We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We thought it would be a motel stop off before going into the jungle. The pool, beach, breakfast and size of rooms were the best we came across out of 2 weeks of traveling and staying in much smarter hotels. Its a fabulous place. It is on it's own, but has a little strip of excellent shops and restaurants and a massage place for £6.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Hazel,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your amazing experience at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket with the TripAdvisor community. It is such a great reward for all of us, having been able to achieve your satisfaction and helping create great memories. The size of our room as of the amazing Lagoon Swimming pool is indeed one of our main asset. Thanks also for sharing your tips on the place with the online community!
We would be delighted to welcome you again for a future stay. Sunny regards from the Swissôtel Resort Phuket,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Swissotel Kamala was an amazing resort, the staff were fantastic and just couldn't do enough for us.We booked a 2 bedroom suite located on the 1st floor and it was wonderful, with air conditioner working very well which was a god send when you arent used to the heat and humidity of Thailand, and we come from Australia. Pool was fantastic and got used most day with lots of choices of resort activities. The cafe/restaurant had a wide variety of foods for the buffet breakfast as well as being open from 6am to 11pm you could always get food of pretty much any kind. There is a 10% service charge and 7% VAT but when you do the conversion back to our currency you were getting a restaurant quality meal for 4 people incl drinks for the price of Macca's at home. The pool had a swim up bar and the kids enjoyed that with the staff being again very attentive and friendly and they have mocktails for the younger patrons. The beach was a short walk away and there were always things to see and do down there from para sailing to massages and manicure/pedicure and hair beading and clothing stalls as well as tours and fish spa, something you just have to experience. Plenty of places to eat and drink close by too. Free pool and beach towels were a bonus as well. The resort was very well equipped and anything you couldn't get there you could from the mini mart that was a minute walk outside the front of the resort. If you wanted to go anywhere there was always a taxi or our preference a tuk-tuk available at very reasonable rates to take you wherever you wanted to go and then some. They were more than happy to wait for you and suggest other places to do and things to do as well. We found the staff and in fact any vendor you dealt with very good, and funny how they can pick the Aussies, we had many a laugh with lots of the market vendors in Patong.
I definitely have to agree with other reviewers though that the staff at the Swissotel and in fact everyone we came across in Phuket was wonderful, they are friendly and warm always ready to have a bit of a chat as best they can given the language barriers. 13 nights at the Swissotel and I would definitely recommend to any family needing more than a 1 room accommodation set up.
Oh just as a note always carry coins and perhaps wet wipes of some kind as you have to pay for public toilets and not all provide toilet paper. We paid from 10baht with paper at one toilet to 30baht at another with no paper so be prepared. Also be vary of drinking without a straw as the water quality isn't the same as where we come from.

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room that was down past the sign for kids world which meant we got afternoon sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahG1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Leah,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing such a warm comment about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket with the TripAdvisor community. It is great to read that you had such an amazing time here and around! There is not really much for us to add except that our Team Members are glad having made your stay so perfect, and that your satisfaction is there best reward. Thank you also in the name of the online community for all the tips you are sharing here.
We are definitely looking forward welcoming you again. Sunny regards from the Swissôtel Resort Phuket,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just spent 9 nights at the Swissotel Resort and would highly recommend for a family holiday in a quieter part of Phuket. Just 5mins walk to a very clean beach, not crowded, and the hotel has a dedicated area for guests. The hotel is clean, well maintained with a large & interesting pool. The 3 bed suite was spacious but the 2 smaller rooms would benefit from a mirror and shelf for toiletries etc. The staff are helpful and always pleasant. A good selection of both hot and cold food is available for breakfast to suit all international preferences. A real bonus is the daily provision of several bottles of drinking water so welcome in the hot weather. This was definitely a good choice of hotel for our family holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Katherine,

Thank you so much for sharing your great thoughts about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! There is not really many things for us to add except a big thank you from all the Team Members who feel extremely rewarded by your wonderful words.
We are glad to read that you created great memories here in our place.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again for a future stay.
Sunny regards from Phuket,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Fabulous, immaculate resort at quieter end of lovely Kamala Beach. Staff very helpful. 3 bedroom suite very roomy and quiet at end of resort block, but second bed rather small for 2. Not enough power outlets, drawers or coathangers but free drinking water and pool / beach towels every day great. I would highly recommend this resort. Watch 10% tax and 7% service on everything. Decent exchange rate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Rachel,

Thank you so much for your warm words about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! We feel very rewarded by your feedback! Indeed, the Thai system for taxes is as you describe, readers will appreciate your comment about that. We are working on a soft refurbishment project at the moment and will take good note of your thoughts!
We are looking forward to welcome you again over here in Sunny Kamala!
Best regards from the Swissôtel Resort,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our stay was very enjoyable, although on arrival did not get the room we booked but this was sorted the next day. Staff are all very pleasant, food was good, lovely pool.Room ok, probably needs an upgrade.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Heather,

Thank you so much for sharing your thought about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort with the online community. We are glad to read that you had a wonderful stay. We feel very sorry to read that your room wasn't the good one upon check-in, and you can be insured that this does not reflect our standard practice and that we have already been assessing this problem.
We are currently working on a soft refurbishment project to give a fresher look to our room as you mention it.
We hope to welcome you for a next stay in Phuket! Sunny regards from the Swissôtel Resort,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We looked for a quiet resort far from noisy and busy Phatong beach, so Kamala beach was perfect for us.
Very nice pool, very good food, very good kids club and very friendly staff
Only drawback is you have to wak 3-5 minutes to the beach

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank GuyC25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guy,

Thanks so much for sharing your short but really satisfied thoufht about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! We can definitely read that you had a great time in our property and at the beach. As you perfectly say it, being a bit away from the overcrowded area of Patong provides calm and tranquility to our guests!
We look forward to welcome you again,
Sunny regards,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the resort for 5 days with my husband and 3 daughters aged 4, 6 & 8. We found the resort comfortable for our family. We chose the resort based on a good price and the fact that the room was a 2 bedroom suite with living area & kitchenette. We arranged for the hotel airport transfer. The driver was at the airport to meet us on time & the car was clean. We arrived at the hotel before 10am and were very pleased that a suite was ready for us. We were on the top level but, as we are not elderly, ill or facing any physical challenges, did not mind the climb up the stairs. The suite was a bit run down (loud air cons in need of servicing, wires sticking out of walls/closets, old curtains, faded/slightly stained upholstery), but it was generally clean which is always our biggest concern. There was only 1 bathroom with a shower, but we haven't often had 2 bathrooms at hotels. When we checked in, they had told us this & offered to give us 2 one bedroom suites in order to give us 2 bathrooms. We opted to stay with the 1 bathroom and didn't have any issues with it. The resort itself is very compact without gardens or grounds to walk around or play in. The pool is busy with kids & activities. The kids' club was fine. Many of the activities are at additional cost. The staff were okay, but I've definitely seen more friendly & happy kids' club staff in the past. The beach is about 10 minutes walk away. It's a nice beach. The Sand Box area was great- cheap lounge chairs, toys, water and food were readily available. The mini-mart just outside the hotel is very convenient with good prices. The resort restaurant was good. The breakfast had sufficient variety, and the lunch/dinner menu offered both western and Asian choices. My daughters were happy with the kids' menu & the prices were reasonable compared to other resort kids' menus. The servers at the restaurant and pool bar were friendly and helpful (even in the chaos of happy hour!). We didn't find the front desk staff overly helpful or particularly friendly. Overall, we found the staff and resort to be a very solid 3 star based on North American standards. We feel like we got our money's worth.

Room Tip: As there are no lifts, request a ground floor room if you have issues climbing stairs. Ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your thought about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket with the TripAdvisor community. Your feedback are a goldmine for us. Your description of our product is well made, and you might be happy to learn that we are currently working on a soft refurbishment project to give a fresher look to our rooms! We have been sharing your comments with our Kid Club team members and you can be assured that they are now already doing their best to improve their service quality.
We would be delighted to welcome you again in Phuket for a future stay! Sunny regards from Kamala,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
1.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#66 of 387 in Kathu
791 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
2 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: £60 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing