We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A holiday with a bit of everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunwing Kamala Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A holiday with a bit of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom suite (I don't share) with our two girls from the 10/08-18/08/12. The resort came highly recommended from my best friend and I wasn't disappointed! Positives- resort is well maintained with beautiful gardens and well appointed and clean rooms, there are numerous pools - 2 of which have waterslides, the included breakfast- AMAZING, kids entertainment (cartoons on big screen and coloring in near restuarant)was okay, a minimart close at hand with other (cheaper) shops only a 10 min walk away, massage huts nearby(I miss you!), a good (better in high season) selection of resturants on the beach, a BEAUTIFUL beach, a short took-took (or other) ride into Patong.
The downsides- the kids club needs to pick up their game. The kids room looks tired and you have to stay on site with the kids(silly). The family shows start at 8pm at night- this is too late for kids who have been in the pool all day.
This place was FANTASTIC value for money. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madamchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    261
    88
    21
    17
See reviews for
557
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We (a family of four with one 5-year-old and one 7-year-old) stayed at Sunwing Resort Kamala for six nights in July 2012. This is our second time staying at Sunwing Kamala, and it did not disappoint us. There are many many resorts in Phuket. We continued to stay at Sunwing Resort Kamala because it is very children-friendly - great swimming pools with slides, children eating freely on children menu with adults eating at hotel restaurant, children activities, evening shows, open-air movie watching. My children loved to watch movie like Tom and Jerry or Disney. They seemed to have a lot of fun when a group of children sat together under the screen.

One downside was that not many children activities and shows were provided during low season. Compared to our first visit in July 2011, there were many more guests with children in our second visit. So I wrote in the hotel's feedback form that more children activities and shows during low season would be much appreciated. Another downside is that the area Kamala Beach where the hotel situates is not very developed and attractive. We went to Kata Beach once, where you are surrounded by a long, white sandy beach with many bars, restaurants and shops.

Here I would like to talk about Phuket as a vacation destination. Many people have said that they would stay away from Phuket. As our direct flight stopped at Phuket, we stayed at Phuket for some days then we headed to Ao Nang, Krabi. If we go to southern Thailand again, we will not choose Phuket too. For one thing, transportation is a big problem and it is unreasonably expensive in Phuket. Unless you self-drive, you have to pay 400 bahts one way from Kamala to Patong, 600 bahts one way from Kamala to Karon Beach, 700 bahts one way from Kamala to Kata Beach, 1800 bahts for half-day tour, and 2500 bahts for full-day (8 hours) tour. These taxi fares are standardized in all Phuket beach/hotel areas. Another thing I dislike transportation in Phuket is that taxi service is run by a zoning system. In July 2011, we were able to hire a private driver for a 10-hour city tour at 1500 bahts. When we contacted the same driver for the same service this year, he told us that he could not pick up guests from Sunwing Resort Kamala. As I contacted a few private drivers and the hotel management, I learnt that the zoning system allows taxi drivers to drop off guests at hotels but prohibits them from picking up guests. This system is meant to protect the interest of the taxi drivers in their respective areas. That's why the taxi fares are standardized for tourists. In other words, unless you self-drive, you are "forced" to use the taxi service right in front of the hotel you stay. Incidents happened that private drivers were beaten up by taxi drivers when they came to pick up guests from the hotels. Kamala is one of the areas that private drivers would not go there any more.

Even though I talked about the downsides staying in the Kamala area and Phuket, I continued to rate Sunwing Resort Kamala Beach excellent. If you look for a resort for your young children, Sunwing Resort Kamala Beach is excellent. My children love it. They would say they want to come back!

Room Tip: Studio rooms are already good for value - a large bed and a sun bed. They are for 2 adults and 2 ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

i liked this hotel specifically because it is the best for families with children.kids have so much to do in this hotel that u dont need to step out of the hotel. they have various activities. and large indoor payroom as well out door playing area.the have seven pools with slides. just laze around and relax.great fun for all of us.
children have a special menu which comes free while eating with adults.

Room Tip: since were had take a family royal room with access to the pool we had a great time.just jump in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faisaldaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Excellent Family hotel. I was with my wife, my two and three years old kids in happy baby studio. Perfect hotel with great fully equipped room which comes with pantry with medium size fridge, plastic kids dishes etc.. , safe swimming pool for kids, healthy food with different tastes, great facilities like play grounds and play room, Good activities. Hotel location is a on a clean beach but the time we were there it was wavy,10 min walk to Phuket Fantasea and if you are there on Friday there is a local friday market 3 min waking from the hotel.

Room Tip: choose the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YWali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a great difficulty in finding a room for 2 adults and 2 kids in the Phuket area. The Sunwing Resort was the only option within our budget. We were pleasantly surprised when we got there. The room was big enough to have a king-size bed and two sofabeds. The whole resort was well maintained. The pools are great and there are plenty of sun chairs. You can watch your kids swimming from the balcony. Beach is only a couple of minutes walk away.
Two minor negatives: breakfast is expensive if you have not bought it in a package; the resort is far from the main street and it is dangerous to walk along with the busy traffic.
One observation about Thailand - almost everyone is expecting a tip, even the immigration officers. So prepare plenty of 50/100B notes, just in case.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2_plus_2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra ACT Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

If your are a family you could'nt ask for better,location choice of beach/pool/food/ammentities.
We travelled as a couple and stayed in a royal studio pool access room 3128, these are ideal for couples to stay in,away from main childrens pool area, the happy baby studios are ideal for families,next to childrens pools.Restruant meals excellent,and not expensive compared to restruants & clubs in Australia, sure you could go out and pay a little less in the local places which are not too far away,but you don't know how good it is, until you get it, and I can say,after staying at 7 different resorts in Phuket over the years, the food at Sunwing is the best of them all. Staff very obliging(just have patience they have to try and understand all languages NOT JUST ENGLISH)In short a very good 81/2 out of 10 to Sunwing resort

Room Tip: Couples royal family studio ground floor pool access rooms preferable 3120 and up in number. Coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanbee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at Sunwing Kamala for 10 nights in the middle of July. Ok if you go there at this time of year you have to expect some rain but it does not stop you from having a good time. We were with a group of 12 and while the rain came for the first few days it did not stop the kids from using all the pools. We were located in a family room (2 rooms) and thought the size was great and well appointed. The resort staff are fantastic and are always smiling which was great. One in particluar "Som" was absolutley fantastic as she babysat our kids on one evening while we went to Patong for the evening. The resort has much to offer even if it was low season with the resort so close to the beach and some of the stalls were open to it made for a really enjoyable experience. The only thing to beware of is getting a Thai massage, expect to be twisted and contorted all over the place and in the end feel a little beaten up but it was good to. I highly reccomend this place to all that have kids as this place could not be more accomodating. By the way who could complain about the breakfast menu it has everything you want and more!

Room Tip: All rooms would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.1 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
2.7 mi away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 7 in Bang Tao Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
10.1 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Kamala Beach

Property: Sunwing Kamala Beach
Address: 96/66 Moo 3 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#7 Family Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. The resort includes all the fun, adventure, and luxury that families want most, elevating the family vacation to world-class standards on the unspoiled Kamala beach of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Sunwing Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Sunwing Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing