We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings - nice design, but poorly maintained, understaffed, & overrated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paresa Resort Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paresa Resort Phuket
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
162 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings - nice design, but poorly maintained, understaffed, & overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed at Paresa a few weeks ago for a wedding, and the location was remote, but I was expecting it, and stayed at the hotel for the whole weekend. My first impression was pretty good, as there were bell boys available to assist with luggage and we proceeded to the lobby for check in. The lobby was nicely designed with a tall ceiling. The front desk staffs, also called the angels, were helpful and friendly, and as expected, the rooms were not available. We were told to wait in the restaurant. Despite advertising of having a Thai and an Italian restaurant, they are basically the same restaurant, but have two different sets of menus. The restaurant is also outdoor with no air conditioning. I really have issues with that arrangement. I don't mind hotels having an outdoor section, but Phuket is hot and I think there should at least be an indoor section or even a second restaurant that is fully air-conditioned and indoor. The food especially the Thai menu was very good, and the Friday night Italian buffet was fairly priced and features many food. The breakfast buffets were also nice, and each guest got to choose one freshly cooked hot entree. However, other than the supervisors, the restaurant staffs were poorly trained and some of them were quite rude, which I was surprised given how hospitality standard in Thailand is quite high, and Paresa is a 5 star resort. Back to our room situation, it takes them quite a while to get the room situation resolved. So my first warning is that "don't expect early check-in with this hotel, and be prepared to wait a while if you are taking an early flight! Or book a flight that arrives after 2pm" From the airport to the hotel, it took around forty-five minutes with very whiny road when we get closer to the hotel.

Second warning: this resort is located in a cliff, which requires lots of walking up and down stairs to reach the public pool and the spa, even there are golf cart services. You have to walk up and down the stairs to reach your room, and some of the suites are definitely not suitable for children. So if you cannot walk up and down stairs, you need to avoid this hotel. This resort is definitely aimed for able-bodied and physically fit younger couples. If you are traveling with elderly or really young children, I will pick a more family friendly resort.

We booked the basic hotel suite with a pool but shared with the neighbor, which was another wedding party that we know. So it was not problem! The room was pretty good-sized, but you can notice lots of wears and tears in the room. The bathroom was nice with two individual faucet and cleaning station, and there was a bathtub and a full sized shower. However, there were no hand soaps available when we arrived in the room and we had to call to request one. The shampoo/conditioning/bath gel are products of Thann.

Other than the angels, service is definitely lacking in all departments, as most staffs cannot even speak basic English. Some of the housekeeping staffs try very hard but the language barrier is an issue. Housekeeping is slow, as the hotel is severely under-staffed. I have a feeling that the recent troubles in Thailand has affected the number of tourists, and the hotel is forced to offer more promotions and they have to cut back somewhere.

In conclusion, I am disappointed and will not likely to return here in the near future. I will also reiterate that this hotel requires moderate walking especially up and down stairs to reach the spa and public pool area, even some of the suites. So this is not a resort for the elderly couples and young children. If you hate stairs, you should not even think about it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MirkoParesa, Front Office Manager at Paresa Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
What a great occasion to stay at Paresa to attend the special day of family members or dear friends, a merry opportunity not to be missed upon receiving the invite! We would like to thank you for the kind feedback provided and we are confident that you have enjoyed your stay, Comments, suggestions and warnings are always well accepted at the Heaven of all Heavens, despite at times they are discordant among them. Indeed the steep cliff side location that is home to Paresa calls for some physical efforts which can be bypassed by the availing of the punctual and courteous Club Car service. You are rewarded nonetheless by a number of known unique features such as the grand views over the Andaman Sea, the exquisite modern southern Thai design and the luscious tropical vegetation surrounding our peaceful and idyllic resort, all these combined makes Paresa the resort of choice for guests holidaying in Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    115
    46
    25
    10
See reviews for
67
512
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Paresa is truly a special place - best suited for a honeymoon or the type of R & R trip where you do not want to take in a lot of local activities or require a beach. The rooms are beautiful with all the amenities. There were a lot of mosquitos which made it somewhat prohibitive swimming in our private infinity pool. The restaurant served great food and breakfast was always enjoyable. Service level great too.

In terms of location, we felt somewhat removed from the rest of Phucket. The hotel is situated on a dramatic cliff, and although there is a beach down the road, it isn't readily accessible . Because of the location, it is more convenient to just dine at the hotel restaurant, but the tradeoff is that it is relatively expensive to do so. To get around, transportation is very expensive compared to Bangkok and other parts of Thailand. In fact, prices in general seemed very inflated and the area is a basic tourist racket. I would not return to this part of Thailand again. If the Paresa were in a better location I would certainly return.

As I said earlier, if you want to just stay put in a beautiful property and money is no object, this is paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank issek1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MirkoParesa, Front Office Manager at Paresa Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
The fact that Paresa has been addressed with so many different adjectives is a wonderful reward for all Angels in recognition of the kindness and attention paid to all guests who chose our resort for its uniqueness. It is a pleasure to read the account of your stay, the public transportation options have been addressed in several reviews and regrettably stands beyond our direct control, Paresa facilitates all guest’s needs by offering competitive prices for the resort’s limousine service which present a minimal difference to what described in the review. Should your travels bring you back to sunny Phuket we do look forward to welcome you back as our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Gorgeous Cliff House with infiniti plunge pool and privacy galore. What a special place and wonderful experience. Once we came up for air (after a few days in our cliff house suite), we decided to meander down to the beach in Kamala via the free shuttle offered by the hotel. Once we got off the shuttle and started walking down the beach, we came across a Paresa staff member, waving at us and waiting for us on the beach. What a nice surprise to find our very own beach area with drinks waiting. A very special note to our driver to picked us up from the airport. We were exhausted after our long flight from the US. Bottles of cold water and cold washcloths, smelling of lemongrass were waiting for us in the air conditioned SUV. The driver was so kind and informative. We knew we were on our way to a wonderful stay at Paresa.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Cliff House upon arrival. Beautiful & private setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steilduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MirkoParesa, Front Office Manager at Paresa Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
The Angels are positive that memories of your vacation in Phuket, assisted by the hundreds of photos taken, are still vivid in your memories. The Paresa experience starts indeed right off the plane at Phuket International Airport where our airport representative and driver are happy to welcome our guests to then take them to the secluded cliff side location Paresa is renowned for on the beautiful Kamala hill. We are grateful to have been selected as your preferred resort and glad you have truly liked the Cliff Pool Villa and its privacy as well as the array of activities, matched with our signature service, to be lived through while staying in Heaven. Although not around the corner from the United States we do sincerely hope to have you back among us in the future to taste a little bit more of Heaven…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Needs much more attention to maintenance
Close off the areas not meant for guest and better signage to reception. It wasn't clear to use the lift from the restaurant up to reception. We were walking through the service alley as this is how we were first taken to the room.
Hotel shuttle service is very poor, service to Kamala stops at 5pm, whereas we could see Andarra shuttle buses running all night.
Shuttle service to Patong only runs if there was minimum 4 people, so for us it never ran. For a 5 start hotel please put on a complimentary shuttle for your guests.
Breakfast service was great, but reception/concierge was lacking

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MirkoParesa, Front Office Manager at Paresa Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
We appreciate the time spent reviewing your recent stay at Paresa. Your kind feedback will certainly be taken in consideration to add on to the services and facilities offered and appreciated by many guests who chose the Heaven of all Heavens for their stay in Phuket. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the shortcomings experienced while holidaying with us and trust these have not terribly compromised the overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My parents, my sister and I stayed at this resort for just one night. We rented a car from the airport and drove to the place. It is situated in a hilly area and there are quite a number of steps. The rooms were nice and spacious. I am not very fond of very open bathroom though. There is a library where we were relaxing for a while prior to check-in and from there we could borrow some movies. The restaurant is open-air and offers a good picture of the Andaman. The breakfast service was memorable.

Room Tip: We were in 211 and 212 and we're happy to be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MirkoParesa, Front Office Manager at Paresa Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Paresa is the perfect getaway from bustling metropolis such as Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore and Hong Kong. Its year round warm climate and picturesque scenarios are synonymous of escape, disconnection from daily routine to enjoy the company of dear and loved ones contemplating the breathtaking panoramas offered at all corners of Paresa over the blue waters of the Andaman Sea. Thank you for choosing Heaven for your family getaway, the Angels are happy reading that you have all enjoyed the spacious accommodations and services provided during your stay. We would be glad to welcome you back soon should you be planning a return visit to sunny Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at this nice resort Aqua pool room for 3 days2 nights and everything was really perfect! We came here for honeymoon and the resort arranged nice decoration for us and bath tub with flower petals. The staffs there all very friendly and the shuttle to beach club is on time and the drivers are very nice! The villa we stayed is 231, very clean and comfortable, the view just nice even there are some trees blocking. Overall, I felt that Paresa really it's heaven for couples and relax trip. Lastly, the breakfast served there is really tasty and we ate until quite full.

Room Tip: Room 231 has quite a nice view and not really very far from the restaurant and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kongpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MirkoParesa, Front Office Manager at Paresa Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Congratulation on your recent wedding, we trust you have fully enjoyed your honeymoon in sunny Phuket. All Angels at Paresa thank you for carefully selecting the Heaven of all Heavens among the numerous luxury properties available on the island, glad to read that we did not disappoint your expectations. We hope to welcome you back for a special occasion in the near future, perhaps the first year anniversary…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I just spent few days in Phuket staying in a Cielo Resident of Paresa Phuket last week to celebrate my belated birthday. It was just simply a paradise experience. The villa is huge with one master bedroom, huge bathroom, living room, dining room, kitchen and a private infinity pool. No matter where you are in the villa, the view is stunning. Because the villa is facing west, it was great sitting by the pool watching the whole breath taking sunset every day. I believe my pictures tell much more than what I said. I've also uploaded a video of the villa on YouTube. http://youtu.be/Pl32gxzCmD0

If you are going to stay in the Cielo Resident, make sure you ask for villa #161, which is located at the top of the hill. Which mean you will have the highest privacy. From our villa, we could see other villas below us but no one could see us. Also the layout of #161 is different from other Cielo. The infinity pool is located in the middle of the villa (surrounded by the living room and master bedroom with one side facing the ocean). Other Cielo are on the side of the villa with 2 sides of infinity view. It might sound nice to have 2 sides of infinity view instead of 1. However, it also means people can see you from the side as well. So there is no privacy at all when you swim. Also because it is in the highest position, it got the best view.

But honestly the service was a little bit disappointed. We arrived the hotel at 3am. There was only one staff working in the reception. There were quite a few other guests arriving the hotel at the similar time. We waited for quite a while to be served. Also the only receptionist was also the one who drove us to our villa. When we arrived the villa, the room was not really completely ready. The bed was not made. There were no towel and toiletries in the bathroom. There were dirty dishes and rubbish from the last guest in the kitchen. The rubbish bin was not clear. Because it was very late and we were very tired already. We just asked them to give us towel and toiletries. We washed ourselves and slept. We asked them to clean the room when we were having breakfast in the next morning. When we re-enter the villa, it was perfect.

We also checked out very late at 1am (we paid for both the early check-in and "early" check-out). We called the reception to send someone to bring both our baggages and ourselves to the reception. We called for 25 mins and no one answered. Luckily we arranged our transportation earlier so we did not miss our flight. I understand there will be less staff in over night shift. But if they already knew that there are guests arriving early or leave early, they should have arranged enough staff to serve the guests.

Apart from these 2 experience, the whole experience we had in Paresa was fantastic. The staff were very friendly. They speak good English (Really don't understand why some people commended that the staff don't speak English). Their service was efficient. The air-conditioner of the master bedroom was not working very well on the second night. We informed them in the morning when we were having breakfast. When we went back to our villa from breakfast, it was fixed.

We also planned and paid for our first holiday to Maldives this July. We worry that we would be disappointed with Maldives after being spoiled by Paresa Phuket. We already planned to go back Paresa in the coming Christmas.

Room Tip: If you going to stay in Cielo Resident, make sure you get Villa 161. That is at the top of the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankieToHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MirkoParesa, Front Office Manager at Paresa Resort Phuket, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Happy belated birthday! And thank you very much for choosing Paresa as your home away from home during this joyful holiday in sunny Phuket. Surely Cielo Residence #161 is a special accommodation and enjoys enhanced privacy, we really did not think a particular unit would be considered more private than others but the feedback is well appreciated. The Angels are thankful for the kind words spent on describing the services and attention received as well the compliments on the level of English spoken among them – much reassuring indeed. We are unhappy that you have had to experience short waiting time during your arrival and departure, certainly joining Paresa at night time is not the most eye-opening experience yet we shall take the highlighted shortcomings into consideration to provide consistent service round the clock. We wish you a pleasant holiday in the Maldives in July and look forward to welcome you back in the coming months, your favorite Cielo Residence and our Angels shall be waiting for you both to return…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
11.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
15.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
1.4 mi away
Andara Resort and Villas
7.1 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paresa Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paresa Resort Phuket

Property: Paresa Resort Phuket
Address: 49 Moo 6, Layi-Nakalay Road, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Paresa)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#4 Family Hotel in Kamala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Paresa Resort Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paresa Resort, "Heaven of all Heavens," is a truly unique hideaway-style luxury resort surrounded by lush tropical forest on Kamala's "Millionaires Mile." The breathtaking location is paired with uninterrupted Andaman sea views, two coveted restaurants serving genuine Mediterranean and authentic Thai cuisine, an award-winning spa and personalized Bespoke Experiences offered by our own adventure guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Destinology so you can book your Paresa Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paresa Hotel Kamala
Paresa Resort Phuket Kamala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing