We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“value for your money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamala Beachfront Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kamala Beachfront Apartment
Certificate of Excellence
Best, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“value for your money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Nice location on the bussy beachfront of Kamala beach. Big apartment although a bit outdated you get value for your money. Free wifi and a lot of restaurants on the doorstep. The apartment is without breakfast, but you can get one on every corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinkviool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    39
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
44
45
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed for 4 nights at the Kamala Beachfront Apartments. Looked fine on the website - were deciding between there and the resort, but for about $100 per night as opposed to $150 per night at the resort decided to go with it. We got back room up the top which faces onto road and the windows/door doesn't cut out any sound from the road. It's not a busy road but there's a rooster which wakes you up in the morning and you do hear cars/motorbikes going by. The kitchen and bathroom have no windows and just a feeble yellow light so was a bit depressing. If it had been cheaper then I would have said it was basic but that you got what you paid for so would be fine to recommend to people on a budget. We checked out day early and went and stayed up the road in the resort instead for our last night to have a bit more luxury and a quieter nights sleep. Couldn't compare the too, so for a bit more money, the resort was definitely the better choice!

However, would say location is central and good, and reception staff were polite and friendly. Also got free wifi in the room which was good.

Room Tip: choose room at front of hotel near the pool as the back rooms are noisy near the road and are too da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAussie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights on our honeymoon. We did the one bedroom suite sea view. They are actually apartments, a full living room, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. The bed was hard and not that comfortable and it was a bit dated. Overall I'd recommend this for a family since its a lot of space. We didn't need this much space so would of preferred something else. It is beach front but not the beach you go lay out on, that is further down... maybe a 10 minute walk. I enjoyed the salt water pool. The wifi only works in the lobby but you have wired internet in room. Overall I'd say this is a good budget accommodation but wouldn't pay to much for it unless you are a family or larger group that can take advantage of the space.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawkurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Great value for money. Charni the manager was extremely helpful in so many ways. Never had such an easy choice between beach and pool in terms of location. Downstairs by the pool were the best rooms.It was easy to have a free laundry available to guests.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronnie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed here three nights, its right on the beach. They provide free laundry machines (you need detergent) and the staff was very helpful. The room was very clean, air conditioned and a cute little patio

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamala, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I booked 3 nights in the 1bedroom Ocean view unit, which is as close to being on the sand as you'll find anywhere. The room was very clean and nice with full views of the beach and pool. Coffee on the balcony was a perfect way to start the day, and to watch the sunset. There are lots of places to eat or drink up and down the beach path.

Hotel employees were all very nice to me, including Chani at the front desk, who was very helpful in helping with internet access and with explaining and booking activities. I even goofed up my billing dates, and they did not just keep my money (like they did in Bangkok), but they found me another room, and credited me the difference in price.

Kamala is beautiful, and Kamala Beachfront Apartments is a great place place to stay. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonMacLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Good points....Very large rooms with large en suite. Rooms were clean, basic design but well equipped, tv, wifi, balcony etc. Lovely big clean pool at rear with lots of sun beds. Walkable to a must see show, Fantasea (large expensive circus show - do mind as they con you to hand in cameras so you pay 700bht+ for one of their photos)
Bad points....very hard bed but was okay for a couple of nights. Lack of staff, nor could any speak much English. Jacuzzi built into pool and had to be turned on/off via staff. Very little local amenities (use the beach heading south to find shops)
Overall....we paid half the price of other hotels and this was a bargain even though it had its faults. We enjoyed our brief stay.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.2 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
0.4 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
0.8 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala Beachfront Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala Beachfront Apartment

Property: Kamala Beachfront Apartment
Address: 107/1 Soi Police Station | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kamala Beachfront Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday apartment on the beach for people who perfer not to stay in hotels with living room and European style kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Kamala Beachfront Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beachfront Apartment Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beachfront Apartment Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing