We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pe La Resort
Nearby Hotels
The Naka Phuket(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$598
US$419
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kamala Dreams(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aquamarine Resort & Villa(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$54
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paresa Resort Phuket(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$1,241
US$1,062
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$1,215
US$1,175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andara Resort and Villas(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$1,022
US$957
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Pool Villa Resort Phuket(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach(Kamala)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
271
91
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
91
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskamala beachbig c supermarketembassybedroompoolspatongvillathaibahtmotorbike
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Well I must say the owners Phillip and Ari are very good people.They run a veryFacility that has a great staff that are always there to help and assist you.They planned many excursions that I took.The Huts were awesome that I stayed in..Very unique experience in that they have a bunny that is best friends with Ari's dog..They play so well together...The beach is a nice 10 minute walk from the resort..

In closing it was a very good experience

Thank you again Philip and Ari

Cheers from your Canadian friend

Room Tip: I stayed in Hut #1 and 2 and they were great..Quiet and very close to the pool
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrroyalembassyresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Hello Darren
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Royal Embassy.Resort
We are still having fabulous weather and Jack the rabbit and Jasmine the Pomeranian are still entertaining both the adults and children every evening. It was great to meet you and very rewarding to us all, that you enjoyed your stay so much
Cheers
Phil Seal
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We’ve just returned from our 2nd visit to the Royal Embassy Resort.
I always maintain that going back to somewhere that you’ve previously enjoyed is a mistake as it never lives up to expectations. Thankfully that theory has been well and truly trashed – if anything it was even better the second time round.
A couple of tangible improvements since last time are; one, the food is even better following the recruitment of a top-class chef and two, there is now a complementary, on-demand tuk-tuk service to take you anywhere within the bounds of Kamala.
There have been many hundreds words written on this site about the calm serenity of this small resort, its high standards of maintenance and presentation and the exemplary service provided by Phil, Aree and their excellent team – so I won’t bother to repeat them. Suffice to say that they probably don’t do them justice.
However, I always strive to provide a bit of ‘balance’ in these reports – so here goes. There is a little bit of noise from the nearby road, the new hotel across the way does spoil the roof-line a bit and the resort is still no nearer to the beach. Ok, none of these are within the control of the owners or staff, and they are incredibly trivial – but come on guys, cut me a bit of slack, I’m struggling here.
It goes without saying that if/when we do return to Phuket we won’t even consider staying anywhere else – it’s brilliant.
Oh, and finally, I’ve pointed this out before although Trip Advisor choose to ignore the fact, but the ‘browse nearby’ map on the web-site is inaccurate. The resort is NOT located just outside of Patong as the map suggests, it is located at the southernmost end of Kamala. The agoda.com map is even worse! – the only accurate map I’ve found in under the ‘location’ button on the booking.com site. I hope you find this helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frecktripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrroyalembassyresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Hello there in the UK Thank you for taking your time to write a review on your 2nd stay with us.
To have guests stay a second time, always feels like a great compliment, but for the guest to say that the second time was even better, really makes us feel very proud, Thank you also for your constructive comments about the location maps. We were aware of Tripadvisor being wrong, but did not know about Agoda, which is being fixed currently. Tripadvisor have our restaurant, "Ambassador Bistro" located in the middle of Kamala harbour we now find out. They use the search engine ' Bing" for the maps and as yet we have not made any progress on getting our location changed, is still "work in progress"
Continuation of upgrading our facilities are still happening, to give more privacy, we have now nett curtains on the floor to ceiling windows in the lounge, of all the bungalows and should you come back for a third visit, we hope to be able to pick you up at the airport in a VIP vehicle, give you a cold drink and wet face towel, a checkin form that you can fill in on the way and we will play a short DVD on the resort, tours etc, so when you get to Royal Embassy,, all you have to do is walk to your room. This plan is also "work in progress".
From all the team at Royal Embassy, thank you and hope to see you for a 3rd time sometime in the future
Regards to you both
Phil Seal
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Now we're already back in Beijing for weeks but my 5-year-old girl still enjoys telling others about the pool and rabbit Jack. During the 7 days stay at the hotel she spent almost all afternoons in the pool, soaking in the water like a summer tiger cub. We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment. the vintage ceiling fan and the small open kitchen reminded us home. Small but cozy, a courtyard of 1,000+ m2 surrounded by a few bungalows and two 2-3-story apartment buildings. We guessed there won't be more than 50 guest rooms at all. Very nicely designed and maintained garden, and 2 swimming pools where the family spent most of our time in and out of it. Just 1 word to conclude: Cozy!
We were really impressed by the friendly staff who never complained about the many questions we raised, not all of them made sense I must admit. And don't ever forget, the food! so fresh and nicely prepared, we were so surprised that the grandma who usually "hated" non-Chinese cookings told us the pool side restaurant is "not bad"... +10 points to the cook!

Comment: it actually took us 5 minutes getting to the Kamala beach, by car! and it's perhaps not the best beach around, small scaled with muddy water, seemed only attractive to the senior swimmers, plus of course my little tiger girl.

Room Tip: at the north side you can hear the morning Muslim prayers as if next to the ears.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jmwz7072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrroyalembassyresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

I remember you well and your daughter in the pool each day. It is so nice that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you also for your comments on our Restaurant "Ambassador Bistro" especially your comment about your Grandma normally only liking Chinese food and giving our chef's 10+, that is a fantastic compliment for them, The weather here is still beautiful every day
( still no rain) and Jack the rabbit is still entertaining all the guests. it is so gratifying to see the delight on children's faces when they pat or play with Jack the rabbit, or Jasmine the Pomeranian.
Hope to see you back again one day.
Kind regards
Phil Seal
Owner/Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

This is a great little spot! We spent the fist week of our holiday in Thailand here and we couldn't have found a better place. The rooms were spotless, the pool was spotless, and the staff were faultless, the food here was also very nice and reasonably priced. The staff here were actually unbelievably helpful and accommodating , we were made to feel at home from the minute we walked in the door. Great location, only 5mins from beach and 15 mins from patong! I want to go back there now! Thank you from the Irish.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Ronan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrroyalembassyresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you Ronan, was great to meet you and have you as our guests. I am truly fortunate to have such excellent staff. They are a great team and are like minded when it comes to customer service and standards, so when we get a review such as yours, they get great satisfaction from it.
Thank you for taking the time to write it.
Cheers Phil Seal
Owner /Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed in this resort towards the end of our Andaman Sky holiday and it was the perfect way to end it. Too bad we could not be staying longer. This may be a small hotel but it is run like a great world standard hotel. The owner/manager is ever attentive and always make you feel welcome. The place is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is good and the staff are very attentive. The beach is not far away at all, only a 10 minute walk. I particularly like the swimming pool, very quite and clean. Even though so many rooms around and fully booked, still very quiet. Excellent place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nigetravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrroyalembassyresort, Owner at The Pe La Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Wow, "Run Like A World Class Hotel " that is putting us under pressure, but fantastic to know that is how you feel. You were staying here when the hotel was full, so is even more satisfying to know you were looked after well and your comment, " the resort always seems quiet and relaxing" I, think it must be because of all the grassed area and the tropical gardens, that give it that atmosphere, who ever the architect was, did a wonderful job.
Hope to see you back here at Royal Embassy again one day
Cheers Phil Seal
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews