We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our 3rd stay at Cape Sienna & in some ways it's a difficult review to write. Firstly we love Cape Sienna, our booking was for the week following the coup and the staff were great in keeping us informed about what was happening and even assured us that if we felt we couldn't do our trip safely they would be happy to refund our full payment (which technically they didn't have to do), so a very good response from them. As the airports didn't become involved we were sure we'd be fine to go ahead with our travel plans & we are glad we did. You wouldn't even have been aware there was anything happening there. If you hadn't heard or read about it in the news.

The resort is very well maintained. We booked the base room which is a Studio & is lovely, plenty big enough for two & it still feels like a new resort. The bed is comfortable, the room very clean, and furnishings very pleasing to the eye. The shower is separate to the toilet & sink (our shower had great pressure too). The scent we chose for our toiletries on arrival wasn't put into our room but that didn't worry us as the one in there was nice anyway.

I don't know why people get on here & complain about the resort being on a hill, away from the beach/Kamala/Patong, do your research people, it's all stated there. There are also very few places you can go any where that you don't see a power line somewhere that you look. Also any one who's been to Phuket knows the situation with the taxi's (which it seems like is changing now anyway), but come on guys, the cost of a taxi here is nothing like their exorbitant costs at home.

Without exception the staff are all great, and the Vanilla Sky Bar has to be one one of the best spots in Phuket to enjoy a cocktail & spectacular sunset. I also treated myself to a massage at the resort spa & was very glad I did.

There were only two things we felt let down about with this stay, firstly was the food, while it is ok we found the breakfasts to be very predictable & didn't change much (great congee though). On previous stays there have always been BBQ nights, Thai Food nights etc, which had very good food variety at reasonable prices, we wondered if the lower guest numbers had made these nights not viable this year. We just find it sad to say that the best & tastiest meal we had during our stay was had at a local beach hut.

The second disappointment was our main reason for choosing this resort is that it has a "no children under 12" policy which is very clearly stated both on their website & all booking sites. We love children don't get us wrong, but we don't wish to holiday with them, & have had many a holiday spoilt by children being allowed to run wild in & around the resort & pool. So it was very surprising to see young children there on half the days of our stay, so we felt some what misled. Having said that most of the children we encountered there were well behaved and not around for too long.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netteTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Nette Tasmania,

thank you for your review and feedback.
We are very happy that you mostly enjoyed your 3rd stay with us.

To your disappointments: Indeed with occupancy dropping into the 30% making buffets was just not feasible, there were simply not enough guests. It was the first time since long that we had to cxl our twice weekly buffets. I am afraid we did not have much choice. However, our restaurants for 'a la carte' at Poolside and PLUM were open as usual with a big variety of different food.
The "child policy" has been slightly amended this year and for the low season it is: Children under 12 are not recommended in the resort. This is stated on our website and should also be stated with online agents as well as tour operator brochures.
Therefore there might be a chance to see the odd kid or two, but as we have no facilities for children there are very few indeed.

We surely are looking forward to Welcome you again for the 4th time. Do make sure that you book directly with us and we will Welcome you back as one of our favourite returning customers.
With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    511
    167
    84
    34
See reviews for
97
1,071
50
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friends and I arrived early on a Thursday morning and check in was swift and went on smoothly I must say the hotel is beautiful and the scenery is nothing short of amazing however,2 days before checking out I called concierge to let them know my party and I would be checking out at 5 am as our flight was an early one I also asked for takeaway breakfast and was told breakfast boxes would be ready when we leave. Upon checking out we got to reception at 5am settled our bill and asked for our breakfast the receptionist who was male just looked at us and said "have no record" then he kept staring at us no apology nothing, I explained we called 2 days before and a lady said it was fine and told us our food would be ready still he just looked at us like we were filth, I asked for a managers number he told me no managers were available for me to talk to so we sat and waited for our taxi hungry and for this reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel to someone because the service at the end and at night is utter rubbish you're probably better off at another hotel as the service really is terrible.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanGono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Susan Gono,

thank you very much for your feedback.
I was very disappointed reading your comment and I do sincerely apologize for our staff miscommunication and non professional handling of this case. I understand very much that this was frustrating and left a very sour taste upon check out.

As you mentioned that you liked the resort and the views and hope you can remember those positives. We shall continue to work on the feedback we receive the further improve.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Most relaxing holiday ever. Away from the hustle and bustle. Superb in every way. Truly friendly helpful staff. We did a day trip on the June Bahtra a truly amazing day. Breath taking views. Delicious Thai buffet lunch cooked on board. We also did the Phi Phi Island speed boat day the opposite experience to the June Bahtra more commercial and hustle and bustle but equally as enjoyable. We went to the Siam Niramit dinner and show which was incredible -- a must do.
We intend to go back and stay at the Cape Sienna Resort we loved everything about it, so clean and the food was superb also, but mostly the service from the lovely friendly staff.

Room Tip: Maybe a room a little away from the road if you are a light sleeper. We were close to the road but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Ellie M,

thank you so very much for this fantastic review.
We could not ask for more then you feeling that this was the most relaxing holidays ever.
This is what we strive for, this is what we are there for...

Looking forward to repeat such an achievement soon again and with a pad on the back to my staff we are looking to welcome you back.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The room were clean but the view were block by electric wire. We arrive at 4 pm we were welcome with fruits platter. but when my friend check in late at night there were no food platter for them. The next day they didn't put new mineral water in my friend's room. We went to the restaurant by the pool for dinner, the service was bad and the food was slow. We ask for freshly blended apple juice n they got us a canned apple juice. Do not touch any of the thing at the mini bar, my friend was just have a look at the things on minibar was ask to pay for it. Do not take anything from the room they charge you even there were not written price on the thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celestetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Celestetan,

thank you for your feedback.
We are sad that you did not enjoy your time with us and found our staff not welcoming to you.
Usually we get very good comments about our staff and their friendliness.
I understand that you were slightly embarrassed that you took something from the room and our staff upon check out ask for payment. (we cannot write prices on everything, like towels, hair dryers, etc.).

We do apologize for our shortcomings and will continue to train our staff to handle situations better.
With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our second stay at Cape Sienna. Our First was on our Honeymoon. We feel like we are in paradise here. It has such a an amazing elegant yet comfortable feel about the resort. We recommend it to everyone. The staff are beyond lovely. The resort and the views are just gorgeous and the rooms are perfectly modern and spacious, the showers are so large and heavenly and the beds are like fluffy clouds. All the bars and restaurants are honestly wonderful with delicious food and cocktails. The gym is excellent as well! We already cannot wait to return. We like excellent hotels and Cape Sienna should be 5 star in our opinion. We look forward to many more holidays there. Candice O'Brien

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsOBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Mrs. OBris,

thank you so much for your nice review.
We are so glad that you choose to stay with us again and after great memories during your honeymoon to come back to your Paradise.
It is very motivating and reassuring that we must do something right.

We are most definitely looking forward to Welcome you back soon again.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, España
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

When there is a paper on your room stating that "local taxi drivers" will not let anyone else come and pick you up" and that "that is the way taxi works on Phuket", it gives you a hint of what you are going to find. A gorgeous hotel, but in which you will basically find trapped and kidnapped by a bunch of mafia taxi drivers which made their base next to the enter of the hotel.

You might think that is not really relevant, and Cape Sienna have a beautiful views and stunning rooms, but in the end it will affect you after you find you have to choose between a 10 minutes walk to 7-11 or Kamala beach (hint: it is uphill for coming back) or paying the outrageous amount of 200 THB just to go around the corner. Yes, 200 THB. For a journey of less than 1 km. So we walk everytime under the scorching Sun. It's not about the money, it's about not letting this kind of practice get their reward.

This will get even more upsetting when you notice the amount of gold cart this property have. Tons. Ok, most of them are used internally to move stuff around, as the hotel is installed itself on the hill, but it has an intricate system of roads connecting all the buildings. Nevertheless, they have one or two golf cart which are supposed to serve as free transfer to and from the beach, but instead you will find it just empty and waiting there for no reason.

And when you have to transfer to the airport, don't bother to ask a limo transfer from the airport, because the local taxi mafia won't let them in. So, again, you will get stuck with two options: paying the mafia people 1000 THB for a trip which was 750 before, or use the hotel transfer, which is misteriously 1400 THB. What a coincidence, it's more expensive than the local mafia! Doesn't seem like an agreement at all.

This will probably apply too to any other tour driver which come to pick you up. We were just lucky that our guide was able to go through as this despicable people were probably still sleeping, but it's likely that this will not be the usual case. So, once again, instead of getting the service of something competent, you will be stuck either with hotel services (more expensive) or those morons who threat other taxi drivers and hence they won't be someone you want to have as a guide.

So, for this reason, I am forgetting about the cute pool, nice jacuzzi, interesting dinning options and acceptable breakfast. I feel like the hotel has forgotten that costumers goes first and they have the responsibility to fight for them, care for them and don't let them be in a black hole of transportation, kidnapped for a bunch of mafia men. Get rid of them, offer a free transfer with your totally useless golf carts and then maybe I can consider to come back.

Note: there are like 2 transfers with fixed time per day to Kamala Beach, which sounds kind of funny because it is such a short distance but they still prefer to keep the car parked forever instead of helping the guests. Oh, the scary, scary mafia men will not be pleased!

Room Tip: I was on the latest building (7, I think) and it was quite a walk from the lobby. If you don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ivan_1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Ivan_1337,

thank you for your feedback.
I have commented several times on the Taxi situation and that the hotel has no relations with them. That we inform our guests in letter in the room is barely to give information on how the system in Phuket works (or rather has worked). This is the same on other beaches and influences a great many hotels in Phuket.
The Golf cart cannot be used on public roads by law and therefore we simply cannot bring guests to the beach with them, I believe you misunderstood something. They are for internal use only.

That our limousines are more expensive then local taxis should also be understandable. We use good quality limousines, pay our staff good salaries and service charge, have quality uniforms and our staff speaks decent enough English.

Now, the good news is and that is why I wrote above how the taxi system worked. Finally after many years of grief from all tourism related business (and many complains to the government) the police (pushed by the military...thanks god for them taking charge) have pulled down many or most of the taxi stands in front of hotels, on private or public land all around Phuket (this happened about 10 days ago). There is NO more taxi stand in front of our hotel now. Taxis are on call only.
It is easy for guests to criticize the hotel for not doing anything, but matter of fact is we have tried so many times, but have not received any backup from the local police or government to solve the situation.....till now. Once again, it was not a Cape Sienna problem, but a island wide problem which had to be tackled island wide and now is and I cannot thank the government, police and military enough that this is now done and hope they will keep the pressure on.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jugiong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for 10 days in Phuket at the Cape Sienna Resort in Kamala. Spectacular views of the ocean and amazing sunsets. The staff were wonderful and helpful, teaching us a little Thai language as well. The resort very clean and well layed out, keep in mind that there are plenty of steps, good for fitness, the staff carry your bags which is helpful. We had no worries getting into Patong each day, with a taxi based outside the resort, we paid 400 bht to and from Patong which took approx 10minutes. The food at all the facilities was fantastic, from the Pool restaurant to the Plum and the Vanilla Sky Bar.The pools are amazing, try the spa and pool at Sienna Rocks as well. Just one word of caution, watch the tiles around the pool when wet, very slippery. We found it was best to slip your shoes off before entering the water and put back on as soon as you step out. Overall it was absolutely the best facility we have stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views. When booking check for single beds if travelling with friends, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Katharin S,

thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We are very happy to know you have enjoyed your time with us greatly.

Hope we can welcome you back soon again.

With Best Regards,

Frank Dreist
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.9 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#9 of 36 in Kamala
231 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
14.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
595 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Property: Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#7 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#10 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing