We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for baby|kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Very nice family resort at a great location, I would definitely stay again! I was with my baby and had all facilities, including a baby stroller (this one was rental but if you stay at the Happy Baby Studio you will get it for free). Large pool area (with 6 or 7 different pools) and the beach was right there just outside the hotel. Stay away if you want a childfree vacation :-D

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a baby or child, do stay in one of those happy baby studio. I tried to up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaCalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed at Sunwing Kamala for two weeks with family in a pool access room. Our kids had their own room which whilst they could not guarantee us getting side by side rooms, we were pleasently appreciative when they told us on check in that it was possible.

The rooms are ideal. Microwave, large fridge and huge, comfy bead. I wasn't truly looking forward to another Thai bed experience but again was surprised to find one that was perfect. The pool access was the bomb. So much better than 'finding a spot by the pool'. The other aspect is that you develop friendships with your neighbors, similar to camping etc.

The restaurants, cafe and room service was great. Fino's for lunch is top notch and then for dinner, it steps up and provides a very affordable yet scrumptious menu that we frequented often. I'm not used to dining at resort facilities as they are usually overpriced. Not this place!

Location was great. A five min walk into town via the beach. No one hassles you to buy anything other than a friendly single offer. Once in town, you're left alone which is brilliant.

Went diving with Merlin Divers, boating with Phuket Sail Tours and Simba Sea Trips. All were excellent. Phuket Fantasea however, don't waste your time!

We were there for the tsunami scare however the information and organization from the staff was great. The manager kept us well informed as did his English / Nordic speaking staff. Because we were on the ground floor, we headed up to the roof. A lovely Swedish family offered us their room as they relocated to nearby family rooms. Whilst we only needed it for an hour or so, it was one of the nicest things that has ever happened to me whilst traveling. After the warning was cancelled, the resort provided us with an emergency meal of chicken wings, stir fried noodles and fruit. All free of charge, I was yet again very impressed.

I would happily recommend this hotel for families from all cultures and will surely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the pool access rooms. Just leave me one when I return!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AWW70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed for only 2 nights as we had to delay flights due to illness and our previous hotel was booked, nice hotel, good food, reasonable kids club, lovely pools though we could not use them. Nice walk to Kamala and quiet location.

Room Tip: The studio rooms are great, just ask for one away from the dining area, as that is where the enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMT2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This if family hotel and almost all guests were families with children. Spacious and clean rooms, great pool area. Room included two bottels of drinking water everyday. Large pool area with several different pools. Kids club with daily program if needed. Beach was just outside the hotel. Only trouble we had was few electricit breaks (approx 5 minutes) during our stay - everything worked as it was supposed to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juttis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We spent 14 nights at Sunwing Resort Kamala Beach as a famly of 4. The location was amazing, the beach is just outside the resort with lost of places to eat and many little beach side stalls. The resturants inside the resort were very affordable and the food and service was exceptional, we ate at the resort resturants many times and enjoyed every meal.
We stayed in the Royal Family Pool Access rooms and this enhansied our stay even more, to have to pool access from your room was fantastic, the convienience of being able to duck back in your room for whatever reason was worth it.
Like other reviewers have said the resort does cater to the European visitor and we knew this thanks to TA, we did not book this hotel for the evening entertainment or the kids club (our children are to old) we choose it for it's location and price. And for us, price was outstanding and location perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anttrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for 6 days with our 10 and 7 year old children, we had an amazing time, the hotel is clean and the pools were gorgeous, we used a different pool each day, the resort never felt to busy. The beach was on your door step with lots of stalls and a gorgeous pancake tuc tuc.

Very enjoyable stay

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Rachel1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

In the 90´s, me and my wife used to enjoy holidays in Phuket, sometimes more than once a year. We returned recently, after many years. Things changed a lot, and… not for better!
But Kamala Beach Resort Resort/Sunwing Resort is still a very pleasant place to stay. The hotel has a large number of rooms but, surprisingly, if you decide to stay in any one of the many swimming pools, they don´t seem to crowdy. The beach is just a few steps away and the sea water is still fantastic, but there are too many sunbeds and beach umbrellas, and it seemed to me that at least 1/3 of them are not necessary…
The rooms are large, clean, and well equipped. I reported a malfunction of the air conditioner and it was promptly maintained. Breakfast at the restaurant near the beach was a little bit too busy, so we decided to use the other restaurant near the big pool.
The staff is friendly, and – most important – honest! When I left the hotel I forgot a purse in my room with around 300 euros, a few hundred Hong Kong dollars, a camera´s flash memory, battery, and some other small belongings. Well… I have everything back in Portugal and the assistance of Sunwing´s staff was outstanding. Thank you Renelyn, Wilasinee, Wissut, and others whose names I don’t know. You were fantastic!

Room Tip: Pay attention: if you want a quiet room, choose Kamala Beach Resort, because it only accepts guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oscar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.1 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
607 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Kamala Beach

Address: 96/66 Moo 3 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#4 Family Hotel in Kamala
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: £76 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. The resort includes all the fun, adventure, and luxury that families want most, elevating the family vacation to world-class standards on the unspoiled Kamala beach of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunwing Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Sunwing Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing