We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty resort but terrible customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Reviewed 4 September 2010

My friend and I stayed here for one night in may 2010. We had very high expectations for this resort. It was much more expensive than the other hotel we stayed in (burasari really great hotel). We didn't have power for the first 5 hours of our stay. Which means no air con which is horrible in Thailand because it's so hot. The customer service was quite poor. They were mostly arrogant and rude. The pools were really lovely. The beach was no good for swimming because it was all rocks. The hotel is also quite far out of patong. Not walking distance. The rooms were ok but quite old and plain. The bathroom was nice though. Overall the only thing this resort has going for it is the scenery. It really is beautiful. But other than that it's nothing special..

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceykmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Sawasdee krab...

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.com. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the swimming pools and the gardens.

When choosing a resort, location is a prime factor, and yes, most internet booking engines and tour operator brochures advise that we are 4km away from Patong. The resort offers two complimentary shuttle services each day in Patong (one morning and one mid afternoon) so guest who wish to go and enjoy the lively resort of Patong can do so.

In regards to the unfortunate incident of the electricity back in May, on that day a serious accident had happened in our local area involving a large lorry which took down the main power cables which feed the resort, therefore we we stretched to capacity with our generator for such a long time. As the resort was full, to conserve energy and ensure that essential equipment was kept on line, sadly we had to reduce the power to our guestrooms, hence air the conditioning was taken out. This is a very rare case of such a long period of no electricty and the local authorities work very hard to ensure that we are affected as little as possible when such black out's occur. We are now however delighted to advise that we have two different electricity authorities powering the resort, so, if one authority should stop providing, then the second will increase power to the resort. This comes from our location being just on the border between Patong and Kamala.

Thank you once again for taking the time to make a posting.

Best regards

Matthew C Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

We just ended 3 days ago our two weeks holydays at Thavorn Beach Village …And I still miss this wonderful resort.
The resort was exactly what we imagined, a land of peace and quietness. One of the largest swimming pool I ever seen rounded by luxurious tropical gardens. Our 2 childs were so happy.
The room was juste perfect, spacious, and just located near the lobby, the pool and the restaurants. A large bathroom with separate shower and separate WC. Towels were changed at our convenience and housekeeping was perfect and effcient. A beautiful pool view and sea view from our private terrace.
Even TBV is located 10 mn from Patong Beach (that’s the price for peace) it was really easy to go to Patong using the resort shuttle by day or a private taxi (300 baths). For return we used to take tuktuks (200 baths but we didn’t really bargain, so you can surely have it for less), what really enjoyed kids. Maybe we can suggest TBV management to introduce a night shuttle for better customer convenience.
Even if food and drinks prices were a little higher than in Patong's restaurant, weit was balanced by food quality and service at resort’s restaurants. Old Siam served a fine traditional Thai cuisine and even our 5 and 7 years old Childs appreciated. Having lunch at crocodile’s pool bar was like be in paradise between pool and sea. Breakfast at Marisa's restaurant were incredible.
Many thanks to every member of TBV staff. Everyone was so kind and efficient.
We spent fantastic 5 stars holidays at Thavorn Beach Village and Spa for a reasonable price and will return at this resort for sure in our next trip to Phuket.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zac92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This hotel truly has the most beautiful pool and you can swim forever! It is located slightly out of town which we loved because of the peace and quiet and its a very short tuk tuk ride into busy Patong. Beware though, as beautiful as it is, the pool is treated with chemicals that made all our white beach wear turn yellow - we just swam in darker suits instead as you simply can't resist it! The staff are very friendly and the rooms very comfortable. As with most resorts, arranging excursions or eating at the restaurants is much more expensive than can be found in town so shop around.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank RochelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Sawasdee krab to our friends in South Africa,

Thank you for your lovely comments here on tripadvisor.com and also the guest questionairre which you left me when leaving the resort.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us AND the magnificent blue lagoon swimming pool which is said to be one of the largest in South East Asia!. Early evening in order to keep our pool clean and safe for guests, we have to add chemicals, therefore, we close the pool at 7pm in order for the pool to restabalise itself for the following day.

We are looking forward to your next visit and thank you again for your lovely comments.

Best regards

Matthew C Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Overall this hotel is ok but do not book the beach bungalows because they are in a horrible state.
Sleeping accomodation is still acceptable but bathroom and toilet are in terrible state.
After 2 complaints and thanks to our local company responsible, we were moved to ocean view villas which are worth their money.
The hotel needs to be adjusted to actual standards.
Breakfast was every day the same for 15 days en drinks and food are very expensive

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter188666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Sawasdee krab...

Thank you for your posting here on tripadvisor.com and taking the time to write.

You will be very pleased to hear that we have now started to renovate the beach bungalows. To be renamed 'Beach Villas' next year, the new enlarged 70 sqm rooms are now underway to have an outdoor shower and bathroom installed, ceilings removed and high ceilings installed all in a lovely off white colour plus large windows to look out over our wonderful gardens. Nature has been brought closed to our guests experience. They are much brighter and so far, guest comments have been fabulous. The project for the renovation will be completed by the end of the first quarter of 2011 so we look forward to being able to offer then to our guests by then. Look out on our facebook page for the progress as l will post some pictures on there once our 'mock up' room has been finalised.

In regards to our food and drinks, for our friends in Belgium, an 'All Inclusive' program was introduced in late 2009 which is now proving to be very succesful and available via the major tour operator who features our resort. Other countries have taken on this program too, so by the end of 2010, friends across Europe will be able to enjoy this option too.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write and thank you fro your comments.

Best regards

Matthew C Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

My Mother and I stayed for 12 nights here,originally I booked a Seaview Bungalow but was told by the manager they are a bit small and he upgraded us to Ocean View Villa,I was very happy and thought it was really nice of Matthew to do this for us,Most appreciated. The room access was via tram,which was not enjoyed by my mother sometimes quite tiring for us both in the end. The Check-in was smooth and we got our room straight away,the room was big and we had our own Jacuzzi on the Balcony with Ocean view of course! plus we had 2 double beds provided for us.The room was cleaned everyday and our bed was a little on the hard side but we did sleep like babys and we got used to it! Blue Pool Towels are provided in your room and can be replaced each day if you put them on the floor. Shampoo,conditioner,bath foam and body lotion in little bottles,shower caps and toothpaste & toothbrushes are provided for you as well as 2 bottles of water daily. A seperate toilet and another bath,seperate shower and coffee/tea making facilities,as well as Mini bar. The resort is stunning,and has a gorgeous Orchid Garden,which you must see! We never used the Nakalay Spa as we found it a bit pricey for what we could get in Patong was alot cheaper. We used the free shuttle to Patong which left at 10.30am and 3.30pm,you had to get a ticket from the bell boys out the front,which you could get at 10am and 3pm only. To get back from Patong we would get a tuk-tuk and it would cost us 200 baht. There is taxi mafia out the front of hotel and they always wanted 300baht but we would say no 200baht and they would take us. We never paid 300baht and we would never get the hotel to call us a taxi as the cost would be 300-400baht or more. We found the hotel food quite expensive and we hardly even ate there,we would venture out in the afternoon and go into patong to eat instead. There is no 7-11 stores,or family mart close by to get your drinks and bits and pieces near the hotel so this would be done when we went out in the morning shuttle or arvo shuttle in Patong. There is no liveliness at this hotel,no music near the pool bar or anything the only entertainment was a small band playing in the restuarant for a little while then they would play music in the lobby bar and finished at 11.30 at night,they were good but I think there definetley needs to be some music near the pool bar. The hotel was like a ghost town sometimes,noone was ever there and the pool closed at 7pm! No staff came around the pool to ask if you would like a drink which was weird as well. Most of the staff are very nice,but there was one at breakfast Im not sure of her name but was a sour face ever since we got there,she would give you a dirty look and never smiled,very very bad. My mother and I didn't do anything wrong we just were having our breakfast! She never said Good Morning or anything and it made us uncomfortable. The internet was available for 100baht you would get 1hour and 10 mins on each card that you buy from front reception,sometimes the internet was slow and sometimes it didn't work,which was most annoying. Breakfast was good and always fresh,a good selection of fruit,cereals,pastries,bacon,egg omelettes,fried eggs,pancakes,yogurts-plain and flavoured as well as your tea,coffee and juices,smoking outside only and non smoking inside seating. I recommend to stay here for a couple of nights and then move somewhere closer to Patong if you like to go out ever 5 mins like myself!
Overall I would stay again to bring my Partner as the position is stunning and the gardens magnificent. Thank-you to everyone at Thavorn Beach Village and warmest wishes to all. Miss Linda & Carmel. Room 3203 Ocean View Villa

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank addikted2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2010

Sawasdee krab!

Thank you both for the great comments and suggestions on your posting. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed your Ocean View Villa! The beauty of our resort is the sheer size and the very private gardens and accommodation which even during very high occupancy (which we were during your stay with us) sometimes means that guests are never to be seen around, but enjoying some quiet moments in their bungalows and villas! In regards to the service from our pool team, your comments are most appreciated and have been discussed this morning with the Restaurant Managers to keep an eye on things. The comment in regards to the 'sour faced' waitress has been noted, and again thank you for bringing that to my attention. She was certainly not up set with you or your mother at all, but sadly one of the very few Thai's who does not have a natural smile!

We look forward to your next visit with your partner and please email me well in advance so that l can personally make sure that your reservation is in order.

With best personal regards

Matthew C Hindmarch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I stay here for 3 days 2night with my partner and friends
at level 5
then tram quite scary
however, to patong beach takes 10-15minutes
cost us 300 bath to go to patong town..
imagine for 3 days it cost us almost 1800 bath
its consider quite expensive
the breakfast ok
if u cm phuket to enjoy the private beach, it is a right hotel
but if u want enjoy at bangla road, better book hotel near patong town such as grand millenium, novotel, holiday in and etc

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yayan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

the resort is truly beautiful, the villas scattered through the mountainside,frangipani's and hibiscus everywhere, with fishponds and Thai statues scattered throughout. I loved the three little roosters strutting around with their little hens and the cats waiting patiently in the mornings for any tidbits from the guests. We had a pool access villa which was amazing, so relaxing being able to just walk out of your room into the pool. The staff were great ,always ready to smile and say hello, our room was always cleaned perfectly. The gardens and pool were always maintained beautifully. Breakfast was wonderful, so much choice,the clear soup was very nice,our little one could not go past the pancakes everyday. If there was anything to fault it was a couple of the guests who were rude to the staff, treating them as subordinants rather than equals.
There was one blight on leaving . When I came to tally up the bill I was given the wrong bill which I did not realise and I paid this bill. When I went to get in the taxi I was asked to go to reception, I went to reception and was told of the mistake. I paid the extra amount and said thankyou. The cashier grunted at me whilst speaking in thai to another staff member, I got the feeling that he thought that I had tried to rip him off which was not the case. I did not appreciate the innuendo at all.On the whole a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squish19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General-Manager-TBV, General Manager at Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2010

Greetings from Thavorn Beach Village & Spa!

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort and the pool access villa! They certainly are worth the extra cent and direct access into the pool.

In regards to the male member of staff during your departure please accept my personal apologies for his lack of customer care. Tomorrow we shall discuss this incident and have the staff member retrained. There should have been an apology from our side as we had given you the wrong bill!

Thank you again and look forward to being able to welcome you again to the resort. Do let me know in advance and l will have a nice room organised for you.

With best personal regards.

Matthew Hindmarch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
2.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.9 mi away
Kalima Resort & Spa
Kalima Resort & Spa
#61 of 391 in Kathu
803 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 35 in Kamala
684 reviews
5 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,197 reviews
2.6 mi away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa

Address: 6/2 Moo.6, Nakalay Bay | Phuket, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#5 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#5 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: £75 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxury Phuket private beach resort. Our tropical oasis is situated on our private Nakalay bay right next to Kamala and Patong. Relax at one of the few remaining unspoiled private beaches for a unique phuket experience. As most space is dedicated to natural areas, you can truly enjoy a tropical paradise without disturbance from the outside world. Lose yourself in the never-ending tropical gardens. Our free-form Lagoon swimming pool is considered one of the largest of its kind in South-East Asia. Take a stroll along the private beach and a splash in the glittering waters of the calm and clean Andaman Sea . Never feel bored with a range of wellness activities including 5-Star Luxury Wellness Spa, Fitness Centre, and Thai Cookery Classes. You will experience the ultimate sense of space and freedom at our Phuket Kamala beach resort. The nearby town of Kamala boasts a long sandy beach while the famous Phuket destination of Patong is not much further down the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thavorn Beach Village Hotel Patong
Thavorn Beach Village And Spa
Thavorn Beach Village Resort & Spa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing