We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big aircon rooms a stones throw from Kamala beach.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clear House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clear House Guest House
Ranked #10 of 41 Kamala B&B and Inns
Oxford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big aircon rooms a stones throw from Kamala beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here based on the Lonely Planet recommendation and were impressed with Clear House. The rooms were big, clean and the air con very new and effective. The bed was extremely comfortable and the rooms surprisingly quiet for the location. Each room has a TV with many channels, DVD player, and a stocked fridge. The only thing we found lacking was a safety deposit box. The showers deserve special mention too as they're great wet rooms, with pebble walls.

The rooms are less than a 5 min easy walk to the beach, being located on the adjacent beach road. We found the location to be excellent. Kamala itself is a lovely albeit ultra westernised resort. Full of families and older folk, but all the better for it. There is a great choice of restaurants, bars and shops along both the beach and adjacent road. Though the hotel itself has no facilities for breakfast etc, there are no shortage of options within 100m walk.

The owner is extremely friendly and helpful, and they have a reliable taxi service which we found to be a great bonus in Phuket.

We would definitely recommend Clear House. For the price we paid in peak season, we felt it was an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    36
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
30
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Has to be right on beach for 5 stars, otherwise it deserves. Only one property between Kamala beach. Very clean and cleaned every day. The manager Lady helped us modify two flights over the phone, arranged a snorkel trip for and then, because they didn't have more vacancy and we extended our stay, found us an amazing room right on the beach at her cousin's place. Benjamin guesthouse.

Really makes the difference.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

This place was exactly what we wanted- basic, clean rooms, near the beach at a good price. We stayed in Kamala during the week of Dec 25 so hotel prices on the island were very high. We knew we would not be spending much time in our rooms so we searched for budget room in a good location.

What was good:
-great location (5 min walk to the beach, bars, shops, restaurants etc)
-quiet (no street noise)
-huge shower (lots of hot water)
-comfortable bed (a bit firm)
-simple furniture (ikea style)
-run by a nice family (rented us scooters and arranged transportation for us)
-free wifi (good connection)
-good air conditioning
-all the rooms are on the first floor with small patios
-price

What could be improved:
-bathroom is out dated
-quite a few marks on the walls (it may be time to paint the place soon)
-no in-room safe

We liked the laid back feel of Kamala and had a nice stay at Clear House.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neige8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed two weeks in Clear House Dec13/Jan14. Very nice and friendly staff. The rooms were clean.
The facilities are simple but what do you need when you are on a vacation in Thailand. You are not supposed to sit in the hotelroom all day. ;-)

They did not serve breakfast but half of my vacation I was in other places and my buddies stayed in another hotel so I ate there when I was in Kamala.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nicolai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I am leaving the "Clear House Resort" this morning after a great one night stay. Building is new and clean, great view over the pool and nice toast and tea for breakfast.
Clear House is two properties - the "Resort" comes highly recommended by me, value for money and nice staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Well, I think that the price is a little too expensive for the place (no breakfast for example, no view)
Personnal are polite, and have the smile.
You can also rent motorbike.
Five minutes to the beach, by foot.

Note that to pay by credit card, they demand +3% ?!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last year, and unexpectedly finding myself in Phuket again decided to stay again as had such a good experience then, read my review from 2012!

It still has a good location, the lady now in charge is helpful but it just needs a little TLC. A lick of paint here or there, and new bed linen (it was clean but had holes etc) would bring this place back. Otherwise I still like the vibe and the layout, but it needs to improve.

I'm afraid I wouldn't go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BringBackBuck8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.3 mi away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
0.1 mi away
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
#16 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
0.1 mi away
Layalina Hotel
Layalina Hotel
#8 of 41 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kamala Dreams
Kamala Dreams
#19 of 36 in Kamala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clear House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clear House Guest House

Property: Clear House Guest House
Address: 121/2,121/10 Rimhaad Rd., Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clear House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clear House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clear House Guest House Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing