We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and beautiful resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamala Beach Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kamala Beach Estate
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a small complex of apartments and villas set in beautiful gardens right next to the Andaman Sea. The staff are friendly and warm. The resort was unlike a regular hotel as it is a collection of holiday rental accommodations, and this gives it a much more personal feeling. The restaurant was closed for renovations during our stay which was a shame due its fabulous location. The resort is close to Kamala, only a 10min walk to bars and restaurants. We stayed with family and it was perfect. The pool was lovely and quiet because it was low season.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom apartment which was spacious, air conditioned and felt very homely. We overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_loves_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    27
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
38
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautiful suite over looking the Andaman Sea. Quiet, nice gardens, good pool. As it was a holiday rental it had some homey touches that you don't get in a resort...lovely. It was like borrowing someones flash holiday house.
Restaurant closed for reno's so no room service.
A 10 min walk into Kamala. 7-11 on the corner 3 min away. Very comfortable, good housekeeping, a retreat away from the town, loved it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking sea gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We had a suite at this beautiful hotel and it was the best hotel ever! The suite was spacious and clean and had fresh orchids everywhere. The bathroom was the biggest we've had ever. The tub was gorgeous! A walk in bath tub! I bubbled every day and dream of my own little spa ever since

People are always friendly in Thailand. Kamala beach hotel is no exception. The spacious hotel with grand entrance makes a big impression. I loved the wideness of the complex. For instants; the reception has a roof, but the walls are all open. Lovely, but we had a few rainstorms. That gets pretty wet.
The food; Mmmmm! Breakfast dito. It was a view to die for, just next to the ocean and a lovely garden. The only thing I can think off, was the steep hill we walked to reach the suite. Besides that: Kamala beach, douze points!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MeloDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at Kamala Beach Estate in May 2014 with two other families and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This place is just beautiful. The grounds are quiet, lush, beautifully maintained and the perfect distance from the main beach. The facilities are excellent, especially for a family. The rooms are air-conditioned and depending on which room you stay in (some not yet renovated) they have a brand new flat-screen 3D TVs, perfect for watching a movie in the heat of the day. The apartments are quite spacious and have a very well equipped kitchen so you can easily cook your own meals if you prefer. A large drum of drinking water is provided. We were also supplied with a very generous supply of soft white towels and toiletries and there was no shortage of clean beach towels by the pool. The pool area is excellent, large enough if it happens to be busy (we rarely saw anyone during our stay). There is a great little kids pool and the main pool is partly shaded for most of the day. The views are lovely from some of the apartments, or you can walk down to the local small beach area (not suitable for swimming but great for the kids). A lovely place to watch the sun go down. Unfortunately the restaurant immediately next door was closed during our visit but two doors down served great food and also did takeaway. The Andaman Resort is immediately across the road and you are welcome to dine in their stunning restaurant for breakfast and dinner if you feel like a treat. Breakfast is wonderful and young kids eat for free. There is a 7-11 store with all of the essentials approx 3 minutes walk away, and we walked down to the main Kamala beach in 10-15 minutes with young children several times. The pavements are a little difficult to negotiate at times so if bringing a pram make sure it is one that can go off-track. The taxis all charge 200B for a single trip anywhere in Kamala Beach (400B to Patong Beach) and no amount of negotiating worked for us. Bikes are very cheap to rent if you are keen. There are quite a few mosquitoes which of course come with the territory. Unfortunately the resort does not provide any mosquito coils or repellant but you can buy them at the local 7-11. Overall, this is an excellent place to stay for a little bit of peace and quiet but still close enough to the beautiful Kamala Beach. We have previously stayed in Patong Beach in accommodation half the size and double the price. I would not hesitate recommending this place to anyone. I hope to head back there myself one day soon.

Room Tip: Ask the owners for a room that has been recently renovated. We stayed in N6L which is one of the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enghien les bains
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I went in april to this hotel with friends. We had the room n4l, very nice , 2 bedrooms and a large us kitchen. Very clean. Garden is very beautiful but lot of mosquitos. Pools are clean large and Nice. No breakfast in the hotel, i was initially surprised, but we found a small restaurant on the beach with Nice breakfast and with a such amazing view. Kamala is a Nice and quiet place to go. I really enjoy spending one week there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank celine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to KBE and I'm positive we will be staying there many more times.
Spacious apartments and villas each decorated with different style. First time we were drenched in bronze Buddha statues and silk tapestries, this time we enjoyed a modern oriental deco with cool rattan couch.
We highly recommend these sea view apartments located over a small cove at the end of kamala beach. The view is sensational as you wake up in the morning and you are promised a privacy. If the ocean is calling you you could actually walk out of your porch down to the small private beach (rocky though) and sail out on kayak or look at the small crabs. The forestation in this estate is quite organic, not too poshly groomed. The buildings are a little rustic and have their own charms.
The garden is beautifully maintained and the pool has this such affable energy so every time we go there we make some friends. My three year old son had a blast in the children's pool at the same spot.
The adjoined restaurant Rockfish can be lovely, a little hit and miss on the food quality but the room service staff are very nice. The hotel staff are knowledgable, friendly and helpful.
Well, I could go on and on about the beauty of this place but I will just recommend you try it. Very suitable for families, small group of friends, artistic individuals who want a quiet vacation.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamala001, Assistant General Manager at Kamala Beach Estate, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Our valued guest ,

Greeting from Kamala Beach Estate .Thank you very much for such a highly rate review . We are glad to know that you have enjoyed our accommodation . It is very satisfying and motivating to receive a review like this and your comments have been passed on to the rest of the team with pleasure . We will definitely continue to strive to ameliorate our services for our guests.

We hope to welcome you here again in the near future!

Warmest regards from all of us here,

Piyatida D. ( Far )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenyang, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was hands down the best vacation I have had. Kamala beach Estate is situated just around the point from Kamala beach. The beach is only a 7 minute walk from the property. There is a restaurant just next door (Rockfish Restaurant) which can provide room service to the resort and also is joined to the property by a private walkway and if you are staying at Kamala Beach Estate you also receive a discounted price. If you need anything there is a convenience store 3 minutes away situated between the property and the beach. The Main street is only a ten minute walk from the property which has a large supermarket and many other shops. The main street also has a great deal of food vendors with some wonderful tasting items. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. There are also ocean kayaks for guest use for free. The small beach directly on the Estate boasted a large hermit crab population to my daughters delight (They come out in numbers after dark if you're interested). If I had to choose one item to improve it would have to be that the Jacuzzi was quite cold and should have had a heater. Even though it was only 30 feet away from our door we didn't use it for that reason. All in all as stated before...the most relaxing vacation I have ever had due to the helpful staff and the close proximity to everything we wanted to take in while also maintaining it's privacy due to it's geographical location.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamala001, Assistant General Manager at Kamala Beach Estate, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Khun Glen

Greeting from Kamala Beach Estate. Sorry for my delayed respond .We appreciate for a nice review . That was very kind of you for sharing your good experience to other TripAdvisor reader . We are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us . We are also happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient and our room to be spacious.

Thanks again for mentioning that your stay here was great value of money. We look forward to seeing you again.


Best regards

Piyatida D. ( Far )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.0 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Pe La Resort
The Pe La Resort
#15 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
#16 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.9 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala Beach Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Beach Estate

Property: Kamala Beach Estate
Address: 33/6 Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamala Beach Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a 5-minute walk from the Kamala Beach, Kamala Beach Estate offers spacious suites with private balconies which overlook the Andaman Sea or garden. It has a restaurant and an outdoor pool. Free Wi-Fi is available in rooms and the lobby. Suites at Kamala Beach feature a living room, kitchen and dining room. Each suite is equipped with air conditioning, a private bathroom and satellite TV. A seating area and sundecks are provided. Kamala Beach Estate’s The Deck Restaurant serves local and international dishes on the terrace overlooking the beach. Barbecue facilities are available. Guests can rent a kayak or take a dip in Kamala Beach’s garden pool. The resort offers laundry services. Free parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Kamala Beach Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Estate Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Estate Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing