We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice cosy property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice cosy property”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

stayed at the swissotel last month. its a cute resort type of property. has a good location and is very good looking hotel. the rooms are nice and large. good breakfast spread as well. overall had a good stay.

Room Tip: the rooms on the top floor can be a challenge. no lifts.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ritwik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you granted us writing your comment about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. It is really pleasant to read that you had such a nice stay with us, being able to experience our wonderful smiling Thai service at the resort. Regarding your comment about the stairs, please note that we always take note of requests and conditions of the guests and try to fulfill them accordingly!
We wish to be able to welcome you again in the future. Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    427
    162
    48
    23
See reviews for
697
206
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at Swissotel Resort Phuket from Boxing Day until the 4th January with 2 adults and 3 children 14, 12, and 7.

We were in a 2 bedroom apartment on the third floor overlooking the pool. Stairs as others have mentioned but when we checked it we had some helpers bring our bags up for us so was great.

The resort was full on some nights and very full on the other nights.

One of our children slept on the sofa bed set up in the family room. Hard beds.
Room was as expected. Small bathroom as mentioned several times here. Noise levels were good. Beds were good, good wifi in room, safe in room, three TV's and small kitchen. Cleaned daily and new bottles of water given too.

We had breakfast included and it certainly covered all cuisines and plenty of choice, fresh juices, fruits, cereals, toasts, rice, pancakes, pastries, cheeses, coffees, chefs preparing eggs and omelettes. Although similar each day it was extensive and I can't imagine how anyone could complain about it.

We stayed for New Years Eve and were charged a compulsory fee for the night which was very expensive for what it was. No drinks were included in this cost (not even soft drinks or water!) which was quite ridiculous given the cost (and the fact that is was compulsory). The "show" was pretty much the same all evening with some Thai dancers followed by more of the same. I think this was the lowlight of all our evenings in Kamala. Food was expansive but not that much for children. A lot of spicy food and seafood (great for adults!). I have added some photos that show the spread on New Years Eve. The hotel did go to a lot of trouble decorating etc.. but let itself down by not really explaining very well to people what the nights proceedings would look like until the evening itself.

Generally it was much more fun to go to the beach and eat at one of the restaurants down there that had a lot more atmosphere.

Only a 5 minute walk to beach - easily do-able for all. Perfect beach but covered from one end to the other with deck chairs and restaurants etc. So not a quiet time to come but busiest time of year and we had a lot of fun. Water sports etc on beach but not too many. Water lovely and warm.

Pool and waterside excellent for families. Great fun had by all.

Poolside snacks/drinks were great too - a BBQ each day with varying menu items. All good value.

Cheap snacks and drinks next door at the Handymart. In this group of shops there are restaurants, tailors, washing services etc.. so very handy.

Not sure what Kamala is like at other times of the year but Dec/Jan very busy and everything open.

We got a Tuk Tuk into Patong and prices as marked (around 400 Baht I think). We never got around to taking the minibus front the hotel but taxis are pretty cheap even though they have set prices.

All in all a great family hotel - pretty good value for money apart from the New Years Eve compulsory dinner.

Lovely staff who all tried very hard to help when we needed them which wasn't very often.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for the time you granted us writing such a long, insightful and deep comment about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. Feedback is a gift for us as it allows us to maintain, and further improve our service quality. Our beautiful resort has a passion for perfection, so always wish to provide a better satisfaction to our valuable guests.
It appears that you stayed with us during the peak of high season, where our occupancy is indeed really high. We sincerely hope that you were not to annoyed by this as we do our best to manage it the smoothest possible way.
Regarding the hard beds, we feel very sorry for your inconvenience. It is unfortunately a very common fact in Asia, and this is the reason why we have toppers available upon request in order to soften your sleep. We apologize that you were not informed.
Our extensive buffet breakfast is indeed covering all sort of food and we believe it should satisfy even the most demanding persons.
We are so sorry that our New Year’s Eve theme night didn’t match your expectations. We will strongly remember your comments for next year.
Our team members feel absolutely rewarded by your warm words concerning its service.
We are delighted to read that you had such a great time and nice memories while you stayed in Kamala with us at this time of the year. Therefore we would be more than happy to be able to welcome you again next year, with a better New Year’s Eve party! Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

If you want a relaxing, calm & romantic time with your family (with, for or without kids.. ;-) ) - I think, this is one of the nicest place to be. Little bit pricy - but relaxtion now-a-days comes with a price tag....lol.
Breakfast - may be, one of best in that area. Pool, specially a pool side bar with happy hour from 5 to 7 pm is an icing.
we found one of many thai food joints outside hotel is truely run by an Indian (Punjabi) family from New Delhi (doing business there for last 5 generations). They serv Thai food, but was kind enough to keep open their shop very late for us only.
Room service was good. Had little bit problem with door-key-card.....me & my wife solved the problem ourselves....only that time - no service-provider was available to help us (afternoon) - we had a tensed moment.
If you need a truely relaxing vacation - then go for it....otherwise.....go to Patang........

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyotirmoy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Jyotirmoy,

Thank you so much for your great comment and description of your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! We are thrilled to read that you had such a good relaxing and romantic time with us. Our teams always bring their best dedication in their duty to insure your satisfaction, therefore they feel rewarded to read your warm words. However we feel very sorry for the unfortunate event with your room key, and can insure you that there should be colleagues available to help you all the time!
We would be delighted to accomodate you once again in the near future!
Sunny regards from Thailand, your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the swissotel for 5 nights in 2 three bedroom apartments with 11 other people.

The staff are friendly and communication is difficult at times but otherwise it is pretty smooth and easy to understand and be understood. Staff attend to your needs and are very friendly and always greeting you warmly.

The pool is beautiful, however there is a sewerage smell walking towards our room that is quite strong which lingers around the pool area. The slide is a brilliant feature for kids and adults and really enhances the hotels entertainment and leisure.

As the hotel is located in Kamala beach, frequently travelling to the city and paying for taxis/tuk tuk's can be very tedious and expensive however the location is quiet and secluded which is think is better and definitely recommend as the city can get quite busy and loud. The swissotel is located amongst small restaurants and one that is tripadvisor recommend 'baan mai' which was quite nice also. A few shops are nearby and the ATM is conveniently located close by.

Our stay at the swissotel was enjoyable and I would recommend to stay for a couple of days.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Mary,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! It is great to read that you had a wonderful time in our property and that your entire family was able to enjoy our facilities, especially the slide which is an absolute "must do" for little ones. However, we feel extremely sorry that you had to experience the sewage smelling during your stay, as we had some pipes troubles at that time. We can assure you that this is all fixed today, and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused.
Regarding our location, we believe just as you say, that being a little bit more remote from the overcrowded area of the city of Patong is an advantage. We are only 15 minutes of taxi from there, but here you can enjoy calm and tranquility, which are the two main elements for relaxing holidays.
We really hope to be able to welcome you again in the future!
Sunny regards from your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I highly recommend this hotel for families, we stayed for 11 days in January with family from the UK and we all loved it.

The food at the hotel is amazing. The day kicks off with a huge buffet breakfast of fruits, full english, breads, omlets, and thai curry! The evening meals are great, kids meals are great even for the fussiest eaters. There are also lots of restaurants (Italian, German, Sea food, Swedish & lots of thai) within 15 minute walk (3 minute tuk tuk) from the hotel.

There is a huge pool with a large slide to keep the kids (4 & 8) amused for hours. There is also a kids club with games, theater room, computers and big ball pit so the parents can get away for a couple of hours.

The staff are absolutely fantastic, amazingly polite and always accommodating.

We stayed in 2 bedroom unit on the ground floor room beside the pool. The living area is large, the bedrooms are fair size but the bathrooms are a bit small.

Kamala beach is laid back town great for families not at all like Patong. The hotel is 200 meters from Kamala beach which is beautiful, great for swim, massage and drink.

Brilliant Hotel, add it to the list!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eoin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Eoin,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience with the Travel community. All the Team Members join me to tell you that welcoming you was a great pleasure and that they did nothing else but their best to make your stay a truly memorable one! It is great to read that you had the opportunity to enjoy all our services and facilities with your friends and family. We would be thrilled to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon again. Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at the swissotel in one of their 3 bedroom deluxe suites resort over Christmas and New Year with 3 children age 9, 11 and 14. The big positive about this hotel is the proximity to the beach, it only 200 meters to the beautiful Kamala beach and also the friendly staff. Saying that we had few issues during our stay:
• There was a bad sewage smell coming from the kids bathroom, we reported it and they were quick to respond. Although we had to call them again to check it again as the smell came back after 2 day.
• We had a really bad TV reception which they couldn’t do anything about.
• The pool area is quite basic but the beach is amazing and is not too far away.
• As someone mentioned in one of the reviews, it’s noisy at night time because you can hear people footsteps above you.
I will say overall experience was ok and probably won’t be going back to the same resort in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Titilayo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Titilayo C., thank you for choosing our Resort and for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your positive words about our location and especially about our friendly team members. On the other hand we really apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your recent stay. It is of course very unfortunate that the smell came back 2 days after it has been rectified and our Engineering Team now resolving this issue permanently. We have also been in touch with our TV/Satellite supplier in order to assure a continuous and stable TV signal in all guest rooms and although we normally do not have these issues, we are sorry for the problems in your room. Last but not least we will be working on the improvement of the sound isolation from the rooms above to assure our guests comfort also when there are some more noisy neighbors upstairs. We thank you again for all your constructive feedback and we will keep on working hard to further improve our product and services. Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have stayed here before about 1.5 years ago and we loved it, so this time during our Thailand trip we met here with friends and family... We just had an amazing time and everybody of our group fully enjoyed their stay. For us it was interessting to see what had changed in the past 1.5 years and there were indeed plenty of little things that have been changed and improved. The Lobby is brand new and nicely renovated. The room we stayed in had new curtains and a new floor, but other than that we could not see any big signs of a major renovation. Nonetheless they had added new activities, they now have bikes for rent and of course the Beach Lounge Sandbox, which is a super cool place to spend your days at the beach with a comfy setting and good service.
All in all just another great experience and I think we had such an exceptional time because the kids were taken great care of and they just loved the kids world, waterslide, pool and Kun Yaya, staff member at kids world who is the kids best friend. We therefore could really enjoy ourselves and enjoy some happy hour at the bar while the kids were kept busy! We hope to come back soon again...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank InternationalBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissotelPhuket, General Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear valued Guest, we are thrilled that you have been coming back again and bringing your friends and family along. It is our utmost pleasure to read that all of you have spent a fantastic holiday with us and we truly appreciate your loyalty. We can hopefully welcome you back again next year and remain with sunny regards from Thailand. Your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
5.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing