We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Christmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing Christmas break”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Swissotel for 10 days over Christmas. First impressions were good, hotel arranged pick up from the airport worked well. Check in was efficient. Two bedroom suite was spacious, as others have commented the bathroom is very small...this didn't really bother us at all. The room was spotless and kept this way throughout our stay by the housekeeping staff. I found the bed hard but this was easily remedied by a mattress topper. Room did seem a little tired, I did notice when we were there that the furniture in the reception area was replaced and wondered whether this was the beginning of a refurb? We did spend some time by the pool which was good but with the beautiful beach just 5 mins away we spent most of our time there. Breakfast was ok but most of the time we went down to beach to eat. Tuk tuks and taxis are available right outside and will take you into Kamala town for 200 baht. Lots of places to eat on the beach and we ate better there than in Kamala town itself.

I am fairly picky about where I stay and there really was nothing for me to be picky about!

Good choice in a great position.

Room Tip: Pick room above ground level to avoid people using your patio as a walk through
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suffgardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your very objective and warm comment. There is not much to add to what you wrote. Mattresses around Asia are generally pretty hard, which is why we propose toppers for a softer sleeping experience. Regarding our refurbishment of the Lobby furniture, you are right that this was a first step of our Refurbishment project which will address the guest rooms as well. We hope you liked the new look of our Lobby. Kamala Beach indeed is a lovely area and we hope that you can spend more time in our cool Beach Hut "The SAND BOX" for a few refreshing drinks upon your next visit. We hope to see you soon again and send you sunny regards from Kamala. Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    433
    164
    49
    23
See reviews for
708
207
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel, not big, not luxuary, but basic stuff satisfied basic needs for a tropical resort.
it's about 30 mins driving distance from phuket airport, at kamala beach, very close to the Phuket Fantasea park. only 1KM, 200BHT single way by a taxi or tuk-tuk.
Hotel has a nice swimming pool, but kind of small considering its room amount.
It would be better to stay on the ground floor, room facing the swimming. hotel doesn't have elevator.
I stayed in a 2 bed room suite, unfortunately it only has 1 bathroom which is very unthoughtful. And the hotel doesn't have private beach. you have to walk outside about 500M to the public beach.
Right outside of hotel, there is a small street that offers massage shop, small super market,restaurant and souvenior store. I like that.
Breakfast is nice, bread is good!staff is friendly and helpful.
I stayed for 2 night, I would say overall it's ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mengbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Mengbei, We feel happy to read that our team members friendliness and our resort mostly met your expectations. Our Lagoon style Swimming Pool is about 70 meters long and normally fully satisfies the needs of our guests. We feel sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. Regarding the private beach, it is true that our Hotel is not located directly "on” the beach, but we are offering our Beach Hut, "The SAND BOX", which is about 10 minutes walking distance from the Resort. Please do note that many other hotels do not have their own beach even when located directly at Beach Front because these businesses are being operated by the locals. Therefore there are only a very few resorts on the Island of Phuket that propose real private beaches. We would be very happy to present you The SAND BOX during your next stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket and therefore hope to welcome you back very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights and really enjoyed the experience at this beautiful resort. All the staff especially Pancake at reception and porter S were the gems of this resort. Our daughters truly loved this resort and are asking us to take them back there for our next holidays.
Naqvi Family from Sydney, Australia.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Saif N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Saif N., Your warm comments about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket are going straight to our heart - thank you very much. Our ultimate goal is always to provide our guests with a memorable experience and we feel really happy having achieved this for you and your family. Khun Pancake and Khun S have received your compliments and give their best wishes back to you by saying thank you. We would be more happy to welcome you back soon again, it would be our pleasure! Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my friends for my 21st birthday, we stayed 9 nights and it was fantastic, the hotel picked us up from the airport and we were welcomed with a drink and a cool towel as we checked in. The room was big and very clean, staff very friendly, one of my friends became unwell and the resort organized a doctor to come to our room, with no extra charge.
The pool area and slide were so much fun, beautiful gardens and pretty flowers to look at as you walk around the resort.
Happy hour at the pool bar is a must have, yummy cocktails and a good cheap price.

I would stay here again in a heart beat loved every minute of it, thanks a lot swissotel resort for some wonderful memories.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Stephanie B., We are absolutely thrilled to read your very warm comments and your positive feedback. It is always a real pleasure to read that our guests had a truly fantastic time with us and are grateful for you to choose our wonderful Resort for your stay. We did communicate your positive comments to all our colleagues and they feel very happy having been able to exceed your expectations and make your stay a memorable one. On behalf of the entire team I hope that we can welcome you back again over for your 22nd Birthday and wish you a wonderful year ahead. We look forward to greeting you again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket hopefully very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The Room is very big and spacious. Living Room is very dark in my opinion though. The toilet is miserably small making it kinda uncomfortable, they could have use more space from living room to enlarge the toilet.
The Kids Adventure Room is quite fun tough. There are quite alot of activities daily keeping kids occupied. However, the staff in the kids room look quite stern, not as smiley and friendly compare to staff at cafe, housekeeping, concierge. Location is quite inconvenient to Town. But the lovely beach is a stone throw away. It's quieter and not crowded and messy like Patong. Well...I guess you can't have the best of all world. For the price you are paying I think it's quite ok. As I was travelling with 3 adults & 2 kids, the 2 Bedrooms are good enough.
They are doing some upgrading like changing the sofas seats when I arrived. Defintely brighten the place up. I suppose they maybe doing upgrading bit by bit.
Stayed in Hilton Arcadia for 4 days before coming to Swissotel, Hence, I could make a comparison on location, rooms and all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Geraldine G., Thank you very much for the time you took to share your feedback and for choosing the Swissôtel Resort Phuket for your stay! Guest comments are one of the most important tools helping us to continuously improve our product and services. We are currently planning some refurbishment and touch up work in our rooms and will take your comments into consideration. The Kids World is always supposed to be a paradise for our small guests and we try to offer a variety of activities to keep them happy and busy during their stay. We still feel very sorry for your feeling that our staff was not enough engaged with the kids during your time at the Kids World and this does not reflect our usual standards at all. Although we mostly get very positive feedback about our Kids World Team, we have addressed this issue with the team and will make sure we can keep our service level more consistent. In regards to the location it is as you say, hard to get both worlds, Patong and its overcrowded environment and the quietness and beauty of Kamala Beach. Therefore it is up to our guests to decide what they prefer and are looking for, but we try to offer a good choice with our complimentary shuttle service to Patong twice a day so our guests still have the opportunity to enjoy partly both worlds.
We really hope to be able to welcome you back again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket and remain with sunny regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mali Losinj, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Hotel is good, Good quiet position. Internet wi-fi works. To expensive spa, drink and food a la carte. Advice: After breakfast, jump to the pool, and get lost from hotel until night :))). In neighbourhood is cheap good massage, fresh fruits, minimarket and few good restaurants. Beach is only few minutes walking far from hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Željko J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Zeljko J., Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. We are sorry that our price range didn’t match your expectation. However, being part of a well known international hotel chain, we do have some strict standards of quality, hygiene, etc., so we cannot be compared in any way to the local neighborhood businesses, who definitely do not have the same standard of food, beverage and SPA quality, quallity of service / therapist and most of all respecting international Hygiene standards. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I'm writing while I'm still staying in the resort. Had check-in for 3night on the 14th at about 8+pm.

Was told that there isn't any 2bdrm suite for us as it was all packed though we had booked the suite 1 month in advance. Upgraded us to a 3bdrm suite, was located at the extreme end of the block at level 3 with no view, the room smell musky and look deserted for a long time, feeling eerie too as we are only 2adults + 2children. Immediately requested for a change to a 1bdrm suite for the night to sleep in temporary(sigh). After a check with the reception, all of a sudden they manage to get me a 2bdrm suite with pool view in the middle of the block but was at 4th level which I wouldn't mind.(don't treat Asian tourist differently - utterly disappointed)

The Resort do provide free shuttle bus service to Patong Beach Jungceylon shopping mall(plus point), but you will be very disappoint if you are booking it 1 night in advance, you probably won't get the 10am(to) and 6pm(back) timing. Even when I booked 2 days in advance, I only managed to get the 10am slot to Patong town and had to pay 400baht coming back to the resort. The Resort SHOULD NOT restrict or limits the amount of shuttle bus slots for the guest wanting to go to the town, it should be crater base on the amount of guests that had booked. Not forgetting the resort is far away from the town, why set a cap on the ferry service???

When the resort is short of in one area, I believe it can always be make up with in another area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LaRRy0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Larry0007, First of all we would like to thank you for the time taken to share your review about your stay at our Resort. Secondly we would like to sincerely apologize about the unfortunate succession of events and miscommunication during your stay. Please be assured that this does not represent the quality of service that we normally deliver and we fully understand your frustration and disapointment. Respective actions and follow up with the concerned departments have been taken in order to make sure that it does not happen again in the future. Regarding the complimentary Shuttle Bus service to Patong, we do understand that it would be nice to have this more frequent, but we believe that 2 Complimentary Round trips a day normally satisfy the needs of most of our guests. We would also like to kindly inform you, that by far not all resorts are offering this free service. We would be thrilled to welcome you back again and prove to you that we can do better at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
5.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Ebookers, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing