of activities daily keeping kids occupied. However, the staff in the kids room look quite stern, not as smiley and friendly compare to staff at cafe, housekeeping, concierge. Location is quite inconvenient to Town. But the lovely beach is a stone throw away. It's quieter and not crowded and messy like Patong. Well...I guess you can't have the best of all world. For the price you are paying I think it's quite ok. As I was travelling with 3 adults & 2 kids, the 2 Bedrooms are good enough.
They are doing some upgrading like changing the sofas seats when I arrived. Defintely brighten the place up. I suppose they maybe doing upgrading bit by bit.
Stayed in Hilton Arcadia for 4 days before coming to Swissotel, Hence, I could make a comparison on location, rooms and all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Geraldine G., Thank you very much for the time you took to share your feedback and for choosing the Swissôtel Resort Phuket for your stay! Guest comments are one of the most important tools helping us to continuously improve our product and services. We are currently planning some refurbishment and touch up work in our rooms and will take your comments into consideration. The Kids World is always supposed to be a paradise for our small guests and we try to offer a variety of activities to keep them happy and busy during their stay. We still feel very sorry for your feeling that our staff was not enough engaged with the kids during your time at the Kids World and this does not reflect our usual standards at all. Although we mostly get very positive feedback about our Kids World Team, we have addressed this issue with the team and will make sure we can keep our service level more consistent. In regards to the location it is as you say, hard to get both worlds, Patong and its overcrowded environment and the quietness and beauty of Kamala Beach. Therefore it is up to our guests to decide what they prefer and are looking for, but we try to offer a good choice with our complimentary shuttle service to Patong twice a day so our guests still have the opportunity to enjoy partly both worlds.
We really hope to be able to welcome you back again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket and remain with sunny regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mali Losinj, Croatia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hotel is good, Good quiet position. Internet wi-fi works. To expensive spa, drink and food a la carte. Advice: After breakfast, jump to the pool, and get lost from hotel until night :))). In neighbourhood is cheap good massage, fresh fruits, minimarket and few good restaurants. Beach is only few minutes walking far from hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Željko J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Zeljko J., Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. We are sorry that our price range didn’t match your expectation. However, being part of a well known international hotel chain, we do have some strict standards of quality, hygiene, etc., so we cannot be compared in any way to the local neighborhood businesses, who definitely do not have the same standard of food, beverage and SPA quality, quallity of service / therapist and most of all respecting international Hygiene standards. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I'm writing while I'm still staying in the resort. Had check-in for 3night on the 14th at about 8+pm.

Was told that there isn't any 2bdrm suite for us as it was all packed though we had booked the suite 1 month in advance. Upgraded us to a 3bdrm suite, was located at the extreme end of the block at level 3 with no view, the room smell musky and look deserted for a long time, feeling eerie too as we are only 2adults + 2children. Immediately requested for a change to a 1bdrm suite for the night to sleep in temporary(sigh). After a check with the reception, all of a sudden they manage to get me a 2bdrm suite with pool view in the middle of the block but was at 4th level which I wouldn't mind.(don't treat Asian tourist differently - utterly disappointed)

The Resort do provide free shuttle bus service to Patong Beach Jungceylon shopping mall(plus point), but you will be very disappoint if you are booking it 1 night in advance, you probably won't get the 10am(to) and 6pm(back) timing. Even when I booked 2 days in advance, I only managed to get the 10am slot to Patong town and had to pay 400baht coming back to the resort. The Resort SHOULD NOT restrict or limits the amount of shuttle bus slots for the guest wanting to go to the town, it should be crater base on the amount of guests that had booked. Not forgetting the resort is far away from the town, why set a cap on the ferry service???

When the resort is short of in one area, I believe it can always be make up with in another area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LaRRy0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Larry0007, First of all we would like to thank you for the time taken to share your review about your stay at our Resort. Secondly we would like to sincerely apologize about the unfortunate succession of events and miscommunication during your stay. Please be assured that this does not represent the quality of service that we normally deliver and we fully understand your frustration and disapointment. Respective actions and follow up with the concerned departments have been taken in order to make sure that it does not happen again in the future. Regarding the complimentary Shuttle Bus service to Patong, we do understand that it would be nice to have this more frequent, but we believe that 2 Complimentary Round trips a day normally satisfy the needs of most of our guests. We would also like to kindly inform you, that by far not all resorts are offering this free service. We would be thrilled to welcome you back again and prove to you that we can do better at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Swissotel is more like a top end 3 star than a 4 star. The hotel is a bit tired overall, and there are no lifts in the resort. Saying that, the walk up to the top floor fourth floor is doable, as the stairs are not so steep.
The breakfast spread is nothing special, pretty small, but sufficient.
The pool is great for kids though, with a fun twisty waterslide, balls, and basketball hoops.
Lots of Russians at this resort.
Our 2br suite was large, but the sole bathroom and WC was squashy, with barely enough space for the shower door to clear the WC. No hotel conditioner or body lotion here, simply shampoo, soap and body wash. The ceilings were also peeling in some places.
This hotel is alright for the price and star rating.
The beach is terrible, and a good 10 min walk across to the other side, through a path that goes under the road. The beach is full of stores selling food and massages, and filled with lots of large caucasians sunning themselves until lobster red.
There is a row of little convenience stores right outside the hotel - money changer, minimart, untested restaurants, beachwear shop, tailor, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Leongis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Leongis, We feel extremely sorry and concerned to read that we couldn’t meet your expectations. Let us try to address them one by one. About the resort product itself, although we try to maintain it to its best, we are currently working on some room refurbishment projects that should improve the points raised. Due to the construction configuration of our buildings, there is no elevators in our hotel, but this being said, we have only 4 floors and of course we try our best to accommodate all our guests according to their preferences and their convenience. Concerning the breakfast, we also try our best to bring as much diversity as possible and according to our competition studies and our regular guest feedback we can say that we actually offer a good variety, but we are sorry if we couldn’t meet your expectations and we will keep on working on improving its spread and quality. The pool is indeed a paradise for small ones as well as the grown-ups. We do also feel sorry for the condition of your ceiling and have already taken care of it. Last but not least we feel very sorry how you felt about Kamala Beach and we are not sure of what you were expecting, as compared to most other beaches in Phuket, Kamala is not that crowded and packed and our Beach Hut "The SAND BOX" does offer a great ambiance in a relaxing environment. Once again our sincere apologies for your negative experience and please rest assured that this does not reflect our standards at all. We remain with sunny regards from Thailand. Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

The staff are very courteous,polite and go out of the way to make you happy.When my wife and me came back from patong beach with things afterb shopping the front desk luggage guys came to help us carry the things we bought to our rooms.They did not even ask for tips.But we recognised the help and gave a token on our last day stay at this beautifull hotel resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Arul1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest, It is truly a great pleasure reading your warm comments and we are more than happy to share this motivating feedback with our team members, but especially with our Bellboy team at the Front Desk for going the extra mile. Please rest assured that we will be keep on working hard to even further improve our Services and product and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Excellent apartments with services to match. Especially great for families with the kids club. Beautiful resort and breakfast. Have stayed twice and never disappointed. Only thing that stop me from going is the recent escalation of price.

Room Tip: For elderly people, get downstairs rooms as no lift and steep stairs. Get downstairs room close eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgsa123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave such a warm comment about your two stays at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. Regarding the price escalation that you mentioned, we would like to explain that due to the start of High Season in November with increased demand our rates have of course been adjusted accordingly. Nonetheless we believe that we are still offering a very attractive price value when comparing to other similar properties in Phuket. On the other hand our rates will then be lower again after high season, where you can get very good deals. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back again at Swissotel Resort Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
0.6 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
7.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing