We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Great resort, fantastic service and was absolutely great with the kids (2 & 6 yrs old at the time).

Only a 10 min tuk-tuk from Patong which the kids loved.

Very quiet area, but close enough to the main area for all the sights.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Shane,

Thank you so much for your great comment about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! We see that you stayed with us last July, therefore, reading that you still have such wonderful memories about your stay reward us more than everything.
Should you want to come back, we would be more than happy to welcome you and your family again, as your kids would this year also definitely appreciate the SANDBOX, our Beach hut on Kamala Beach.
Sunny regards from Swissôtel Resort Phuket.

Gaudéric H,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    416
    156
    47
    22
See reviews for
679
202
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed for 6 nights here and really enjoyed the overall experience! We got an excellent last minute deal which meant we also got discounts on food, spa treatments and other services if pre booked. We travelled with our 4 and 1 year old and it was a really suitable resort for families. The 2 bedroom room was great for us and I am so glad I read a recommendation to ask for a ground floor room as climbing up and down stairs dragging the kids along would have been tiresome. The pool and slide were great, beware the slide is super fast if you lie down (I think we had more fun than the kids) Kids zone is an awesome facility, lots of great activities, one of the best we have seen in many resorts we have been to. Communication as to the procedures of the kids zone were lacking, staff didn't seem to be able to communicate how it worked (I.e do adults need to be present? How long can kids stay there? Do we have to book, is there somewhere to sign in etc) I asked two separate workers on two different occasions and they didn't seem to be able to articulate the happenings, another parent explained how it worked for us and we could have left our 4 year old there unattended but didn't feel good about doing that as the supervision didn't seem that attentive. Was a perfect place to go with the kids and have some air conditioned space to play in but personally I wouldn't have left my kids there to be supervised. Restaurant was adequate, we found getting room service a little easier as our kids don't like to sit still for too long and this was always prompt and they have a great selection. Perfect place to stay if you want to "relax" on your holiday, not much night life (which was fine by us), beach only a short walk and the Sand Box which is attached to the resort was great too. We used the spa at the resort too and sing it fantastic praises, really high quality service with therapists that are obviously very experienced. Another bonus is the set of shops along the street towards the beach, a convenient store with snacks/pool toys etc, a laundry service on the corner, 50baht per kg, a bargain and they use modern machines, tailors and other small restaurants. I got 2 dresses made from Krish (3rd tailor on right if walking towards to beach from hotel), highly recommend, very honest, genuine and was ecstatic with end product, he goes out of his way to ensure customers are happy, highly recommend if you are wanting something made, he is more than happy for you to design, ask for different features etc. Overall great experience at this resort, perfect place for a family to holiday if you just want to swim, beach, hang out and occasionally visit Patong/other attractions!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you don't like stairs, also if you have kids get the "kids set up&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelbug4_142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your very detail feedback about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket!
First of all we would like to apologize for the lack of service in our Kids World that you experienced. Please be assure that it does not reflect our usual service quality, and we have already assessed your feedback with the concerned service in order to improve communication.
Your warm words about our services and facilities are a great reward for our Team Members, as they put all their dedication in their daily work.
We also thank you very much for the well detail description of the area providing very good tips to the Trip Advisor community.
We hope to be able to welcome you and your family again in the future at the Swissôtel Resort. Sunny regards from Phuket,

Gaudéric H
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Let me first say the staff at this resort are very friendly, but found the stay here very unpleasant ,we used the restaurant, but found it to be well below what a 4 star hotel should be. I and many other guest waited for more than a hour just to get a drink, the service was poor at best, I had what was meant to be grilled chicken, it was so dry it was nearly jerky. The happy hour is far from happy, being a bourbon drinker I found out through my bill that Jim Beam is not on their list off happy hour drinks, my mate was drinking tiger beer which is also not on the list (The huge board states happy hour between 5 & 7 no mention of restricted drinks how ever it does now) . No one told us that it wasn't until we questioned the bill that we found out. I asked the bar staff why this was so and just got a heap of attitude from the bar staff. The next day I spoke to the food & beverage manager to get some clarity on this, the two other managers came over so we had all three bosses talking to us the 50% happy hour black board was changed the next day to limited menu to add insult, we were ordering lunch ( the only thing that was eatable) we looked at the drinks menu when my mate said look at this the prices on the menu were lower than at the pool bar so then we called for the manager, to be told it was a old menu from 2years ago and all the prices have increased. I understand that but why have a 2 year old menu in the restaurant ,that leads to confusion. I saw one off the kitchen staff wipe his knife on the side off the bin and keep preparing the food, this was also reported to the big bosses I had 4 different lots of guests come up to me and complain to me about the food, the wait time in the hotel (when nearly empty is ridiculous) and the size off the bathrooms in the 2bedroom suits. Watch your bill I had over charges on mine but once it was pointed out to them it was fixed and customary "sorry" Again all I can say is never again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brett n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Brett,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write such a detail feedback about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket. " Feedback is the breakfast of champions", and therefore we believe that this is the best way for us to improve our service quality. As we discussed with you several times during the stay, we already mentioned how precious was your feedback, as you also are part of this industry. And we will here mention again that we indeed went through a few services troubles during the last days of April, which are now behind and resolved. It is very unfortunate that you had to experience all these, and we made our best then to make up for this and you seemed much more satisfy, which was our best reward, after this very annoying start of stay. All we can do here is present you once again our deepest apologies, reassessing that this should indeed never occur, and that we were absolutely under the service quality that we usually provide. It is mostly thanks to your comments that we have been able to now come back to our usual service quality, and we would like to thank you very much for this.
It would be for us a great pleasure to welcome you again in our beautiful, if you let us another chance to prove you that this did not reflect our usual quality of service. If you wish to visit again, please contact us directly. Many thanks again, sunny regards from the Swissôtel Resort Phuket.

Gaudéric H
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We thought it would be a motel stop off before going into the jungle. The pool, beach, breakfast and size of rooms were the best we came across out of 2 weeks of traveling and staying in much smarter hotels. Its a fabulous place. It is on it's own, but has a little strip of excellent shops and restaurants and a massage place for £6.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Hazel,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your amazing experience at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket with the TripAdvisor community. It is such a great reward for all of us, having been able to achieve your satisfaction and helping create great memories. The size of our room as of the amazing Lagoon Swimming pool is indeed one of our main asset. Thanks also for sharing your tips on the place with the online community!
We would be delighted to welcome you again for a future stay. Sunny regards from the Swissôtel Resort Phuket,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Swissotel Kamala was an amazing resort, the staff were fantastic and just couldn't do enough for us.We booked a 2 bedroom suite located on the 1st floor and it was wonderful, with air conditioner working very well which was a god send when you arent used to the heat and humidity of Thailand, and we come from Australia. Pool was fantastic and got used most day with lots of choices of resort activities. The cafe/restaurant had a wide variety of foods for the buffet breakfast as well as being open from 6am to 11pm you could always get food of pretty much any kind. There is a 10% service charge and 7% VAT but when you do the conversion back to our currency you were getting a restaurant quality meal for 4 people incl drinks for the price of Macca's at home. The pool had a swim up bar and the kids enjoyed that with the staff being again very attentive and friendly and they have mocktails for the younger patrons. The beach was a short walk away and there were always things to see and do down there from para sailing to massages and manicure/pedicure and hair beading and clothing stalls as well as tours and fish spa, something you just have to experience. Plenty of places to eat and drink close by too. Free pool and beach towels were a bonus as well. The resort was very well equipped and anything you couldn't get there you could from the mini mart that was a minute walk outside the front of the resort. If you wanted to go anywhere there was always a taxi or our preference a tuk-tuk available at very reasonable rates to take you wherever you wanted to go and then some. They were more than happy to wait for you and suggest other places to do and things to do as well. We found the staff and in fact any vendor you dealt with very good, and funny how they can pick the Aussies, we had many a laugh with lots of the market vendors in Patong.
I definitely have to agree with other reviewers though that the staff at the Swissotel and in fact everyone we came across in Phuket was wonderful, they are friendly and warm always ready to have a bit of a chat as best they can given the language barriers. 13 nights at the Swissotel and I would definitely recommend to any family needing more than a 1 room accommodation set up.
Oh just as a note always carry coins and perhaps wet wipes of some kind as you have to pay for public toilets and not all provide toilet paper. We paid from 10baht with paper at one toilet to 30baht at another with no paper so be prepared. Also be vary of drinking without a straw as the water quality isn't the same as where we come from.

Room Tip: We had a 1st floor room that was down past the sign for kids world which meant we got afternoon sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahG1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Leah,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing such a warm comment about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket with the TripAdvisor community. It is great to read that you had such an amazing time here and around! There is not really much for us to add except that our Team Members are glad having made your stay so perfect, and that your satisfaction is there best reward. Thank you also in the name of the online community for all the tips you are sharing here.
We are definitely looking forward welcoming you again. Sunny regards from the Swissôtel Resort Phuket,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just spent 9 nights at the Swissotel Resort and would highly recommend for a family holiday in a quieter part of Phuket. Just 5mins walk to a very clean beach, not crowded, and the hotel has a dedicated area for guests. The hotel is clean, well maintained with a large & interesting pool. The 3 bed suite was spacious but the 2 smaller rooms would benefit from a mirror and shelf for toiletries etc. The staff are helpful and always pleasant. A good selection of both hot and cold food is available for breakfast to suit all international preferences. A real bonus is the daily provision of several bottles of drinking water so welcome in the hot weather. This was definitely a good choice of hotel for our family holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Katherine,

Thank you so much for sharing your great thoughts about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! There is not really many things for us to add except a big thank you from all the Team Members who feel extremely rewarded by your wonderful words.
We are glad to read that you created great memories here in our place.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again for a future stay.
Sunny regards from Phuket,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunters Hill
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Fabulous, immaculate resort at quieter end of lovely Kamala Beach. Staff very helpful. 3 bedroom suite very roomy and quiet at end of resort block, but second bed rather small for 2. Not enough power outlets, drawers or coathangers but free drinking water and pool / beach towels every day great. I would highly recommend this resort. Watch 10% tax and 7% service on everything. Decent exchange rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauderic H, Manager at Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you so much for your warm words about your stay at the Swissôtel Resort Phuket! We feel very rewarded by your feedback! Indeed, the Thai system for taxes is as you describe, readers will appreciate your comment about that. We are working on a soft refurbishment project at the moment and will take good note of your thoughts!
We are looking forward to welcome you again over here in Sunny Kamala!
Best regards from the Swissôtel Resort,

Gaudéric
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
0.6 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Patong Beach
13.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Property: Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Address: 100/10 Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Swissotel Resort Phuket)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kamala Beach just 30 minutes southwest of Phuket International Airport, Swissotel Resort Phuket is the ultimate resort retreat for friends, families and small groups seeking relaxing beach holidays. Designed for the discerning, modern traveller, Swissotel Resort Phuket offers a choice of one, two and three-bedroom suites. In addition to natural sun-kissed beaches and turquoise seas, the resort ensures the comfort of each guest with an extensive range of facilities including several dining options, a lagoon-style swimming pool, spa and fitness centre, Kids World and a wide array of recreational activities. For a corporate meeting, wedding or gala event the selection of eight meeting rooms, with capacity for up to 150 persons can be styled to suit personal tastes and requirements, while the event management team will ensure that world renowned Swiss hospitality and reliability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Phuket At Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Courtyard Phuket Kamala Beach
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing