We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A review of the Hotel, the Location, the Staff and the Taxi's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

THE HOTEL
Prior to arrival, I emailed Cape Sienna asking if I could check in early and also arranged for a private hotel transfer and requested a room at the highest level possible. To my delight, all my requests were granted.

The drive from the Airport to the Hotel was about 45 minutes without any delays, which is longer that what is advertised, however this was not a problem for us.

We stayed in the Seaview Jacuzzi Suite which had amazing views of Kamala Bay. We found the room amenities were pretty good, just the building is showing a few signs of wear and tear with visible cracks. Our room had a large shower with a big showerhead which was very comfortable to use after a day out. The bathroom sink however was not well designed because the basin is cut out of the painted cabinet which looked odd and was very shallow. Also didn’t use the outside Jacuzzi much because of the insects.

The Laundry service is also quite dear, but you can get your clothes cleaned elsewhere for much cheaper.

Buffet Breakfast is served at the Poolside Restaurant every morning between 6:30 – 10:30AM. They have a very good variety of both Asian and Western cuisine. The Restaurant has an open plan with doors left open so that you get the best views of the bay, however, the hot weather made it uncomfortable to eat there. The heat also meant that the fresh fruit was warm, even though they tried to keep it cool with ice under the plates. I would recommend closing the glass doors and turning on the Aircon, because there are also tables outside for guests who don’t mind the heat.

The Hotel is situated on a hill so it is a steep walk down to the beach. There’s also no footpath on some of the road so it can be dangerous. However it’s not a far walk so it’s really not that bad.

THE TAXI’S
If you a book tour and the tour includes Hotel pick up and drop off, the Taxi’s will not cause any trouble if you are doing something special like going to Phi Phi Island or doing an Elephant Trek. This is because they know that this is a service that they cannot provide. However, if you want to do a simple tour of the Island and just need a driver, then this is where there will be conflict because this is a service that they can provide so they will be upset if someone from a different district comes to pick you up. This is not only a problem outside Cape Sienna, because you cannot even arrange to be picked up nearby because there are other Taxi’s around and the Tour Companies fear being seen. Therefore, if you just need a driver and don’t want to pay the Taxi’s outside the Hotel, then you probably need to catch a Taxi into Patong and get picked up from there. There is no problem with you getting dropped off at the Hotel though. That being said, we did heaps of tours and never had any problems. The Taxi’s outside 7/11 in Kamala charge about 100 Baht less than the ones outside Cape Sienna. And even though the Taxi’s outside the Hotel are a rip off, we did use their services twice and they are as friendly as anyone else. All Taxi’s in Phuket are a rip off anyway so there is not much you can do. The Hotel Shuttle is a minivan that only goes to Patong once a day, so you’ve got to book it early otherwise you might miss out. Would be good if there were extra Shuttle’s.

THE STAFF
The Staff speak good English and are very friendly. You will always be greeted with a smile.

CONCLUSION
Kamala is a quiet location so you will have to pay expensive Taxi fares (400 Baht to Patong, and another 400 Baht back) if you want more dinning and shopping options. However, it is very quiet and peaceful and I would recommend staying at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melbs3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Melbs3131,

thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel.
Your comment about weather is well noted, but our poolside restaurant does not have air-con as it is designed with an open air concept in mind.
Taxis: as mentioned before, we wish the situation in Phuket would be different, but we are all in the same boat and although there seems to be movement in the right direction, it still take a bit of time I would think for the local authorities to really find a permanent solution.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Cape Sienna was really a good choice for couples of all ages if you have no kids and would like to have a quiet and relaxing getaway. With a "no kids under 12" rule, you practically do not see any children in the resort. So if peace is something you look for, here is the place for you.

The hotel is on a side of sort of hill overlooking the Kamala beach. The rooms either let you have awesome sunrise, or sunset views. At night you can look out to the many lights from the Kamala beach side.

The hotel has 2 pools, one which is called Sienna Rocks, which is an infinity pool. Its simply stunning especially in the evening time when the sun sets and the ambience gets more romantic. But very interestingly is that many people leaves at this moment. The down side is that the water is a little cold, as not much people are there and the wind is kinda strong.

The walk to the beach is about 10 mins. 7-11 is 5 mins away. Big C supermarket about 10 mins? Oh yeah, a sat night market is also about 10 mins away. Such convenience.

The hotel staff were pleasant and the rooms were clean. It is a place you will want to come back to.

Room Tip: Building One faces the beach. I believe all rooms faces the ocean. If you want to see the sunset, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalvinZheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear CalvinZheng,

thank you very much for your great review, much appreciated.

We are looking forward to Welcome you back soon again to Cape Sienna.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the second week in Thailand on a B&B basis. our first week was in Krabi. This hotel was clean and the staff very welcoming. Free safe free wifi. free internet, The hotel is located on a hill to the left of Kamala Beach, offering stunning views of the bay. The food in the hotel was of a high standard although a bit pricey compared to the restaurants in Kamala just a small walk away.
Bad points :- Because the hotel was located on a steep hill and lot of steps within the hotel, not the hotel for wheelchairs or unfit people. We found the aircon very noisy and blowing directly on the bed hence most nights to get to sleep we had to turn it off. Although the Vanilla Sky bar offered lovely views we were quite often the only people in there i think due the prices, The last moan must be the wine I ordered a glass of house white it was awful a mouthful in a large glass in the uk we would only use this for cooking.Apart from the bad points we enjoyed our stay but alas not a hotel we would return to,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Baylpop,

thank you for your review.
Indeed our pricing is different than the local restaurants, which of course have much lower operating costs.
We did not have any issue with our house wines and wonder if it was just a one of "bad bottle" or opened to long. Wish you would have said something, we could have changed it for you of course.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Cape Sienna was a pleasure to be.The hotel is a place away from all the bustles of daily life.
If your Vacation plan is not too hectic to explore places in and around Phuket,Cape Sienna is the right choice.If not you could look for hotels close to Phuket or Patong.
We had been at Cape Sienna just after our wedding and the after all the stress during wedding, cape sienna was the right place for some quality time.The hotel is well maintained and is located well at a serene place.
Cons i would say are that the taxis from Kamala to Patong or Phuket are expensive so better to do some search over the internet and save some bucks.The hotel inside cape sienna is a bit expensive too.
Nothing can be perfect. Overall Cape sienna was one of our best experiences.Thanks to the team.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neethu_Murugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Neethu_Murugan,

And we would love to have you back.
Thank you so much for your nice feedback and looking forward to Welcome you back to Cape Sienna soon again.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The cape sienna hotel met all expectations and more. The room was simply gorgeous with fresh oil fragrance every day in the room. The pool is lovely and the infinity pool views just breath taking. The views in general are priceless and cocktails watching the sunset from the vanilla sky bar is a must. Prices in the hotel are similar to uk but the service is lovely and makes a special evening. We ate out in kamala bay down by the beach most nights simply because of the many bars and eating places right by the sea and especially for the prices. Wine is about 150 to 180 Bart per glass (350 ish) quite expensive but the food so cheap. We averaged on evening meal and drinks being £20. Breakfast is very good and caters for everyone. There are more than enough bars by the sea to eat different every night. The walk takes a nice 15mins from hotel to the bay.We can't wait to go back. Simply lovely. Dawn and louise

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawniie594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Dawniee594,

wow...what can I say, such a fantastic feedback just motivates and makes me proud.
We do try hard to strive to give guests a great experience and of course would love to get only positive feedback, but understand that this can't be.
Once again, thank you so much and looking forward to welcome you back soon at Cape Sienna.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at Cape Sienna for 3 nights with friends, we booked an offer which meant that airport transfers were included and also included was a 2000THB credit to spend at the hotel on F&B, spa etc.

Transfers
The hotel was very good with arranging our transfers – we were staying elsewhere in Phuket prior to our stay here so asked whether we could arrange a transfer from there rather than the airport and they were happy to do this. Communication was good and our car collected us as requested, the return to the airport was also not a problem at our requested time.

Check In
The check in process was fine, we were given a choice of scent for the oil burner in our room which was lit each evening, this was a nice touch. It would have been good to have been given a quick tour of the hotel or at least to have been told where the various bars/restaurants were. There was a map in the room but it wasn’t very clear how to get around. We arrived at around 1:30 and our room wasn’t ready until 3 so we went to have lunch and a drink next to the pool.

Hotel Facilities
Facilities were good – the pool area was nice although it was raining during our stay so we were not able to use it. The lobby is lovely with the most incredible view. There were a few restaurants/bars to choose from.

Food & Drink
Food was very good and drinks were nice too, a good choice of cocktails. We only ate in the Poolside Bar but there was plenty of variety on the menu. Otherwise we ate outside the hotel so that we could see the local area. Breakfast was excellent - a huge selection and all very good. The only problem with the Poolside Bar was the service, which was unfortunately almost nonexistent. Every time we wanted to get the attention of the staff for more drinks or to order food we had to get up and go to them even though there were usually a number of staff standing in the bar area looking like they were not busy. They did not seem to notice if we had finished our drinks and did not offer us any more without us getting up to ask for them.

Taxis
There seem to be a lot of complaints on here about the taxis at the front of the hotel. The taxi system is clearly explained on a letter left in the hotel room and we did not have a problem at all, when we needed a taxi we walked down and asked for one from the ‘taxi rank’ next to the hotel.

Rooms
The rooms were very nice, beds extremely comfortable and there was a choice of pillows if you wanted it. The oil burner was lit each evening which left the room smelling nice. Excellent minibar and beautiful sea views.

Local Area
We spent a lot of time in the local town/beach area – there were some lovely restaurants and great massages to be had. It is a fairly quiet area but still plenty of choice. It is only a 10 minute walk down to the main area. One restaurant that we really enjoyed was Mamma Mia which had a variety of different food on the menu including Thai, Mexican, steaks, ribs etc.

General
In most areas the hotel was well kept and clean, however the outdoor corridors looked to be in need of refurbishment, the floors looked very dirty but I think they were just old and worn. The cleaning trolley was left at the end of the corridor which looked untidy, it would have been much nicer if it was behind a screen or in a cupboard.

As I mentioned before, our package included 2000THB credit to spend in the hotel, this was given to us upon check in as a voucher. We had lunch in the Poolside Bar on one day and we were planning to have some evening drinks in the Vanilla Sky Bar to use our credit. We informed the waitress before we ordered lunch that we had the voucher and our friends did the same. She took both vouchers from us and kept them behind the bar. When we asked for the bill it came and they had not deducted the cost and it took a bit of time to work out where they had put the vouchers. They then said that the bill would be paid with the vouchers and as lunch only came to 1200THB per couple we asked to have the vouchers back with the remaining balance for us to use later. We were told that the voucher was one use only and therefore we would not get any credit back. So between the 4 of us we had lost 1600THB. We asked where it was written that this was the case – we had not been informed of this rule when we booked, when we checked in, when we gave our voucher to the waitress and it was not written anywhere on the voucher itself. We were told that we would have to go and sort it out with reception. We asked instead for someone from reception to come to us, which they did, however they were insistent on this rule which we had never been made aware of and were not willing to understand our point of view and compromise. So unfortunately the compromise had to come from our side and we used 1 voucher to pay for the lunch for all 4 of us and our friends then had to use the remaining voucher the next day after we had left when they would have actually preferred to eat outside the hotel. We felt that this was all handled extremely badly and we as the guests had to put ourselves to be able to make use of our package that we had paid extra for. If we had been made aware of this rule then it would have not been a problem at all and we could have made proper use of the voucher earlier in our stay – it could have easily been resolved and I could have instead been writing about how good the hotel was at resolving issue and keeping guests happy, sadly not the case.

So all in all a nice hotel but could do better. Many nice points but some areas looked very tired, service at the Poolside Bar was terrible and the situation with the hotel credit was unacceptable. For this reason I would not return to the hotel as am used to a much better level of customer service in a hotel which calls itself 4½ star. Not really worth the price paid.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nic2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Nic2410,

thank you for your review.
We are sad that the incident or rather miscommunication about the food voucher has left a definitely bad taste in your experience with us. I have already briefed all departments concerned and can only apologize that it was not handled properly. Thank you also for your comments about our poolside bar service. Many guests comment very positive about it, but it just takes a bad moment to spoil someones atmosphere and again I have briefed staff and the team accordingly.

Wish you would give us another chance next time to make up for the few shortcomings and you can remember the good things.

With Best Regards,
Frank Dreist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

The cape sienna is an excellent resort. It is ideally located in kamala, which is a five minute drive away from the main nightlife area of patong, and is a walk away from the nearest beach.

The rooms and the reception area look on to the sea, and the rooms themselves are the best I experienced from the five hotels I stayed at in Thailand. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious and well furnished and there is a lovely patio area.

The breakfast are great as there is a large buffet to choose from and the breakfast area looks on to the pool and the sea behind it.

The hotel is luxurious and the service is great. Although there is cheaper alternative accomodation in the area, I feel that Cape Sienna is worth the money spent and I would recommend the resort to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gish07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Gish07,

thank you for your great review, it is much appreciated.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a fantastic time.

Looking forward to Welcome you back in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#64 of 386 in Kathu
778 reviews
1.9 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 35 in Kamala
649 reviews
14.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#7 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#10 Family Hotel in Kamala
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: £84 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing