We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommandable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kamala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Popeye's Place Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 41 Kamala B&B and Inns
Hornbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not recommandable”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Unfortunate I have to report, that the guesthouse currently are not in good shape. It is still cheap, bu the rooms need some maintenance and hardly any staff around. The food in the restaurant has been much better and I think only a new owner, will be able to turn things around.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEClausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have been in Phuket for about 10 days, both around Kamala beach and Karon beach, tried quite a few restaurants. Popeye restaurant is the best so far. And even we moved away from Kamala beach, my boyfriend has been always saying "I miss Popeye". The food taste great, decent portion (we had some experience that the restaurant's serving was so tiny), super friendly staff. There was once, we were craving for coconut juice but they were sold out. The girl rode the bike to the supermarket and bought two coconut for us. Loved them. If you hang out around Kamala beach, make sure to try Popeye at least once.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and are traveling in thailand on a budget and stayed at popeyes for 1 week only leaving today.
The price is one of the cheapest around and we checked lots of budget hotels.
Our room is huge with cable tv, large fridge, kingsize bed and nice bathroom. İt is cleaned everyday to a high standard and fresh towels everyday.
The Hotel has a restaurant and supermarket which are both very reasonably priced. The staff are friendly and helpful.
İ wouldnt put this Hotel in the budget catagory at all but it has a budget price. We were Very comfortable here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

This is the third year we have stayed at Popeye's and once again cannot find a better place to stay. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and very well priced. Only 10 mins from beach. The food is excellent in both the resturants and good value. The supermarket is well stocked and they now have an ATM which staves a trip to town. Sven and Sam are allways on hand to to help and advise. All the staff are so helpfull and allways have a smile nothing is too much trouble. We are coming back again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alvinandmarje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed at Popeyes Guesthouse in December/January for 15 days and had a very pleasant stay. The rooms are basic, but large and clean. Good beds, aircon, fan and cable TV. A fridge and a safe provided as well.
The guesthouse has a restaurant (very good food), a mini market, a laundry and taxi service.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we found it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NEClausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
0.0 mi away
Andara Resort and Villas
0.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.0 mi away
Paresa Resort Phuket
Paresa Resort Phuket
#2 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
0.0 mi away
Phu Kamala Suites
Phu Kamala Suites
#10 of 31 in Kamala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keemala
Keemala
#11 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Popeye's Place Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popeye's Place Guesthouse

Property: Popeye's Place Guesthouse
Address: 99/25 Moo 3, Soi 10 Kamala, Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Popeye's Place Guesthouse Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing