We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay but a few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay but a few issues”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel was perfectly nice and what to be expected when staying at an up-market Thai resort. We stayed in the highest priced room, on the GF bordering the pool. The room was nice and spacious but unfortunately the aircon in my room was either on @ 16'C and rattling or off. The breakfast had quite a range of foods and the staff were pleasant. Unfortunately, I got food poisoning from the room service one night and was unable to leave the room for 2 days as a result. Another member of our party (in a different room, on a different day) also got food poisoning from a room service order. When we notified the hotel of this they were very quick to avoid taking an responsibility.

Location wise, the hotel was also quite a trek from the nearest town and required a taxi to get to most of the local attractions. However, there is a small strip of shops/restaurants outside the hotel of which some were quite pleasant. It must be said that I did prefer Kamala to some of the other bays since it seemed more sedate and less Westernised that some of the other areas we went.

tl;dr It was a pleasant stay and despite issues I enjoyed it but next time would probably look for a different resort...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0_Tom_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay with us. We are really sorry about the inconveniences caused by your air-conditioning and would have hoped that you brought this issue to our attention during your stay, so we could have fixed this problem before your departure. Regarding your food-poisoning, we of course feel deeply sorry for your hassle, but after our internal investigation, we can confirm that there was no trace of any kind of bacteria or hygiene problem within our Kitchen team or facilities. We are also following international Hygiene standards and have continuous control measures in place. We can therefore only apologize for your inconveniences, but are very uncertain that your health condition was caused by our food. Please note that amongst all the beach restaurants with much lower hygiene and quality standards that could have caused this, it might have also been coming from a virus or bacteria that you caught somewhere else. Please rest assured that we are not trying to not take our responsibility, but we are very confident that our internal procedures and standards would protect our valuable guests of getting a food poisoning and we will of course continue to assure this high standards of hygiene and quality in our Resort. Otherwise we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of our service and accommodation. Should you choose to stay again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket, we would be delighted welcoming you back again and take good care of you.
Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    427
    162
    48
    23
See reviews for
697
206
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here with our 2 children (3 and 5) and had a great time. The pool is large and has some great shallow areas which work well for both of our children. The waterslide is fun for both adults and kids alike. The beach is a very short walk away and we were almost convinced to buy the daily buffet breakfast from the hotel but don't, as the beach huts offer a great breakfast for a fraction of the price. That said the buffet breakfast does look nice ad I'm sure you won't be disappointed if you want that as well. There's a Minimart just outside the hotel which is useful and the massages just down the road are divine too! Just go to the one slightly down the road and not next to the Minimart - massive difference in quality. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and it's huge! 3 televisions which is nice when the kids want to watch tv and we just want to listen to music. Nice size terrace, and decent size fridge for all those singhas :)
Only short coming is it is slightly tired and bathroom is small but really minor grievances really. Oh and the bed is superhard... But we didn't call up to see if it could be changed, I think some other reviews noted this and got it fixed.
Staff are friendly and overall the place has a really nice relaxed vibe about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selenial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Selenial, Thank you very much for your great comment about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! You describe pretty well the experience in our resort and our team members are really pleased to read your nice words, as such a feedback is always the best reward for their dedication! It is of course true that you can have breakfast on the beach in the local shops for a better price, but it is important to keep in mind that there is always a certain risk for hygiene and of course the variety and quality of such a simple breakfast cannot be compared to a hotel Breakfast. Regarding your comment on the mattress, we are very sorry to read that you the mattress wa6s too hard for you and it is very unfortunate that you did not request for the available mattress topper which would have definitely enhanced your sleeping experience. It is unfortunately the case in most Asian countries that mattresses are very hard, but for your next stay, please just ask for an overlay. We sincerely hope to welcoming you back soon again! Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a 2 br lagoon suite, nice rooms and living area, shower room a bit too small. That's why everyone has to dry clothes and towels on the terrace which doesn't always look good. Nice pool area. Good breakfast, friendly but not always efficient service. I recommend to rent a car when you stay here. They have their own beach in walking distance but there is no coffee and food comes by motorcycle. I recommend that the hotel puts some normal tables and chairs there: it would definitely increase the F&B turnover.

Phuket and especially this hotel has a great number of Eastern European visitors these days who - to be honest - behave much better nowadays than a few years ago. It makes for a great display of tattoos and if the bacon is finished don't blame the F&B department: it has probably ended up in a plastic bag for lunch.....

Room Tip: Just wonder if it is worth paying extra for a suite on the lower floor with direct access to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FreekB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback and for choosing the Swissôtel Resort Phuket for your stay! It is really great to read that you appreciated chilling at our Beach Hut "The SAND BOX", which we recently opened end of 2013. We appreciate your constructive feedback about the setup and will take this into consideration for future adjustments and improvements. We appreciate your comment about the guest mix and agree that there is a number of Eastern European guests, but there is also plenty of Australians, Europeans, Asians and many more. We do also agree that the behavior of our guests is generally appropriate no matter which country they are coming from. We are also aware about the issue of guests taking food from the buffet, which is strictly prohibited, but although we try to control it as much as possible, there might always be a case that slips through our fingers. We understand that you might consider another Resort, but still hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

The resort located in the valley where it is a bit taking time to drive back and forth yo elsewhere. The resort quite nice as the standard of the regular hotel. The 3 bedrooms we stay was clean and good function space for 6adults+1kids. The beach is walking distance away but across the road, so shall beware when u crossing. The pool is great, very huge, my niece enjoyed a lot.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MinieNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind feedback and we feel sorry that you have not been satisfied with the speed of our service. Please note that we are working with our team members, giving them continuous training and simple procedures in order to improve the speed of service. On the other hand we are pleased that you liked our facilities, especially the pool which made your niece very happy. We hope to welcome you back soon again and remain with best regards from Thailand, Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My experience of this Swissotel resort was very good . They should gear up on the services to achieve further excellence . I had travelled from Bangkok and I was damn tired but the moment steeped on this resort I felt like I have entered Gods own kingdom . Staffs were nice and helpful . The rooms were spacious and good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBVoyager82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay with us and we appreciate your constructive comment about gearing up our Service in order to achieve further excellence. Please rest assured that we are indeed coninuously working on improving our Service with Trainings in various areas and the implementation of new procedures and it is our aim to even further improve our Services, but also our product. We hope to welcome you back with us soon again. Your Swissotel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My children and grandchildren wanted to meet overseas for New Year and the location of Phuket was chosen. The hotel Swissotel was chosen because of its reviews and children's club. First impressions were good, but little details soon showed that this was a three three and a half star hotel. Do you enjoy cigaret smoke when you eat, I do not. Do you like waiting till 3:00 pm to have your room serviced, i do not. Do you like to watch the guests children run around at breakfast buffet touching food, picking up and replacing food, i do not. It is just not professional in their handling of guests and supervision. As my son has the same surname and initial as myself, there was a constant error of charging the wrong items to the wrong room. I the swimming pool balls are provided for guests to play, young and small, however again no supervision. It was a case of laying by the pool trying to get some sun and read while getting constantly splashed by adults trying to play water polo. Not fun. Very average all round.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very sharing your feedback with us and we are very sorry about your disappointment regarding your experience during your stay with us. We are of course concerned and will do everything possible to assure improvments in these respective areas.
We are surprised about your comment about the smell of smoke during you meals because we do not allow smoking in our Restaurant, but it is of course possible that someone was smoking outside and the smoke was carried to your table, we truly appologize for this inconvenience. Concerning your room being serviced, we are very sorry that you were disappointed that your room was only serviced in the afternoon, but with a fully booked hotel it is unfortunately impossible to have all rooms serviced before noon. Therefore we would appreciate if you could let us know during your stay about your preference, so we could have serviced your room earlier, as most guests do not bother too much about this timing because they spend their day outside at the pool or the beach. Concerning what you describe regarding the children in our Hotel, we feel very sorry about that. It is though not representing the great majority of guests that we accommodate and is very isolated and unfortunate event. About your experience on the room charges, we once again feel extremely sorry for the confusion caused and can assure you that specific training is being reinforced. We do also feel sorry for you that you were not able to enjoy your time at the pool being disturbed by other guests and we normally do not have many similar problems as we have our Pool rules and regulations that normally help to avoiding such situations. Nonetheless things like that can happen and are beyond our control, therefore you should also have tried our Beach Hut "The SAND BOX" where you most probably would have had a more peacful time to enjoy the sun. We hope to be able to prove to you that we can do better during a future stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket and would be happy to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect for a relaxing base to explore the area. The hotel food is nice though it is rather pricey compared to the restaurants on the beach, the hotel staff are so friendly and polite. The locals are also really nice and I have to mention the amazing tailors that's just outside the hotel- Krish Tailors, they provide fantastic customer service and amazing tailoring, love my dresses and my husbands suit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bettyradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Betty Radley, Thank you very much for your warm comment and for choosing our Resort for your stay in Phuket. We are very pleased that our location was perfect for you. Concerning the pricing in our Resort we understand that we cannot compete with the pricing of the small local businesses simply due to the high standards of quality and hygiene. We are also happy that you were pleased with the Service of the Tailor outside the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
5.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing