We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has one of the nicest landscapes I have seen. A private beach with beach villas and an enormous pool (largest in Phuket) with pool villas or hotel room up the hill ( which you reach via an old cable car). The beach villas are basic but you have all you need and in the morning you open the door and have a coffee or tea at the Terrance and watch the ocean. We loved the place only disadvantage is the food. The hotel has two restaurants which are pretty expensive and you are 39 min away from patong, so very little chance to get some cheap great Thai food. The hotel offers three times a day a shuttle bus, for the rest of the time you can order a cab. Hotel has only wifi in the lobby, I found this very relaxing, the kids not so. They also have a good gym with a helpful instructor. Overall a great relaxing place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank doritg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed a fantastic holiday experience at our resort.

We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the price of our food in the resort outlets. Obviously, our prices will be more than those you would find in a local restaurant, but we continuously review our prices and will use your comments to guide future service improvements.

I am pleased to advise you that we are now installing complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our rooms, with this scheduled for completion in the coming months.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    376
    158
    67
    77
See reviews for
315
708
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed hillside in a lovely villa with incredible views!! The resort grounds are lovely! The resort is too far to walk to anywhere and only certain taxis are allowed to enter Thavorn and they are expensive! We had issues with our safe for over 3 days and complained numerous times and eventually got a new safe however this wasn't secure and someone could have easily just have taken the safe. We had issues with the chairs on our balcony and complained numerous times. This took 5 days to fix. Everything at the resort was very expensive. Some restaurants, activities and band weren't on or open as advertised. We spoke to many guests who had changed rooms a number of times due to issues and weren't very happy with the service. Incredible views and grounds however unfortunately the service and location let this place down.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed the incredible views from our hillside villas and the spacious natural grounds in our resort.

I am sorry to hear that our levels of service didn't meet your expectations and that the high standard of service we strive to provide for all of our guests doesn't appear to have been met on this occasion. We appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the issues with your in-room safe and balcony chairs and I will consult with the resort management as to why their was a delay in resolving these issues. Rest assured we will use your comments to guide future service improvements.

Our program of activities are subject to change, especially during the low season months and we will always try to notify our guests in advance of any changes.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort, where we will strive to exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing Communication
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

From the moment you step into the resort you feel immersed into the Thai culture before westernization. The exterior of the hotel has a very traditional Thai architecture with a beautiful garden that is worth seeing. There are several statues of characters from Thai folklore throughout the resort and there are even chickens that roam freely throughout the resort. Interesting fact, at night you can find these chickens in the trees!

What is truly amazing is how tranquil it feels. This is purely because that the resort is built to look like inside a jungle. You can really sense mother nature while staying here and as a result it becomes very easy to relax.

I stayed in a villa next to the pool, which I highly recommend. My reason for this recommendation is because when you go out to the balcony there is a gate that allows you to enter the pool from the balcony area. Otherwise I believe that the rooms are very clean and comfortable. However, I did find that sometimes it was impossible to get hot water to come out of the shower. This was a problem at times, but I heard that all hotels in Phuket have the same heating system problems; but also that the Thavorn resort is better at dealing with the predicament.

Overall I believe that people should stay at this resort because the entire resort is gorgeous, is in a great location, is jam-packed with the Thai culture before westernization, and is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katumasa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your 5 Star Review, I am delighted you enjoyed a memorable experience from the first moment you arrived at our resort.

We strive to create a tranquil atmosphere that harks back to the days before mass development on the island and offers guests a relaxing experience infused with Thai traditions.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Thai Folklore statues and also our resident chickens, who are inclined to sleep where they desire.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Thavorn Beach Hotel is a wonderfull place to stay, rest and enjoy the beatiful surroundings.
We have been there a few months ago and we had a great time. Besides the perfect lodge also the great food needs to be mentioned. I recommend this hotel if you want to stay near Phuket and like to have a place for real rest at the same time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruben d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your 5 Star Review and I am glad you found our resort to be a wonderful place to stay.

Above all else, we strive to provide a peaceful and relaxing stay, where our guests have room to breath amidst the spacious, tropical garden surroundings.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the near future

Kind Regards

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Such a great privilege i ever had at there.
It's service are excellent and easy to ask help whenever we need.
Electric train is my great experience and i love to see view from my room.
Foods were so delicious and healthy.
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalrawngbawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed excellent service throughout your stay. The Cable Car is a unique experience for our guests and does of course lead to the stunning panoramic sea views from the Hillside Villas.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort again in the near future where we will strive to exceed all of your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It is a great place for a relax and quite time. You can mix and feel the nature. You can wake up, sleep and smell the nature. of course my experience was from the beach cottages. People are great and very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Chose beach cottage room. Great place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1us14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGibson, Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing time at our resort, immersed in the natural surroundings

Our beach cottages are as close as it gets to one of Phuket's few remaining unspoiled private beaches and as part of our sustainable commitment, we ensure that this setting will remain unspoiled for future generations.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future for another relaxing stay.

Kind Regards,

Roger Gibson
Director of Marketing Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Thavorn Beach resort and spa for three nights....what a beautiful resort!
The owner set out to create the best gardens in Thailand......well, he succeeded! There are acres of exotic gardens with unusual plants, rare 300 year old ebony trees, thousands of orchards, beautiful old bonsais, plaques with lovely sayings and gorgeous statues.
You can spend hours wandering through these gardens!
The resort also has its own long jetty, from which snorkling in the calm season would be fantastic!
We were lucky enough to stay in a beach front villa for 3 nights, the room was a good size with an outside bathroom, everything was clean and looked after well.
We had a lovely romantic candle lit dinner on the beach, with lovely waitresses serving us. (Thanks Noi or Nit Noi as she liked to be called.)
All the staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
Three times a day a shuttle drives to Patong town (and back) which is about 10 minutes away.
(A couple more each day would have been good)
Breakfast was varied and very nice.
The pools were large and meandered through the beautiful gardens, what a pleasure to swim in!
We would stay here again any time, it was most enjoyable and we would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Definitely the beach front villas are the best!!! Sure, you would get a great view from the beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
2.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.5 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
600 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,976 reviews
8.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa

Property: Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa
Address: 6/2 Moo.6, Nakalay Bay | Phuket, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#8 Family Hotel in Kamala
#8 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Kamala and Patong Beaches in the secluded and tranquil Nakalay Bay, we offer an exclusive beachside retreat for couples, honeymooners and families.Choose from 191 luxury air-conditioned villas set amidst 25 acres of lush tropical gardens with traditional Thai ambience. Some villas offer stunning views of the azure waters of the Andaman Sea, from hillside or beach front locations, whilst others provide direct access to the beautiful lagoon swimming pool set in the heart of the fragrant gardenThe lagoon pool is sculpted to follow the natural curves of the land and to blend in with lush tropical gardens that roll gently out on to the sandy shoreline of one of Phuket's most secluded beaches. Whether enjoying a swim, relaxing at the Nakalay Spa or at one of the many outside bars and open space restaurants, guests can truly unwind amidst this tranquil ambience Where Thai tradition Meets Nature. With a programme of holistic wellness activities such as Yoga, Muay Thai (Thai Boxing) or Tai Chi, guests can experience a complete rejuvenation of mind, body and spirit during their stay. Discover for yourself why former guests have described our resort as a hidden paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavorn Beach Village Hotel Patong
Thavorn Beach Village And Spa
Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing