We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious resort geared towards families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Ohaupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious resort geared towards families”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed here for the second week of our 2 and a bit week long Thailand holiday. We chose this resort as it looked like a good place to slow things down a bit and unwind after a full on week in Chiang Mai. And it ended up being a good choice. The kids immediately fell in love with the place, with its 7 pools and 2 watersides.

After reading some of the previous reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. However we were pleasantly surprised. The pools were clean and spacious, with enough area and sun chairs to accommodate everyone. The service was very friendly and helpful also. This is a big resort but the staff still manage to say hello and have a joke with the kids every now and then. We also booked several tours at the tour desk and found the staff really helpful.

But the thing that really surprised me after reading previous reviews was the restaurant. The food was really really good. Only on the pricy side if you ordered western food, and the kids ate for free from the kids buffet which was a real treat. A buffet specifically designed for kids. I have never seen my kids get stuck into dinner the way they did here.

If I have a criticism, it is the place feels a little sterile. It could do with a bit of character. Maybe having little Thai statues in the gardens and pool area. Some Thai decorations in the bedrooms, restaurant and foyer area. I realise this is a bit cliche and is done to death in most other resorts around Phuket, but at least it would remind you that you were in Thailand.

I am guessing this resort is heavily advertised in Europe as there were a lot of Europeans staying when we were there. Mainly Germans I guess by the racket they made at 5:00am when they won the world cup. The breakfast bar was almost empty later that morning.

We really enjoyed our stay at Sunwing Kamala and would recommend it to any young family wanting to stay in Phuket.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    280
    97
    22
    21
See reviews for
606
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sunwing Kamala Beach for two weeks in July 2014. Two adults and two girls age 4 and 7. We had a large family suite with a separate bedroom and a large living room with a king size bed for the kids. The hotel is very family oriented, and made our stay stress free with features such as free children buffet at dinner, large and very nice pools that where rather shallow, so our kids had a wonderful time.

The service at the hotel was also very good, the employees was helpful and always smiling.

The rooms was very well cleaned, and also the common areas was always kept very nice, there was always someone roaming the floors to keep them clean.

Will also like to mention the miniland for kids, this was great and the staff was wonderful.

A couple of times of week there was some kind of entertainment, from magic shows to acrobats and clowns. This was actually a lot of fun for both kids and adults, and suprisingly high quality, there was a lot of talent there :-)

I also have to mention the food at the La Tasca restaurant. The prices were a bit higher than in other local restaurants on some items (but extremely low compared to what we are used to in Norway), but the quality of the food and variations on menu was very good. I had some amazing filet steaks here. They had both a Thai menu and a more assorted menu with steaks, fish, italian food etc. Regarding the pricing, since the kid ate for free, we actually saved a lot of money compared to other solutions, and also my blood pressure was lower as I didn't have to use my outside voice on the kids when they didn't finish their meal or suddenly didn't like what they're served.

The only bad thing about the restaurant was that sometimes the service was a bit slow, or maybe we were just spoiled and took notice because most times it was fantastic. The food we ordered was also delivered very fast (not a full restaurant).

The breakfast was also very good with a lot of variation.

The hotel helped us with amazing tours, and they also had a taxi desk with fixed prices to most places in Phuket.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and will surely return, it is a paradise for families with kids from 0-16 years.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank rkvalvaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we stayed in the Sunwing for a week in mid-March 2014. the weather was excellent, the hotel is located in Kamala away from all the hustle and bustle of pa-tong beach and we could relax and enjoy the pool and the beach next to our hotel.
also, it is a safe area to walk around , even for a nice dinner outside the hotel. the staff was nice and helpful. most of the families who stayed in the hotel were European, Finnish, British ext. nice and polite. the hotel is family oriented and had all activities for kids: swings, painting and snaking area, slides and evening entertainment sing along. the hotel offers a pre paid package deal for babies :with high chair , stroller, ground flour room. the breakfast was nice and with many healthy options.
the only down side was the location of our room and maintenance. our room was located above the restaurant in the main building and it got noisy during breakfast and evening, also the air-condition was leaking and they didn't fix it till so we had to changed room to higher flour because of the noise and the A/C. to be honest, the hotel was a bit expensive for the room and the service we got.
I recommend this hotel only to families with small kids 0-6, older kids might get bored easily . and if you are not on a tight budget you can enjoy your stay .

Room Tip: not above the restaurant in the main Building!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siv-Travel-Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

If you have kinder / primary school kids and are looking for a great value, swimming pool heavy, tropical getaway this is a good bet. We had a lovely 2 weeks at Sunwing Kamala Beach. We had a happy baby room which was a good choice and our 6 year old daughter averaged 3 swims and a couple of kids activities per day. She had a lovely time and we got a chance of some quiet time too. The kids club is setup more for shorter visits of an hour or two without mum or dad rather than full day oddesseys. Activities were in English and Swedish. The facilities were quality, neat and clean but not lavish. The gym was small but adequate and right next to the kids club. Kamala Beach the village had a small selection of everything you need without being busy and a nice market on Fridays outside the hotel. Patong is a $12 taxi / tuktuk ride each way, so you can easily visit the madness when that takes your fancy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jarydf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good service, friendly staff and eat free for children if parents eat in its restaurant. A short street is near the resort and you can find several restaurants here when you are tired to eat the same restaurant in the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 建宏劉
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Fantastic resort for a family. Stayed with 2 adults and 4 kids (3-11yrs).
Rooms in block 3 overlook the pool. Lovely views. we had two rooms next to each other. More than enough room for 6 people.
Meals at La Fino by the beach were great. Kids eat for free when dining with parents at both restaurants. It means it is a very cheap meals deal for a family.
If staying, check rates to hire a taxi for a half or full day. good rates from hotel and very safe.
Also, book activities locally (like Jackie Lee) as they offer substantial discounts which the hotel wont do.

Room Tip: Block 3 great, overlooking main pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notausedscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great hotel if you have little ones as it caters for them perfectly. Im sure any child would rate this hotel highly, but after coming from a 4 Star hotel in Kata I must admit, from an adults point of view it felt like we were staying at a 3 Star here. Don't get me wrong, it has elements of a 4 Star hotel but then other things just didn't feel that way.

Pros - Location, it's one of the better resorts within walking distance to most things in Kamala. Kids club & activities - very well arranged (Rose in the kids club is lovely too). Pools - alot of space to swim without being on top of each other, also kids slides were great. Breakfast - alot to choose from & kitchen staff were always happy to help with any special orders. La Tasca restaurant kids menu - free meal for little ones if purchasing main meal for adults. Laundry facilities - fantastic if traveling with family. The Friday night market in front of the hotel is a great little market.

Cons - As this is a child focused hotel it gets noisy from early in the morning with kids going down the hallways to breakfast (the doors don't offer any sound barrier), so even if your little ones are sleeping you will likely be woken by others. Some of the finishes around the premises are not equal to 4 star quality - some of the pools have tiles that have fallen off & grout work is messy (in particular the pools in front of the La Tasca restaurant). The pools the other side of the building behind the laundry appear to be in much better condition. Cracked tiles in our bathroom & constant daily issue with ants in the kitchen area of our room. There are alot of additional charges for things like printing up boarding passes, playing on the pool table, using a dvd player, wifi not being used in restaurant or reception, etc that add up & most other hotels include these in your room rate.

The Hotel has also have had several cases of Hand Foot & Mouth disease lately. I know this is highly contagious & management have informed me they are trying to eliminate the chance of others being infected as much as possible. When my children were in the kids club one of the ladies kindly informed us that a month before we came someone had it, hence the need to sanitise hands when leaving the kids club. My son unfortunately picked it up & thankfully didn't show any symptoms until the flight home. I have contacted the hotel management & they have since informed me that there were 2 other cases reported to them in June aswell.
Just be wary if you are pregnant & traveling to this hotel, as it can be fatal to an unborn, if the mother gets it.

The staff were lovely & always happy to help.

Depending on what type of holiday you are after & what age your children are would be the determining factor of staying at this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank VZen1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.1 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
10.1 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Kamala Beach

Property: Sunwing Kamala Beach
Address: 96/66 Moo 3 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#7 Family Hotel in Kamala
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. The resort includes all the fun, adventure, and luxury that families want most, elevating the family vacation to world-class standards on the unspoiled Kamala beach of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunwing Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Sunwing Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing