We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Resort”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My family spent 5 days at the Swissotel Kamala in April 2014. We had a really pleasant stay and we would highly recommend this hotel. I'd like to thank the Management of for allowing us to check in early and out late. We flew in early and out late so this was really appreciated and appeared to be no trouble. If you have young children the kids package for the room is a great inclusion and our kids loved it. The rooms are well appointed with a kitchen and TV/DVD in the bedrooms and the main room. The beds are very firm but soft mattress topper can be requested. The bathroom is a bit too small but overall the room was a good size. The rooms are well appointed and very clean.

The hotel has good facilities. The pool is great for kids. It has a water-slide that provided hours of fun. The kids club is well appointed. Our 4 year old really enjoyed it but the 7 year old found little to do. He was also disappointed when advertised activities were cancelled without notice.

The restaurant was good value and has a wide range of Thai and western food. The kids menu is also good. We were never disappointed at any meal. We did complain about the number of cats that wander around the restaurant. Management promised to address this. This may be standard in Phuket but shouldn't occur. We didn't see them near the kitchen area and we don't believe they were a health issue. It is just off-putting to see a cat wandering through a quality restaurant.

The resort is a 5 minute stroll to the beach. Kamala Beach is more relaxed than Patong. It is much more suited to families. We had about half our meals at cheap restaurants along the beach. These are a great alternative to the hotel restaurant and are really cheap. We used the hotels Sand Box facility daily. This was really well run and good value. The weather was even perfect.

Overall we had a fantastic family holiday and would like to recommend the Swissotel Kamala.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so a ground floor room should be requested if you have young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G8255RKdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear David,

We would like to thank you so much for sharing your amazing experience at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! You make a perfect description of your stay and about the memories you've been creating here with your family! Our team members feel very much rewarded by your warm words, having been able to meet all your expectations.
Regarding the cat, we have been working on this situation for the last few weeks. Please be insured that this is not an health issue, as we are respecting international standards of hygiene and are always ranked with the higher quote on these standards. But since the cats are not savaged, but owned by our neighborhood, we do our best to work closely with them in order to avoid having them too much in the resort. Please be insured that we will do our best to definitely fix this in the near future!
We would be delighted to be able to welcome you again! Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    427
    162
    48
    23
See reviews for
697
206
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay, staff were responsive and helpful at all times, though we never had any real problems for them to resolve. The family rooms (2 bed) are very large with TVs in each, plenty of space. Only one small bathroom though which was a issue at times with the four of us.

Food was good, breakfast especially.

The beach is a ten minute walk from the hotel, and the hotel has a private section on the beach - the sand box- though you have to pay 100bht to use the loungers or beanbags.

In all a great family hotel,

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wilbo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Wilbo,

Thank you so much for your warm words about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! It looks like you had plenty of nice memories both in our wonderful resort and on Kamala Beach, and it is great to read that you truly enjoyed our Team Members smile and responsiveness, as they work very hard for this.
We would be delighted to welcome you again on the beautiful Island! Sunny regards, your Swissôtel Resort Phuket Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baryalore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Fiasco, not worth the money. Check in was terrible handled, no responsiveness to queries on room readiness, room was lovely but it stank. away from beach. inhospitable.... a mistake to have chosen this overrated property

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Suraj Hariram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Suraj,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket with the TripAdvisor Community.
"Feedback is the breakfast of champions" - Ken Blanchard.
All we can say regarding the fact that we absolutely missed to meet your expectations is that we deeply regret and that we present you our deepest apologies for this unfortunate experience.
All we will do is working harder, and stronger in order to not reproduce this experience ever again. There has been a misunderstanding from our Team Members regarding what you were looking for and waiting for, which has lead to an absence of responsiveness from our side, which is unforgivable.
All departments feel extremely concerned about the situation and are already working harder, training harder, and implementing new measures so that this situation do not happen again.
Should you ever want to give us another chance, please let us know directly, so that we can prove you anyway possible that your experience did not reflect our usual quality of service, which we are usually recognize for.
Once again, please accept our sincere apologies. Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hvidovre
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very helpful and professional staff. The Kids poll is a little small, but the beach is super kids friendly especially in the afternoon when the tide is low. The Kids club is great. We spent most of the the warm hours in the middle of the day there. Kamala is a 5 min 200 bath cab ride away. There is not much to see but there are the basic necessities.
If you are looking for a relaxed family vacation bathing as the main activity this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Nina,

Thank you so much for sharing with the TripAdvisor community your amazing memories of your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket!
We are truly delighted to read that we were able to make your stay memorable in many ways, and that you found what you came to look for: quietness! Our team members feel very much rewarded by your warm words about the quality of their service!
We would be happy to welcome you again in our little paradise soon! Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed a week in the 3 Bedroom Suite at the end of March with our two children and their grandparents, and absolutely loved it. While we had an issue with our room upon arrival, the duty manager and GM's professionalism and attentiveness in handling the issue was exceptional, and meant it did not spoil our holiday in anyway.
The pool is in the centre of the complex with a great slide for kids and adults, and easy access for everyone. The KidsWorld was a haven from the sun, and the staff were great helping the kids with crafts or just letting them play on the computer games.
We ate several meals at the hotel including breakfast, which was superb. A great selection of western and Thai dishes, breads, cakes, fruit or cooked breakfast options. They also catered for special dietary requirement including gluten free diets which was helpful for us.
The hotel is in a quiet area set back from the beach, with a short strip of shops, restaurants and taxi/car hire places outside. The beach is about 5-10 minutes walk, and is a gorgeous long stretch of white sand with turquoise sea, safe for the kids to play in the surf and the parents to relax at the hotel's Sand Box bar or get a massage. Kamala Bay is perfect if you want a selection of bars or restaurants away from the daily madness of Patong, but close enough (15 mins in a taxi) if you want to liven things up.
We paid extra for the kids room set up - it came with toys, a play tent, their own little table and special bedding and towels. It was a nice touch that really made our kids' holiday.
The Sand Box offers a snorkelling trip on a longtail boat to a nearby island. Perfect if you have younger kids and want to be flexible with timing, we loved it.

Room Tip: There is no lift request a lower floor if that is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingfamily40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your amazing experience at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket with the TripAdvisor community!
Our GM would like to personally great you, and all the team members join him to thank you for your warm words about your great holidays with us! We have a "Passion for Perfection" at Swissôtel, and we always do the extra mile for our guests, in the good moment as in the bad ones, when we messed up. You literally experienced it, and your satisfaction is our best reward.
We hope very much to be able to welcome you again for a next stay! Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I was not very impressive with the resort.

First of all, for god's sake, don't agree to be given a room on the 4th floor. They have no lift and it was very troublesome to go up and down to my room.

The hotel also does not provide complimentary transport to get around Kamala. We went for dinner once at Andara and the hotel kindly provided complimentary transport back to Swissotel...and we were not even a guest of that hotel.

The bathroom in Swissotel is very small. Only basic toiletries are provided. Even then, not enough shower gel and shampoo were given so we always had to ask for more.

We tried the dinner once and the food was so-so. The quality of the breakfast is better.

On a positive note, my children enjoyed its Kids World, where kids can play games and do some activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jalan2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Jalan,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. We are absolutely sorry to read that the room that was given to you did absolutely not match your expectations. There has been a misunderstood of what were your expectations, and we do apologize for that. Kindly note that for any next stay, you can request a room located at a lower floor, like 2nd floor, and that we would do our best to satisfy your demand. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed because we do not provide any complimentary transport to get around. You mention a beautiful property of Kamala, which is a high end 5 star deluxe hotel, and whom we could not be compared to at any level, product wise. Local considerations unfortunately do not enable us to provide this kind of transport.
We will take good consideration of your comments regarding dinner, and will do our best to further improve the quality!
We hope to be able to welcome you again at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. Sunny regards from Thailand, your Swissôtel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rochelle, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I travelled a month in Thailand with my girlfriend, stayed in many hotels but the Swissotel let us dreamy. Everything was perfect: from the kindness of the staff to the relaxing atmosphere around the pool. We really enjoyed the breakfast, one of the best we had in Thailand. The restaurant is nice as well. Depending on your mood, you can either go watching the sunset while drinking one of the best mojito ever five minutes away from the resort or go partying at Patong...
Julie (from the reception) was really patient and helped us planing our trip to Koh Lanta.
Thank you. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tooryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing with the TripAdvisor community your amazing feeling about your stay at the Swissôtel Phuket Resort. The Team Members feel highly rewarded for their hard work by your warm words regarding their service. We constantly do our best to improve our Breakfast buffet, and it is great to notice that you appreciated it.
We are delighted to know that you were also able to have such a great time experiencing activities very close from our resort, as indeed, the Patong surprising scenery is located only 15 minutes from the resort. We feel confident you were able to make the best of it!
We are looking forward welcoming you over again in the near future! Sunny regards from Phuket, your Swissôtel Resort Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
5.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing