We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 of the best meals in Kamala”

Manubai Restaurant Lounge-bar
Ranked #56 of 124 Restaurants in Kamala
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“1 of the best meals in Kamala”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose to eat here at Manubai after seeing it was the No.1 rated place in Kamala, Like so many others.
And we not disappointed. First impressions as we walked in was, wow, what a lovey room. Well set tables with "clean" glasses, table runner and cutlery and napkins.
The room had a wonderful Thai feel about it and smelt of ? Sandalwood or another candle. Overall the physicality of the restaurant was appealing.
Excellent air flow and smiling staff. Then we looked at the menu. Such a large variety of choices. 3 of us took time to select a meal but No.4 was a tad slow as he just could not choose between so many dishes, Thai and Western. After a sneak look at desserts - yummo, we ordered. The drinks menu was varied to accommodate all tastes.
Our lass had a little trouble with English but with another staff member to help it was not a problem. We started with Garlic bread and Prawns that had been noodle wrapped and deep fried. Main courses were Steamed Red Snapper, Carbonara, Spaghetti Bolognaise and Chicken and Cashew with steamed Rice.
The service very friendly and quick. Generous portions and very reasonable prices, given the quality of the food. We missed dessert for another night during our stay. This restaurant is a must visit while in Kamala!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    25
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“well worth visiting”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went to Manubai tonight and were the only guests due to low season and political situation in Thailand.

Food was great; Green prawn curry was outstanding and so were the spicy beef salad and Tom Yum Goong. Service very friendly and quick. Generous portions and very reasonable prices, given the quality of the food.

Must visit while in Kamala!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreasW1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great ambience & fantastic fresh Thai food”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We loved the food at Manubai & ate there a number of times during our recent visit to Kamala.
Staff were friendly & very efficient.
Food was excellent, each & every time.
That is probably why they have the top Trip Advisor rating for Kamala Area
The owner is French & she assisted us one night by suggesting a suitable menu. It was perfect & introduced us to a dish, that we could not resist each & every subsequent visit. King Prawns wrapped in very thin Phuket Noodles, deep fried & cooked to perfection. YUM !!!!!
Do yourself a favour & go for dinner, any night except for Sunday as that is that is their day to relax.
You will be like us & return time & time again.

Thanks Manubai

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GregSherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, great service.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great surroundings, the best food and at a FANTASTIC price, go here! We ate here twice, shared our meals, everything was delicious .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I ate here after seeing it was the #1 rated place in
Kamala, however we left disappointed. Atmosphere is nice but service was not very attentive and food is good but no better than any other restaurant in Kamala. Good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manubai Restaurant Lounge-bar also viewed

 

Been to Manubai Restaurant Lounge-bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing