We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (2,222)
Filter reviews
2,222 results
Traveller rating
1,311
513
212
92
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,311
513
212
92
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car old siam private beach hillside room vip lounge orchid garden crocodile bar lagoon pool low tide beach front pool access room hill side tuk tuk thai restaurant amazing pool romantic dinner ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
1,525 - 1,530 of 2,222 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2010

It was one of the most wonderful trips in my life! I and my wife stayed in Thavorn Beach Village & Spa during out honeymoon. It was great! We were selecting between Royal Yacht Club and Thavorn, looking through the reviews and photoes and decided to stay here. And I can say that our choice was right :)
We ordered an Ocean Villa. It surpassed all expectations. When we opened a door in the Villa we were gladly surprised that there were a huge nicely-decorated drawing-room, a wonderful bedroom, a balcony with a awning and not-awning area for sunbathing, and of cause jacuzzi for relaxation. The room was cleaned carefully. When we were checking in we felt anxiety about the level of our Villa. As the hotel is situated on the hill, there are 6 levels of Ocean Villas. And we got a Villa on the 4th level, as we wished. In my opinion it's the best level, as trees and leaves do not hide a wonderful ocean view at all. So the room was more than great!
The territory of the hotel was very nice, with lots of trees. We saw 3 squirrels there. From some reviews we knew that goannas (monitor lizards) live there, but we didn't see them. There are a lot of different interesting statues in the hotel. Also you can find there an orchid garden. One day we went to a orchid garden near Phuket town and found that the garden in the hotel was much better! There are lovely hearts decorations in this garden. The staff was very courteous. Also there is a free car parking - we took a motorbike in Kamala and leaved it at night in our hotel parking lot for free.
In the evening when we were returing to the hotel from the beach, Patong, etc, we every time understood all the charm of this quite romantic hotel.
We hope we will return in this paradise on our first wedding anniversary in February 2011. We stayed at room (as I can remember) 4206 in the second part of February 2010. And we wish to have this room for our next visit :)

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DmitryTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Greetings from Thavorn Beach Village & Spa!

Many thanks for your very nice comments. Our orchid gardens are becoming quite unique and very well known here on the island.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to being of service to you again on your next Thai holiday!.

Please pop me a line before you return and we shall do our best to request your favourite room.

Best regards

Matthew Hindmarch, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My partner and I stayed at Thavorn only because my Uncle and Aunt have been there 13 times over the last 15 years, and happened to be staying there at the same time we were in Phuket. The resort was amazing and we were very well taken care of from the moment we stepped out of the taxi.

The resort itself is beautiful and the pool is amazing - it was very easy to want to stay in there all day! Our room was immaculate with wonderful views out to Patong Beach. Make sure you get down in time for the breakfast buffet (included of course) as you will be spoilt for choice!!

We would also like to thank the Senior Host Chintara (Laow) for being exceptional at her job and for making us feel so at home! We will be back :)

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warrengunyah2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Sawasdee Krab!

Thank you so much for your comments and we are very pleased to hear that our team looked after you so well during your stay with us.

it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Next year, please send over a quick email and we shall do our best to request your favourite room.

Best regards

Matthew Hindmarch, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

rooms are a little aged, bathrooms need makeovers, staff werent very helpful or friendly, we stayed in a bechview bungalow, amazing position on beachfront and views, pool facilities were outstanding, restaurants at the hotel typically OVERpriced, wouldnt recommend

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Sawasdee krab! Thank you for your comments which have all been well recieved. This year, we have already started to renovate the bungalow bathrooms with a mock room being completed as we speak. Once completed, they will all be given a facelift. The bungalows have proved to be so popular that finding time to renovate has not been easy. Very sorry to hear that you found our staff unfriendly. Thai's traditionally are extremely friendly and here at Thavorn Beach, we encourage our Thai team to pass their friendliness onto the international team of Guest Service staff we have to look after our Russian, Japanese and Korean guests.
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment and when you are back in Phuket l look foward to meeting you. Thanks again, Matthew / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This Holiday was to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, we chose Thavorn's after a lot of thought and are truly happy that we did!
Thavorn Beach Village is a huge property laden with beautiful orchid plantations, variety of accommodation styles complete with big pools n a private beach. We'd booked a garden view bungalow for the first couple of days of our stay and then moved to a Poolside villa for our anniversary. Both the rooms were clean and spacious. The bungalow, though a lil smaller, was closer to the beach. It had a front porch with garden chairs to relax in after a swim. The bed was comfortable with clean linen (changed everyday). The bathroom was decent enough with all toiletries provided and refilled. The poolside villa was bigger with 2 queen sized beds and bigger bathroom. It had a great view of the pool with the sea beyond. The loungers provided on the balcony were perfect to relax and watch the sunset or even the rain!
The Beach was beautiful with lots of coral (very good for snorkeling) and an activity centre. They have equipment for various beach activities (snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, beach volleyball etc) for hire at reasonable rates. The timings for high n low tides were put up on the beach which was a plus so that we could plan our ocean swim accordingly. The pools were big and clean and had beautiful landscaping around them. The pool area is well lit even in the evenings n night (upto 2 am) for the ones who fancy a late evening dip.
The breakfast spread was awesome. The restaurants were good in ambiance, though the food was slightly expensive. Room service was good too. Didnt get to use the Spa, but they do have complimentary facilities. As mentioned by other reviewers, there were 2 daily shuttles to patong beach, but we would recommend u hire a car or a bike to get around the island.
The highlight of this place is the staff who provided us with great 'personalised' service right from check in to check out. Everyone was warm, friendly n courteous and ready to help us always. They had decorated our room for our anniversary and my husband's B'day. We would like to give our special thanks to the Asst Manager, Laow, for surprising us with a special fruit basket n wine and a B'day cake. She was extremely helpful and friendly and treated us like family rather than just guests.
Thavorn's has a right blend of nature and hospitality...Definitely a place we would be coming back to!

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xcelsior999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary! It was a delight that you choose Thavorn Beach Village & Spa and so pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We are so proud of our gardens and the owners have spend many years learning and developing environmentally friendly growing methods. Thank you to for the lovely comments about the team here. I have fowarded them onto their Managers and they were extremely pleased.

May we wish you yet another happy year of marriage and look foward to welcoming you back to celebrate many more anniversaries in the future.

Best personal regards

Matthew C Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The hotel was stunning and the room truly beautiful. The room was Ocean View and boasted near perfect views over Patong bay aswell as two double beds and a Jacuzzi on the balcony. I would also add the staff were helpful and able to organise us tours to many of Phuket’s highlights.

My only reservation with the hotel was value. Though we got a great deal on the room we found when we were there the hotel really took advantage of their out of town location and we found ourselves paying a premium for food, drinks and transport. The added cost really wiped out any savings we thought we had made through getting a deal on the room.

All in all I would rate this hotel really well however you really do need to be aware that you will be paying a premium when your there.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flying_Scotzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Sawasdee krab!
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Ocean View Villa - stunning views and total peace and quiet! The comments in regards to pricing have all been noted with thanks, and an issue which we will certainly address during the coming months. We have instigated several special offers and bonus values with various international tour operators which hopefully have helped our guests enjoy their stays with us.

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor.

Best regards

Matthew C Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews