We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
439
110
33
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
110
33
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv butler service high walls mobile phone kamala beach our honeymoon complete privacy free shuttle living room pool villa room service private chef each morning upon check r r outdoor shower thai cooking class
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely wonderful stay at The Bell!! I cannot sing enough praises for this institution, where do I begin? From the facilities to the service, a complaint cannot be mentioned. So hospitable and the GM (Mark) is so amazing, helped us with our itinerary every step of the way. A beautiful, authentic, experience not to be missed out on!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Christie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellPoolVilla, General Manager at The Bell Pool Villa Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Christie M,

Thank you for your wonderful review and you recent stay at The Bell Pool Villas! All of us are so excited to receive your kind praises, we are continuously working hard to deliver a superior product and personal service. It was a pleasure to have a chance to meet you personally and be able to help you with suggestions for your holiday. Thailand is truly an amazing place and we were so happy to have a small part in your adventure!

Hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Mark Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Overall:
In general, the villa was good. It was cozy but not the cleanest one I’ve stayed before. Ground staff doesn’t provide you the Thai hospitality. Perhaps Phuket is way too commercial now.

Check in:
The staff was kind enough to give us an early check in. The procedure was smooth and we had all our luggages sent to the villa.

Room service:
Food was okay. We enjoyed the pizza a lot.

Breakfast:
Our room rate include breakfast. The breakfast is delivered to your villa every morning as your desire time which was lovely. The food was still warm when it is delivered too.

Pool:
The pool has a depth of 1.4m to 1.6m so if you have kids around, make sure they use a float (just Incase some of them who can’t swim). There’s a huge pillow float available for you to use which was very nice.

Location:
It is not located near the beach nor it is anywhere close to a local restaurant or any convenience stores. Make sure you get some items from outside when you’re visiting Patong area or ask the staff if where you can go to the nearest shops.

Airport transfer:
They came to pick us up at Arrival Door 3/4 and they have our name in display signage. The driver was on time and they served a cold mineral water which was a great gesture. The ride to the hotel was approximately 45 minutes.

Housekeeping:
It was a little concerning how quickly they came by and left. Should you want your sheets to be replaced, make sure to inform them or else it will not be changed. They didn’t mop the floor as they just sweep it (therefore you should always wear the slippers in the premise to avoid having dirty feet). There’s plenty of dust in the room especially on the ceiling fan and curtains. I wonder when will they bother to clean those up.

Pros;
- Breakfast is delivered to your villa daily.
- Early check in was possible.
- Airport pick up service was on time.
- Apple TV available in the living hall.
- Able to cook your own meal (kitchen stove is available)
- Aircon was really good
- Not too many mosquito surprisingly

Cons;
- Location of this hotel is secluded.
- Walking path is really dark at night around the hotel
- Water pressure in the hotel is weak and unstable
- Dusty rooms
- The manager couldn’t give us an hour of a late check out which was ashamed

Verdict:
It was a good stay but we won’t be coming back unfortunately as the location is way too secluded. There’s more villa/hotel available in Phuket should you need a more convenience location to stay in.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Michiko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellPoolVilla, General Manager at The Bell Pool Villa Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Michiko69,

Thank you for taking time to leave your review, we always enjoy receiving legitimate feedback from our guests. However, after reading your “pros” and “cons” (7 to 5) I was surprised that you only rated us a 2! It is true that we are not a large, luxury brand name resort, but we are also not charging even close to what they do for a similar product. We consistently rank among the top properties in Phuket for Value for Money and this is something that should be considered when writing reviews. We pride ourselves on delivering a high-end, completely private product with truly personal service, something you will be struggling to find in a larger resort.

As your main negatives seems to be cleanliness, location and not receiving a late checkout, allow me to address each point. We always strive to keep the resort and villas in the best condition as possible. Reading other traveler reviews this is not an issue at our resort, but if the cleanliness was not up to your standard, we understand. All you had to do was reach out to us and we would have been more than happy to meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we have no record of you contacting any member of our team with this request.

Location…this is always a surprise for me when I see comments regarding our location. I cannot think of a website (including this forum) that does not include a map of the location of whatever you are searching for, hotel, restaurant, shopping mall... We do not “hide” our location, we do not advertise “beachfront” so I personally can never understand reviews that mention this point. I consider most travelers very educated these days (especially ones that use and review on this platform) so all I can assume is that people suffer from amnesia at some point between the booking and arrival experience. Note for other readers, we do offer a complimentary daily shuttle to Kamala Beach. The choice is truly yours, either you want to stay on the beach and pay 3 times as much for a Pool Villa or you are happy to stay a 5 minutes shuttle ride away at a better value. After making this choice, I find it personally outrageous to then complain about location, but I guess that’s just me.

Lastly, late checkout. I was happy to read that we were able to get you into your villa early at your arrival. We have a very simple motto here, if we can do it, we will. As we are a small property of 16 villas, we unfortunately (or fortunately) are sold-out quite regularly and therefore cannot offer late checkouts when this happens. Having worked in numerous resorts and hotels all over the world, this is a common occurrence and the only true way to guarantee an early check-in or late checkout is to book an extra day (which many people do). Outside of this, it is all based on how busy the resort is, and luckily for us, we are constantly busy!

Again, I do appreciate legitimate, constructive feedback from all of our guests, but understanding the personal responsibility that each of us have when making the decision of where we want to stay when we are on holiday, we cannot then hold the resort responsible for not having what they did not advertise. Also take into consideration the value that the resort offers as an important factor when sharing your views. I trust most of our guests will understand this and we look forward to welcoming them all in the future!

Mark Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

First and foremost, kudos to the beautifully decorated villa. It was tastefully done, love it. Breakfast was wonderful with a wide variety of selection to choose from. Staffs were generally friendly except for some, they need to smile (I'm talking about one of the drivers).

Now comes the cons, we booked the villa directly and everything was paid for on the day we booked itself with receipt as prove. But we were utterly shocked when we were asked for the same amount to be put on hold through our credit card. Why is that so?!!!! The bank already deducted that amount during our booking, why is there a need to put the same amount on hold as security? So checking in was not a pleasant experience at all.

Service was actually very poor. We called the butler for assistance on the tv and one of the shower. TV can't connect to Wi-Fi, while one of the shower head was not working properly. Nobody came....NOBODY!!!! In another instance, we asked the butler for umbrella as it was raining. Her response was "Pls check the cupboards for the umbrellas". Ok fine, but no umbrella could be found.....we stayed in a 4 bedroom villa fit for 8ppl. So naturally there should be 8 umbrellas but the butler says they have not that many umbrellas....???!!!! The free minibars only came on the 2nd day in the evening. Shouldn't it be there in the 1st day before we checked in.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bobz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellPoolVilla, General Manager at The Bell Pool Villa Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Bobz H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for staying at The Bell. We constantly rely on feedback from our guest to always looks at ways to improve.

Thank you for mentioning our beautifully decorated villas and our friendly staff, we believe that our product and our staff are what separate us from the pack.

To clarify regarding your payment, unfortunately, the credit card that you originally booked with had expired before your arrival date, this is the reason for the alternate arrangements that were made by our staff, as you were made aware. I understand the frustration, but I'm sure you and other readers can understand that an expired credit card cannot be accepted.

Please accept my apologies for any miscommunications you encountered, we do strive our best to give the utmost in personal (and correct) service and I have addressed the issues above with our team.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to welcome you back again in the future the next time you are in Phuket.

Mark Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

We had SUCH a truly lovely weekend. VERY beautiful villa. Warm, welcoming staff. Bonus was the free cold drinks in the fridge (water, soft drinks + M&Ms!). The only thing that could be improved would be breakfast arriving on time (and not overcooked eggs) but a generous selection made up for that... though it was late both days. I guess time just goes at its own pace in Phuket so just go with the flow and chillax in the gorgeous pool. Also would’ve been great if they had speakers for music. Shuttle to Kamala beach easily arranged including return journey (go to Lillo restaurant and Cafe Del Mar!) and they also helped us book nearby Oasis spa (best ever and I have been to tons!). It rained one morning and Netflix on the tv was a brilliant excuse to laze while waiting for the rain to ease.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank DLJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellPoolVilla, General Manager at The Bell Pool Villa Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear DLJC,

Wonderful to read that you had a lovely weekend in our resort and that the staff treated you as you expect from a 5* resort. We will pass your comments about the breakfast timing on to the team to improve and provide an even better service. We try to cater for all different kinds of travelers, hence we do not provide speakers for music (many guests here also come for peace and tranquility) but for those that want music, our TV's are large enough to create a good atmosphere in the villa.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for 'returning friends' prices via reservation@thebellphuket.com.

Kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Let’s start with the Pros

1.Check-in was efficient
2.Villa itself was spacious, peaceful and gorgeous
3.Room service was tasty
4.Free scheduled shuttle service to Kamala beach
5.Arrange paid shuttle to Patong at reasonable price
6.Breakfast delivered on time everyday
**I have to highlight the guy who delivered our breakfast everyday was awesome. He has the sweetest smile throughout the resort! It’s a shame that we forgot to ask his name. (just remembered his name start with F)

Below are what we unfortunately encountered in this beautiful resort.

1.There’re 2 sun loungers only in the 2 bedrooms villa while the villa can accommodate at least 4 guests. We asked our butler if we could have 1 more sun bed and the answer was no.

2.The virtual tour of the hotel’s web shows that there should be a minibar with paid drinks, it’s not the case in our villa as there were 2 bottles of wine in the fridge only but not any other kinds of drink.

3.The housekeeping came at 5 p.m. something while we were having nap on our 2nd day of stay. One of my friends who was still awake asked if they could come later but they said no because they’re busy. The team left in 15 mins and we were shocked by what we had seen. A rubbish bag on the sink in the bathroom, right next to my friend’s toothbrush! Hair was still on drainage holes. Drinking water wasn’t refill (we got 3 bottles for 3 days). Both tables in the living room and patio were not cleaned with stain & water on them. Ashtray near the sala was still full… Same things happened on the 3rd day, except the villa was cleaned according to the time frame we requested, and no more rubbish bag on the sink.

4.We asked if anyone could help to collect the plates of the room service we ordered but were told the housekeeping was off from work. It would be more thoughtful if someone could remind us the time frame of collecting the dirty plates.

5.Check-out was also slightly disappointed. From our experiences with the 4/5 stars resorts, we just need to leave the luggage near the villa gate and the front desk will take the initiative to arrange someone help with the luggage upon check-out. But this is not the case here unless you ask for it, and we did it twice…

Considering its location, atmosphere, the lovely pool villa and the positive comments from the fellow travelers, the Bell really has the potential to become a 5-star resort if attention to details and service consistency can be improved.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank WS-C311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBellPoolVilla, General Manager at The Bell Pool Villa Resort Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving this review and for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time. Please allow me to respond to your 5 improvement points:

1) We have extra sun loungers for when our guests ask for it. Not sure if there was a miscommunication or misunderstanding. We have them, and they were not in use by other villas.

2) Apologies for this slight oversight. We no longer have a paid minibar in the villas. We offer a free minibar for direct bookings with us. The virtual tour was not updated when we re-did the website. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

3) I apologize for this - obviously, this shouldn't have happened. Each of our villas has a 'Do not Disturb' sign which can be placed on the door if you're planning on a nap and don't want to be disturbed. Unfortunately the other complaints you have were not brought to our attention during your stay, otherwise we could have corrected them.

4) again, not sure what happened here, as we do not have any record of this. Normally our butler team will collect this at any time you request.

5) As all our guests leave at different times, we don't know when to pick up your luggage, so it helps to give a quick call to the Front office that your luggage is ready to be picked up (like in any other hotel)


We don't think we have the 'potential' of becoming a 5-star resort, as we already ARE one. However, we do take any comments onboard to improve our services where necessary.

Kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews