We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food.”

SILK Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 124 Restaurants in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Thai, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Indulge in some of the finest Thai cuisine in Phuket at Andara’s renowned Silk Restaurant and Bar.The finest traditional Thai ingredients are prepared with a focus on authenticity of taste and texture with a dash of contemporary flair ensuring each meal is an unforgettable experience. The delicious creations are carefully concocted using local flavours, time-honoured techniques and the freshest ingredients.
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The food was fantastic and the menu is huge. We ate there 8/10 nights of our stay. Do not miss this restaurant.

1  Thank Katia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaKrap, Manager at SILK Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Katia S,

Thanks for your compliments about Silk Restaurant too. It is great to hear how much you liked the food especially since it was so good that you literally spent 8 nights out of your 10 days holiday with us. We hope you and your family will come back to us soon.

Pascal Frei - Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
There are newer reviews for SILK Restaurant & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 195 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The restaurant is located at the second floor of the Andara resort. You can have diner outside near the pool or inside. We made reservations at 9 PM because it was fully booked according to the manager. When we arrived half of the restaurant was empty and the interior gave a rather dull impression. At 10 PM the restaurant was empty besides us. The food was good but much too expensive. When we asked the waitress whether she could recommend us a bar for some after dinner drinks, she pointed at the empty bar of the restaurant. You can imagine that my enthusiasm for this restaurant was far gone at this point.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iELM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaKrap, Manager at SILK Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear iELM,

I would like to thank you for your review and it's nice to hear that you enjoyed our food. Please allow me to answer your comments regarding the booking, atmosphere, price and the bar. First of all, due to the fact that Silk restaurant is attached to Andara Resort & Villas it can happen that the restaurant is fully booked in the early evening and empties very quickly. Hotel guest have slightly a different time schedule than a regular dinner guest. Especially in the peak period over Christmas & New Year we have quite some families with kids in the resort which normally eat very early. We regret that it was one of those few nights when you and your party came for dinner at Silk. Obviously a half empty restaurant never has the same appearance and atmosphere like a full one. Of course we understand that with an unsatisfying start like you had it is difficult to meet the value for money requirements and we apologize that you felt the food was too expensive. I can assure you that the pricing is very much calculated to exceed the expectations of each guest and have only satisfied customers leaving Silk. Last but not least I would like to apologize if our staff misunderstood your request for a bar with more atmosphere as I only can imagine the staff understood your question as where is our bar. Once more I’d like to express our regrets for not meeting your expectations and I hope we can welcome you again in the future to show that normally a dinner at Silk is an experience.
Pascal Frei - Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Yes it's expensive and yes you can get a much more authentic Thai experience else where. However what you do get is very good quality food, in a great setting with very attentive and helpful staff. If your budget allows then it's worth it

1  Thank LeedsWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaKrap, Manager at SILK Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear LeedsWorldTravel,

Many thanks for your very objective review and your compliments. It is indeed a fact that in Thailand you can still get very cheap meals for a couple of bath in one of the many street kitchens. Obviously as you said correctly, you get what you pay for. If one likes a very authentic Thai street dish there are surely other places to go than Silk. But if one likes a very high quality, with the best ingredients cooked meal in fine location with beautiful interior, good atmosphere and attentive service, Silk Restaurant & Bar is not to miss. Once again, thank you very much for your review! It is very to the point and pleasant to read. I will surely pass to all the team.
Much appreciating, Pascal Frei - Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

First we were surprised ay interieur, becase we didnt where it is. Very impresive entrance. But food ís ordinery and unsurprising. Maybe mango desert.
thats aĺl.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aviator111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaKrap, Manager at SILK Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Aviator111,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasure to hear that you liked the design of Silk and it's entrance. Unfortunately you found the food just ordinary and we apologize for that. Our goal is of course to be extraordinary thus we just implemented a new menu 3 days ago and hope to be able to be more surprising. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Pascal Frei - Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

No amuse -bouche or titbits for the chef to show prowess, rice served slopped from a bowl not presented on the table, food ordinary, and coffee without the classy extras (maybe a choc?) all in all one can eat better for less. Nice enough setting and fine staff but not good enough for its ratings and price.

1  Thank clownfishUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaKrap, Manager at SILK Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear ClownfishUk

Thank you very much for your review and your critics. I will definitely share with the team a check how we can improve suggested. Our aim is obviously to be a fine dining restaurant and for that we will need to serve top food. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. Thank you also for the compliments about service and design of our Silk.

Pascal Frei - Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SILK Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to SILK Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing