We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights in a pool view room (#2205). The room was lovely with a great view over the pool which is huge & the staff were great too. Our bathroom didn't have the double vanity or spa bath as it was on the end of the block but a friend had the bigger bathroom and it was more spacious. They provided a fantastic breakfast & we didn't find the snack food expensive but thought the drinks were dear. Was disappointed the boat wasn't available as it was low season. The beach is a bit rocky but we liked it for snorkelling. The location is a little isolated so you can't nip out to buy drinks etc, but you can stock up when you go into Patong. Oh, & don't use the milk on the table at breakfast coz the cats liked to drink out of the containers lol. Loved it here & would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triplover57Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Sawasdee krab!

Thank you for your lovely message and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us - cats and all!

We shall rectify the milk situation during our meeting tomorrow so thank you for the comment.

When are coming this way again, please send me a quick email and we shall make sure that your favourite room is all in order.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards

Matthew Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

It was one of the most wonderful trips in my life! I and my wife stayed in Thavorn Beach Village & Spa during out honeymoon. It was great! We were selecting between Royal Yacht Club and Thavorn, looking through the reviews and photoes and decided to stay here. And I can say that our choice was right :)
We ordered an Ocean Villa. It surpassed all expectations. When we opened a door in the Villa we were gladly surprised that there were a huge nicely-decorated drawing-room, a wonderful bedroom, a balcony with a awning and not-awning area for sunbathing, and of cause jacuzzi for relaxation. The room was cleaned carefully. When we were checking in we felt anxiety about the level of our Villa. As the hotel is situated on the hill, there are 6 levels of Ocean Villas. And we got a Villa on the 4th level, as we wished. In my opinion it's the best level, as trees and leaves do not hide a wonderful ocean view at all. So the room was more than great!
The territory of the hotel was very nice, with lots of trees. We saw 3 squirrels there. From some reviews we knew that goannas (monitor lizards) live there, but we didn't see them. There are a lot of different interesting statues in the hotel. Also you can find there an orchid garden. One day we went to a orchid garden near Phuket town and found that the garden in the hotel was much better! There are lovely hearts decorations in this garden. The staff was very courteous. Also there is a free car parking - we took a motorbike in Kamala and leaved it at night in our hotel parking lot for free.
In the evening when we were returing to the hotel from the beach, Patong, etc, we every time understood all the charm of this quite romantic hotel.
We hope we will return in this paradise on our first wedding anniversary in February 2011. We stayed at room (as I can remember) 4206 in the second part of February 2010. And we wish to have this room for our next visit :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DmitryTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Greetings from Thavorn Beach Village & Spa!

Many thanks for your very nice comments. Our orchid gardens are becoming quite unique and very well known here on the island.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to being of service to you again on your next Thai holiday!.

Please pop me a line before you return and we shall do our best to request your favourite room.

Best regards

Matthew Hindmarch, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My partner and I stayed at Thavorn only because my Uncle and Aunt have been there 13 times over the last 15 years, and happened to be staying there at the same time we were in Phuket. The resort was amazing and we were very well taken care of from the moment we stepped out of the taxi.

The resort itself is beautiful and the pool is amazing - it was very easy to want to stay in there all day! Our room was immaculate with wonderful views out to Patong Beach. Make sure you get down in time for the breakfast buffet (included of course) as you will be spoilt for choice!!

We would also like to thank the Senior Host Chintara (Laow) for being exceptional at her job and for making us feel so at home! We will be back :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lordhowelocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2010

Sawasdee Krab!

Thank you so much for your comments and we are very pleased to hear that our team looked after you so well during your stay with us.

it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Next year, please send over a quick email and we shall do our best to request your favourite room.

Best regards

Matthew Hindmarch, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

rooms are a little aged, bathrooms need makeovers, staff werent very helpful or friendly, we stayed in a bechview bungalow, amazing position on beachfront and views, pool facilities were outstanding, restaurants at the hotel typically OVERpriced, wouldnt recommend

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Sawasdee krab! Thank you for your comments which have all been well recieved. This year, we have already started to renovate the bungalow bathrooms with a mock room being completed as we speak. Once completed, they will all be given a facelift. The bungalows have proved to be so popular that finding time to renovate has not been easy. Very sorry to hear that you found our staff unfriendly. Thai's traditionally are extremely friendly and here at Thavorn Beach, we encourage our Thai team to pass their friendliness onto the international team of Guest Service staff we have to look after our Russian, Japanese and Korean guests.
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment and when you are back in Phuket l look foward to meeting you. Thanks again, Matthew / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This Holiday was to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, we chose Thavorn's after a lot of thought and are truly happy that we did!
Thavorn Beach Village is a huge property laden with beautiful orchid plantations, variety of accommodation styles complete with big pools n a private beach. We'd booked a garden view bungalow for the first couple of days of our stay and then moved to a Poolside villa for our anniversary. Both the rooms were clean and spacious. The bungalow, though a lil smaller, was closer to the beach. It had a front porch with garden chairs to relax in after a swim. The bed was comfortable with clean linen (changed everyday). The bathroom was decent enough with all toiletries provided and refilled. The poolside villa was bigger with 2 queen sized beds and bigger bathroom. It had a great view of the pool with the sea beyond. The loungers provided on the balcony were perfect to relax and watch the sunset or even the rain!
The Beach was beautiful with lots of coral (very good for snorkeling) and an activity centre. They have equipment for various beach activities (snorkeling, kayaking, canoeing, beach volleyball etc) for hire at reasonable rates. The timings for high n low tides were put up on the beach which was a plus so that we could plan our ocean swim accordingly. The pools were big and clean and had beautiful landscaping around them. The pool area is well lit even in the evenings n night (upto 2 am) for the ones who fancy a late evening dip.
The breakfast spread was awesome. The restaurants were good in ambiance, though the food was slightly expensive. Room service was good too. Didnt get to use the Spa, but they do have complimentary facilities. As mentioned by other reviewers, there were 2 daily shuttles to patong beach, but we would recommend u hire a car or a bike to get around the island.
The highlight of this place is the staff who provided us with great 'personalised' service right from check in to check out. Everyone was warm, friendly n courteous and ready to help us always. They had decorated our room for our anniversary and my husband's B'day. We would like to give our special thanks to the Asst Manager, Laow, for surprising us with a special fruit basket n wine and a B'day cake. She was extremely helpful and friendly and treated us like family rather than just guests.
Thavorn's has a right blend of nature and hospitality...Definitely a place we would be coming back to!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xcelsior999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary! It was a delight that you choose Thavorn Beach Village & Spa and so pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We are so proud of our gardens and the owners have spend many years learning and developing environmentally friendly growing methods. Thank you to for the lovely comments about the team here. I have fowarded them onto their Managers and they were extremely pleased.

May we wish you yet another happy year of marriage and look foward to welcoming you back to celebrate many more anniversaries in the future.

Best personal regards

Matthew C Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The hotel was stunning and the room truly beautiful. The room was Ocean View and boasted near perfect views over Patong bay aswell as two double beds and a Jacuzzi on the balcony. I would also add the staff were helpful and able to organise us tours to many of Phuket’s highlights.

My only reservation with the hotel was value. Though we got a great deal on the room we found when we were there the hotel really took advantage of their out of town location and we found ourselves paying a premium for food, drinks and transport. The added cost really wiped out any savings we thought we had made through getting a deal on the room.

All in all I would rate this hotel really well however you really do need to be aware that you will be paying a premium when your there.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flying_Scotzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Sawasdee krab!
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Ocean View Villa - stunning views and total peace and quiet! The comments in regards to pricing have all been noted with thanks, and an issue which we will certainly address during the coming months. We have instigated several special offers and bonus values with various international tour operators which hopefully have helped our guests enjoy their stays with us.

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor.

Best regards

Matthew C Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed in 4 resorts during our holiday from 3 star to 5 star. This resort was not good value for money. I would rate our room (Beach Bungalow) as 2 star at the very most. The plumbing blocked every time the shower was used. The water came out brown from the tap. The bed was so hard I dreamed I was sleeping on the floor. We were visciously attacked by mosquitoes all night. We asked to stay on the beach front (mailed previously) but were rudely told there was none. No attempt was made to offer us a change during our whole stay.

The restaurants were extremely expensive when compared to the Thailand economy. I felt the guests were being ripped off. There were no outside restaurants so you had to pay the price or pay to get into Patong. I dont think the Spa gets much business - it was outrageously priced. Could get it cheaper in Australia.

Our sons stayed in a pool access villa, it was of a better quality but they put us at one end of the resort and them at the other end. We could have been put a lot closer together. We had to walk miles anytime we wanted to go to their room. Staff very unhelpful.

We would never stay here again and if anyone asked us we would tell them to get better value elsewhere. I would say this is a 2 star resort charging 5 star prices.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank roz_from_oz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
2.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#61 of 395 in Kathu
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 35 in Kamala
701 reviews
16 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa

Address: 6/2 Moo.6, Nakalay Bay | Phuket, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#5 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: £68 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxury Phuket private beach resort. Our tropical oasis is situated on our private Nakalay bay right next to Kamala and Patong. Relax at one of the few remaining unspoiled private beaches for a unique phuket experience. As most space is dedicated to natural areas, you can truly enjoy a tropical paradise without disturbance from the outside world. Lose yourself in the never-ending tropical gardens. Our free-form Lagoon swimming pool is considered one of the largest of its kind in South-East Asia. Take a stroll along the private beach and a splash in the glittering waters of the calm and clean Andaman Sea . Never feel bored with a range of wellness activities including 5-Star Luxury Wellness Spa, Fitness Centre, and Thai Cookery Classes. You will experience the ultimate sense of space and freedom at our Phuket Kamala beach resort. The nearby town of Kamala boasts a long sandy beach while the famous Phuket destination of Patong is not much further down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavorn Beach Village And Spa
Thavorn Beach Village Hotel Patong
Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing