We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic vacation, what a great resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunwing Kamala Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic vacation, what a great resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed for a week in a royal family suite. Fantastic stay - no complains whatsoever!

The pools are great and there are plenty of them, so it does not get crowded. The kids facilities and entertainment is good (althought the shows etc are mainly in Swedish).

Room was nice, well decorated and kept very clean. Direct access to pool was superb. The location is great, directly on the beach.

We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: A royal family suite is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pilvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    260
    88
    21
    17
See reviews for
555
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We've been to Phuket more than 10 times and this is one resort we definitely would like to go back to. We were there during the low season in August 2011. So we had one of the 7 large pools mostly to ourselves. We stayed at the Baby Studio that had everything you need for an infant - stroller, baby tub, high chair, changing mat etc - It's on the ground floor with our own deckchairs and a little gate that opens to the pool area. The room had a comfortable King sized bed with 2 more comfortable sofa beds. The only gripe about it is there's no bathtub.
The service and staff were good. Great attention is given to kids. Kids eat free with paying adults.
The resort is on the beach so it's a plus not having to cross any roads unlike most other resorts on other beaches in Phuket. Kamala has shallow waters making it safe for young kids to swim in. The waves are manageable making it less boring than a very calm sea.
There are just enough eateries nearby to offer variety even during low season.
We'll be back in 6 months.

Room Tip: For those traveling with older children or no children, consider booking the Royal Pool Access. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AgentBroccoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We stayed there for 4 nights. We booked the studio suite via Agoda but was given a free upgrade to Royal suite.With a 4 month old infant and 2 year old, than goodness our room was on the first floor.The resort itself is kids friendly and definitely baby friendly hence there is no issue of the baby wailing in the middle of the night as chances are your neighbour's kids will do the same the next minute. Plus,the room is really spacious and the kitchenette is very useful for me to prepare the kids' food i.e Milk etc.

The Royal suite pool access was definitely the highlight of the stay for my son as he fully utilised it the whole time we were there.For family with kids,do take the first floor room as the pool access is definitely convenient for us.Breakfast can be boring as the menu does not seems to change. For a Muslim, there is not much of a choice but that should not be an issue as my family is pretty much contented with bread and cereals.

One gripe though,the television's picture display in our room did not work twice. It took a few calls before the technician came down.Other than that, most of the staffs are friendly and always greet you with a smile.

And yes,most of the guests are European and the shows are all in Swedish hence the son did not participate in it. Location wise, Kamala beach is not that fantastic as I've been to Phuket before and found other nicer beaches. Suffice to say at least its much better than Karon or Patong. Transport to Patong or airport can be very expensive.

Overall, I like the hotel concept and it did live up to my expectations and the fact its REALLY kids friendly. Will I be back there again?Yes, if I have a third child in tow. If not, there are definitely nicer beaches in Phuket.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fickledsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed at the Sunwing for 2 weeks from 19th November until 3rd December 2011, travelling was 2 adults & 2 children: 7yrs and 9yrs. The hotel itself is lovely, we had a Royal pool access room, and the children's bed were converted sofa's, which were very comfy, as was our HUGE bed! When we arrived at our room at 1am, unfortunately the children's beds were not made up, so we had to call front desk and get housekeeping in. They arrived within 5mins and it was done quickly and with a smile! Waiting in the room was a welcome basket of fruit, crisps and nuts, a small bottle of rum, and mini bottles of red & white wine! also in the fridge were soft drinks for the chilrdren, all complimentary. The only drink replenished daily were the 2 glass bottles of water, much needed after a hot day on the beach/pool! We also had robes for each of us and room slippers.. a lovely added touch!
The breakfast was included in our price, and was very nice. Lots to choose from with some small changes each day. But the children were happy with lots of cereals/breads/pancakes/donuts to choose from, aswell as juices, milk and tea/coffee. the cooked options were always hot and plentiful even on busy mornings! (even the heart shaped fried eggs!). My only gripe is that the staff come round more frequently with the tea/coffee pots as very often our table was missed - but only a small grip with a wonderul breakfast time!
Lunch & dinner could be taken in the La Tasca restaurant (the hotel's main restaurant), which offered a take away option of pizza's, burgers, tex mex etc, or you could pay a set price and eat at the buffet, which was also always plentiful and offering lots of choice. The good thing about the buffet was that 2 adults ate, then the 2 children were free, and could help themselves from anything from the Lollo & Bernie buffet area (kids area). The dessert table and ice cream section was always yummy too! There is also Fino restaurant down on the beach front, offering the same child eat free option with a paying adult. Fino is not a buffet service but choose from the menu. lots of seafood and steaks here.
We had a massage in the hut at the beachside of the hotel. the kids loved it, and it was nice being able to go in together. each massage was 300bht, (about $10aus) my daughter and i also had pedi & mani's - lovely and again about 300bht each.
there are 6 or 7 pools to choose from but we stayed mainly at our room pool and the bigger pool with the slide, as after about 10.30am, there was no sun on our little balcony area, so we had to move! (another small gripe!)
I mention the next part this far into my review, as i dont think it made much of a difference, but the hotel does cater mainly for the scandanavian market. So the kids club activities are mainly in swedish. My son did a treasure hunt game around the hotel, & the list of items was written in Swedish, but it was translated quickly by one of the kids club team (mostly Swedish), who ALL spoke good English! The evening kids disco was in Swedish too as were most of the books & dvd's inside miniland (kids club) but again my 2 children found lots of things to do inside the club. The club were happy for us to leave our children unattended, but i think this has to do with their age. I did see parents of younger children staying with their kids to play.
The beach is a short walk from the hotel, and very nice to swim in. soft sand and very calm seas. There are a few restaurants up and down the beachfront from the hotel, and sometimes these are much cheaper than the hotel buffet, so make sure you try these as an alternative, aswell as the restaurants in the town, a short walk from the hotel. a great market is just outise the hotel entrance every friday afternoon.. a must have for those trinkets and designer souveneirs!
Evening entertainment was a group of singers, and my last gripe of the review is that they use a 2week rotation on their material. as we were there 2 weeks, and so had to listen to all the same songs for the 2nd week! but apart from that they were fun to listen to (if not a bit cheesy - maybe an update too on their material!!
sorry for the long review, but i like reading in depth reviews to give me a good insight into what my money is going to get me! so i hope you feel the same.
Sunwing is a lovely hotel, set in beautiful grounds with wonderful staff..I wouldnt go there again, as next time i'm in Thailand it will be without the kids and this is a definite kid friendly hotel!!
any questions, dont hesitate to mail me!

Room Tip: if you want a quiet nights sleep, get a top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank tallulahjemima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miles, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Overall a good resort for families with young kids, the family rooms are great with the second bedroom and is very close to the beach (2 mins walk straight out the front, no roads to cross)
The breakfast buffet is good with a huge selection and is definateley worth including.Was not aware when booking that this is a hotel which largely caters to scandinavian tourists.So all the live entertainment(child shows +adults is in Swedish, though the stage show is very proffessional it is a bit weird and surreal with four young swedes in sparkly costumes singing pop hits of the eighties and nineties in a strange choreographed mini extravaganza for two hours straight.You have to see it to believe it , must be a swedish thing.The resort is quite central to Phuket but haggle with the taxi drivers as they tell you fares are set which is bollocks and very expensive compared to anywere else in asia i have been.Oh and watch out the thai ladies in the convenience shop will skim a few baht off your change if they think you are not counting
But generally a good clean location from which to explore the island with kids

Room Tip: with kids the bottom floor rooms are better, the second floor rooms are cheaper but is nice to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chris7440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottenlund, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at Sunwing Kamala for the 2 last weeks of Nov 2011, and it was overall a really nice experience. Our kids loved the pools, the entertainment, the Miniland, the nearby beach and so did we.
We travelled with our 4 year old daughter and son of 1 and a half, had booked a Happy Baby suite which had all the amenities you need when travelling with small kids.
Everything was very clean and bed was huge.

Breakfast buffet was plentiful, however we found the lunch and dinner a la carte a bit basic. The dinner buffet was at times ok, but we ate out a lot. A plus is the Lollo and Bernie Kids Buffet which comes free with a paying adult.

Internet is expensive - which was a surprise (900 Baht for 6 hrs was the best deal)

Every friday there is a huge market across from the hotel - we found all the same polo shirts, sunglasses, T-shirts etc for a fraction of the price we paid for the same items in Patong.
Tuk-tuk or taxi to Patong is 400 Baht each way, 600 to Karon.

City of Kamala is not interesting we found, however the beach is great for kids. No big road to cross and the water is shallower than for instance Karon beach.
There are a few shops selling the usual stuff and about 5-10 beachfront restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sture O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundanoon, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

This place was pretty good but there were a few issues which I am sure people will find if they go there.
We went with our kids nearly 3 and nearly 5 (as they tell everyone).
I think we had a studio room. It was on the 2nd floor above a pool. Our balcony was easily accessed by both kids and had a table and chairs on it. this meant the kids could easily get out and climb up onto the table and fall. A higher lock or one with a key would make it safer.
We were told by our travel agent that both kids could go into the kids club so we chose this over another because it looked good. We were given a tour upon arrival and nothing was said. So we booked a day trip and planned other shopping and massages around the kids club but then found out when we tried to put them in for an activity that we needed to pay for a baby-sitter to be in there and that we couldn't leave the premises when they were there.
It was very disappointing as we had badly needed a break from the kids.
most of the entertainment and kids activities are in Swedish as this resort seems to be aimed at that market.
The internet was very expensive (most places offer free WiFi access).
If the kids were older then it would have been better but it isn't much of a relaxing time when you have to look after them all the time in a foreign environment.
Kamala beach is nice.
We hired a car from the Kamala Beach Guest House for 4 days (800bht/day with insurance) and drove around Phuket after our plans were ruined. It is easy to drive here and the taxis are a rip-off. Watch what the locals pay for things at the markets if you want to get the real prices.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ricoc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.1 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
2.7 mi away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 7 in Bang Tao Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
10.1 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Kamala Beach

Property: Sunwing Kamala Beach
Address: 96/66 Moo 3 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#7 Family Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. The resort includes all the fun, adventure, and luxury that families want most, elevating the family vacation to world-class standards on the unspoiled Kamala beach of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Sunwing Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Sunwing Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing