We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay but need to change name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay but need to change name”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at Absolute Nakalay for a week and mostly enjoyed our stay. On the positive side the service was great with all staff very welcoming and always happy to do anything for you. House keeping always made sure the room was cleaned everyday and the laundry service was also good. On the negative side we arrived to find out a room hadn't even been booked for us even though I had documents showing confirmation of our booking.
On our last night there we decided to cook a meal in our room only to find there were no knives or forks to eat with.
The name should not be Nakalay Beach Resort as there is nothing to do with a beach at the place.
We were also told as part of our stay there we had to attend a 90 minute session about joining their travel club which I refused to go to.
All in all we did enjoy our stay there but next time will stay at an actual resort.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear KenL

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you found the staff at Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort to be helpful and the service of a good standard. I have spoken with housekeeping to make sure that all rooms have the full inventory of cutlery etc and can only apologise for this error.

With regards to your booking it would appear that no information of your imminent stay was passed to our staff and accordingly you did not appear on our list of incoming arrivals. This is under investigation with the company.

thanks once again for your review.... all feedback is valuable and lessons are learnt.

Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    32
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
22
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We are twice unhappy about this place.

First of all, we have been victims of a fraud system from the Absolute membership. The year before, somebody informed us we won a free holiday week in Thailand, then we had to go threw a whole process of 4 hours brainwash to buy a 8000€ membership ! We did it more to be relieved from this everlasting talk and get what we were supposed to win. We finally got our gift : a week in Absolute Nakalay, what a gift !

For a travel lodge, it would be fine but for the paradise exotic trip you expect in Thailand, forget it ! The rooms and the pool seem to be nice but once you spend a night there, you realize you cannot sleep because of the noise from the big road behind, you have no sea view ( except if you have paid your VIP membership ! ) and when you try to go on the beach, you have to walk along the road to find a way threw electric cables and pieces of broken bottles. The best is the cops waiting for you at the end to avoid you to go on the next hotel's beach which is of course a lot more welcoming with deckchairs, umbrellas, towels, etc.

My best advice is for you to avoid anything to do with Absolute, either hotels and accommodations nor membership, which is the worse money sucker from dishonest people trying to get smart people into their endless system where you'll never find anything according to classy standards.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Godmihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kamala hotels

Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My husband and I had just spent 5 days at the resort. We have nothing but praises for the service we got at the hotel. The rooms were big and comfortable. We could catch the shuttle bus to and from Patong 5 to 6 times a day. We had a beautiful sea view room as requested. The service staff tries their best to accommodate our request in the shortest time. They are all smiley and polite. It's so nice to see a smiling face first thing in the morning and last thing at night.
The only fallback of the hotel is that there is no access to the beach. As my husband and I both are not beach goers, that didn't bother us one bit.
Thank you for making our stay such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaybeLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear LLinAdelaide

thank you for taking the time to review Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort following your stay with us.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Having been to Phuket 3 times before, my wife and I were looking for somewhere a little quiter than Patong.
We stayed in a Penthouse room with wonderful ocean views. The upstairs lap pool and jacuzzi was ensured the perfect relaxation we expected, and for anyone over 50, this should be your next holiday destination.
All staff, with the exception of a stand overish young lady at reception, were wonderful and could not help enough, always with the loveliest of Thai smiles.
Patong was close enough, but far enough away, with the occaisional tuktuk trip back to Nakalay after a few drinks.
A great supermarket in Junlceylon will provide all your needs for both eating in your room and the odd beer or ten, at very cheap prices,
Overall, would go back tomorrow for another 2 weeks.

Room Tip: pool side penthouse room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear ian m

Thank you for your most generous review which has been shown to the staff at Nakalay. They are all very pleased to have had you as a guest and appreciate your comments. Your comments, along with those of all our guests, are constantly used as a measure or our performance and indicator of where we need to improve.

We hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to this area.


Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

OK. If you are English I would liken this "Hotel" to a Travel Lodge (not Premier Travel lodge). If you are looking just for somewhere to sleep for the night and want this just for a base whilst you go out and about round the island then it will do. The rooms are a decent enough size with what you need in them. Ours had a small balcony which looked out onto a massive tree and nothing else. We didnt ever sit on it. However if the tree had not been there there was nothing to look out on anyway. The Hotel is right near a main road so it is noisey during the day and at night. If you chose to stay near the pool you had to put up with this. There is no view from anywhere that would tell you you were in Thailand. It does have a bar area but you had to go and get you own drinks (they ran out of diet coke for days) and if you did not remove your own glasses they just mounted up during the day. The bar staff were too often on the internet to be bothered in serving guests. I often felt like I disturbed them when asking for anything. The food was OK. We ate at the bar and also had room service. It was fine and the price reasonable. The Hotel restaurant was really just a room off the car park. I never saw anyone eat in here and I am not surprised! The room could have been cleaner. Our patio windows had finger marks all over them where previous guests had opened and closed them. They stayed there for the entire stay. The shower was not cleaned daily. Ok it wasnt dirty but I would have expected it to be cleaned. Round our sink we had some toothpaste rings and these never got cleaned off.. Ok they were ours so.....but again I would have thought a Hotel would have removed them. I also over heard quite a few of the other guests asking for things to be cleaned up in their rooms so we were not the only ones. There is nothing around the Hotel so you either have to hire a bike, taxi or use the shuttle (reliable and on time....takes you to patong) to get anywhere.

We were due to stay here for 3 weeks but we chose to move in the first week to another Hotel that was more what we were used to in Thailand (having been to Phuket 6 times). We were prepared to pay again. I think that sums it up for us.

Summary.....if you can get at a reasonable price, only want to use it as a base for somewhere to sleep, are not too fussy and dont mind average - then fine. As a "Hotel" it falls short. "Motel" maybe.

Room Tip: I would think the rooms on the pool side first floor would be the best as they are furthest away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeicestershireDex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Dear LeicestershireDex

Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received whilst at Nakalay. An internal investigation is being carried out into the shortcomings of our services and we will act on this to ensure this does not reoccur.

Thank you for your review.


Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,281 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I will say first up that we had a wonderful stay in a studio unit at Absolute Nakalay. However, you need to know what you are getting and if it is the style and location that suits your planned vacation.
The place is only a few years old and everything still has a new and modern feel to it. Bedrooms are a very good size and well appointed with flat screen TV (plenty of channels in English and other languages), DVD and ipod connection. Wifi is free and works well. Rooms are equipped with cooktop, microwave, full size fridge and enough pots, pans, plates and crockery if want to self cater. Bathroom and shower are spacious, plenty of hot water and pressure as needed. Room was extremely quiet, we didn't hear one shower or toilet flush, and airconditioning is efficient and low noise.
Staff are friendly, and while some lack initiative, will meet your requests efficiently and are helpful.
Pool area, although not large, was never crowded and gym is spacious and has enough for general fitness with treadmill, stepper, cross trainer and bike plus free weights, bench and 3 multi purpose life fitness weight machines.
But it is not a resort. More a 4 level apartment building with pool. It takes less than 2 minutes to walk around the entire complex! There is no easy access or pleasant beach nearby. So there is nothing but your room, gym and pool. Nor can you go anywhere nearby to explore, mainly because there is nothing and if you do venture outside the complex, there are no walking paths beside main roadway.
To get to beach or shopping the hotel runs a shuttle service to/from Patong - 2 morning, one afternoon and 4 evening trips. Alternative is taxi approx 450thb or tuktuk 250thb for 10-15 minute journey. There is plenty of parking at hotel if hiring car or moped.
Restaurant facilities at Nakalay are only adequate comprising breakfast and then an all day menu of light snacks, sandwiches, pasta and thai dishes. Satisfying but not what you would want for a whole week and a limited selection.
We had spent the previous week in central Patong so had the buzz and feel of Phuket, you won't get that at Nakalay but it is great for a real chill out, or a place to rest from partying too hard and late!

Room Tip: ask for room on the pool side as views are better and will get more light throughout day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Emanpee.... We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Nakalay and are very grateful for your feedback. Nakalay is, as you say, a chill out resort and enables us to offer a different option than our more centrally located resorts in Patong. The menu at Nakalay is limited in order to be able to maintain freshness and is changed seasonally to provide variety. I am looking at a new menu being introduced next month but still maintaining the ''favourites''.

Thanks for your comments and rest assured that we regard them as a valuable tool in out management of the resort.

Geraint Lewis

Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor Harbor, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Expecting a beach resort with lovely "beach views from each villa"? Not so; only the Penthouse and maybe one or two other rooms get a beach view. Expecting to spend time on the lovely beach? It's difficult to access and is littered with all sorts, including lots of broken glass. It's just through the scratchy undergrowth, past that vicious dog protecting her pups, slippery rocks and then wade through the drain. Do you take your shoes off to risk broken glass or get the shoes wet: quite a dilemma. Island tour package? Rip-off.Our pick up was almost 2 hrs late, then the customer service manager (NOT one of the lovely resort staff) was dishonest changing the agreed pick up time. Luckliy we had our paperwork! And witnesses. Do one of the local options; plenty to choose from. Pool is nice but almost no undercover area for those heavy tropical downpours. What to do in the resort? Facebook on the 2 computers or catch the excellent punctual shuttles to nearby Kamala Beach or 20 mins to Jung Ceylon, but we soon got sick of the shops. Risky swimming amongst all that litter, and all the beaches are polluted. Cannot drink the water in Phuket for tin contamination, even if boiled. Won't be returning.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrishTravellerVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbsoluteNakalay, General Manager at Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear TrishtravellerVH

I am sorry that you had a disappointing stay at Nakalay. The actions of the Guest Service Manager has been reported to his Manager for action.

The issues with the beach area are something that we are well aware of and constantly trying to resolve. We are not satisfied with the matter either but it is proving very complicated to address.

Thank you for your valued feedback.

Geraint Lewis
Head of Resort Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
2.8 mi away
Absolute Twin Sands Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Absolute Bangla Suites
Absolute Bangla Suites
#85 of 322 in Patong
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Absolute Sea Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Kamala Resort and Spa
Kamala Resort and Spa
#25 of 36 in Kamala
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort

Property: Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort
Address: 6/113 Moo.6 | Nakalay Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand (Formerly Absolute Nakalay Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Nakalay Palms is nestled in a secluded, private cove on Nakalay beach on the Western coast of Phuket Island. With just 31 exclusive units combining contemporary design and western technology, Absolute at Nakalay Palms offers affordable luxury and convenience and provides the perfect place to relax with beautiful natural surroundings, breathtaking land and seascapes and dramatic sunsets. The resort features an exciting blend of studios, one, two and three-bedroom apartments as well as spectacular penthouses. Each spacious apartment benefits from it's own private terrace, each commanding either a stunning panoramic sea or mountain view. The apartment suites have been designed to integrate the outdoors with the indoor living areas and incorporate all elements of modern technology from full-size refrigerators to home entertainment systems. LCD TVs are in each apartment along with a DVD player and a magnificent choice of TV channels with programs for everyone. The penthouses also benefit from a private rooftop terrace and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Nakalay Beach Hotel Kathu
Absolute Nakalay Boutique Resort Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing