We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had the whole place practically to ourselves”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Had the whole place practically to ourselves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Came at the beginning of low season, and, WOW, was it ever low season at this hotel. We only saw 4 other families at breakfast, and had our own pool the whole time, actually could have had 5 pools to ourselves if we wanted, not a soul was to be seen sunbathing on the lounge chairs or anything. Only one other family was swimming in the neighboring pool, otherwise all were empty. Was great to see that the staff was using low season to do some real spring cleaning, they were scrubbing the unused rooms like crazy. Hotel is very new and very clean, but does not feel Thai by any means. We probably wouldn't stay here in high season, because then we'd only meet neighbors from Norway and Denmark and Sweden, and the reason we go to Thailand is to escape Scandinavia.
One thing I thought was odd was that even though there was barely anyone there, they put us right next door, wall to wall with other guests. They even put someone right above us. They sure had enough vacancy to spread us out, even within the same building (there are at least 5 buildings I think. And most of them were being cleaned, so we were all in 2 or 3 buildings.) Very comfortable beds, for Thailand standards. We've stayed at 4 other resorts and the beds tend to be rock hard down there, but this bed had a pillowtop which helped. The pool access room was great, I'd get one again, and absolutely get one if going there in high season so you wouldn't have to fight for a pool lounge.
Customer service was great, talked directly to the manager to get a lower price (same as booking.com) and he arranged it for us. The front desk couldn't bend on their price, but the manager could. Another bonus of being there in low season. The front desk also organized our taxi back to the airport, and gave us an extremely fair price. Kids' club (MIniland) was also very empty, so the kids got very personal service.
Pools were great, great size and depth for two little boys who learned how to swim while we were there.
The hotel is actually not completely beachfront, as advertised. There are maybe 8 beachfront bungalows that are part of the hotel, and those ARE beachfront, but the rest of the hotel and all the pools are about 200 meters from the beach. If you want true beachfront for a Sunwing hotel, stay at the Sunwing on Bangtao....one foot in the sand, one foot in the pool. Our criteria for this trip was beachfront hotels, and all the other hotels we stayed at were right on the beach. THis was definitely not far, but not RIGHT on the beach. When at the pool, you'd never know how far it is to the beach. The advantage with Sunwing Kamala is that there is a LOT more town that you can walk to. I reccommend the Beer House restaurant (the one up the stairs on the main road). Excellent food, very nice people who work there. We ate there twice in 4 days.
The market right outside of the hotel on Fridays is great, better prices than in Patong. For example, the same Manchester Utd football outfit for boys was 250 baht at the Kamala market (first and last price told by the sellers, they don't bargain much at this market, their start prices are low as it is) whereas in Patong, their starting price was 750 baht. Tuk tuk to Patong was just 350 baht each way, so it was easy and cheap to get there.
Only negative I can think of is that the staff speak extremely poor english, really hard to understand, and to be understood, even at the restaurant. But they tried hard.
All in all: very new, very clean, nice-sized family rooms, good staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borinorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    272
    94
    21
    20
See reviews for
584
49
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cochin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

THis place was recommended by a friend to me and it did come higly recommended.and it did not fail disppoint us the least bit.The hotel is right alongside the Kamal beach so its perfectly safe to go sit on the beach at night .we had our dinners on the beach which was really awesome and you have tonnes of options right alongside the beach.The rooms are excellent very very clean and well maintained. There is huge pool right in the middle of the resort. Breakdfast spread was also pretty descent .This was a perfect place from the hustle and bustle of the city. And folks who want to visit fantasea this is the ideal loc as it is just across the street from the resort. Overall a great place to stay with your family or friends .We are definitely coming back.
Cheers !!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manumampilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed at Kamala beach resort with our young children in April.
That was the largest hotel we stayed in our 4 month sabbatical trip that just ended this April. It reminded us a lot of the large Mexican resorts. The hotel was beautiful, breakfast was plentiful and included in the rate, it had more than 10 pools and its location right on the beach. For many people that would be enough reason to stay there. But personally, we were expecting something a bit more authentic because we were in Thailand, not exactly a piece of Scandinavia on the Andaman coast. From the style the rooms to the restaurant (that looked like Ikea) the kids programs also offered in Scandinavian languages and the ABBA night with the 70s costumes, it was hard to believe we were in Phuket.
We learned that the hotel is geared towards Scandinavian tourists, who go to the entire area a lot. Probably more than 80% were from the Nordic countries, which would explain the efforts the hotel puts to accommodate their tastes.
It doesn't have free internet, which was odd in such a big hotel. We paid around 20 dollars for 4 hours of use, and lost a good part of the money when the network was down. Other smaller hotels in Thailand always provided that service for free.
This hotel is good if you have very young kids, due to the setup of the pools and if you just want to be near a beach and relax. If you are looking for something more authentic and original and would like to experience true Thai hospitality, than maybe you should look around some more.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

Resort which caters mostly for Scandinavian families with young children. Clean rooms, OK food and professional entertainment for the kids (Lollo & Bernie concept).

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrikH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

Sunwing Kamala was a great resort. It had fantastic facilities, amazing staff and lovely rooms. We stayed in a two bedroom suite which catered for us well. Highly recommend it as a holiday destination. Great location also. Beach at end of resort and shopping/eating area a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mum3tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

Beautiful beach, crystal clear water, great resort for family's with kids, many swimming pools. Great personal service. Walk to local shopping and restaurants along beachfront. Full of tourists from the Nordic countries. Lot's of Abba music.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefareast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.1 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.7 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 7 in Bang Tao Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
10.1 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
14.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Kamala Beach

Property: Sunwing Kamala Beach
Address: 96/66 Moo 3 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#7 Family Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. The resort includes all the fun, adventure, and luxury that families want most, elevating the family vacation to world-class standards on the unspoiled Kamala beach of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunwing Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Sunwing Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing